We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like dumps, this hotel is for you!”
Review of Hotel du Roule

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Roule
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I was in shock when I walked in this hotel. The photo of the lobby was not anything like the picture, the paint was peeling, the mattress was awful. No security for the room. We were suppose to have a courtyard view and all we saw were rusty roof tops. The toilet had no seat and only flushed when you turn the water knobs on to wash things down. The elevator barely fits one person and a suitcase. To tell you the truth, I was waiting for the ladies of the night to come out of one of the rooms. Although the price was lower than most of the hotels, it goes back to the saying, " You get what you pay for!" The desk clerk was extremely rude. Save yourself a very big headache and don't go there. I think it was the original roach motel. Stayed 5 minutes and left.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

I spent a full week at a conference at the nearby Palais des Congres, so this was a perfect location for my purposes. And to put things in perspective, by paying €70/night, I saved about €1,000 for the week compared to the conference hotel a stone's throw distant. Nor is this hotel too far from the big sights, about 30 min of classic Parisienne walking. Neuilly-sur-Seine to the northwest of the hotel is a beautiful upscale neighborhood that I thoroughly enjoyed exploring it. A great place for up market shopping and strolling, and lots of ethnic restaurants.

My room was mixed. It was a comfortable size, all the furniture was brand new, and the bed was comfortable. It was all recently and tastefully redecorated. The bathroom on the other hand was a survivor from a Soviet era hospital, no bathtub, Toon Town plumbing, etc. The hotel public areas are plain disgusting, and the elevator is a mini torture chamber. Internet is actually free, but you have to pick a new code every day from the desk, which is irritating. The breakfast is another gulag leftover, coffee, three dry pastries, a pat of butter, and some jam.

If you avoid the breakfasts and close your eyes and nose while you pass through the public areas, this is an economical place to stay near Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelIsWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Though a little far away from the touristic attractions, is a perfect hotel to stay, considering that in Paris you need a hotel room just to take a shower and to sleep at night. Clean, comfortable bed, hot water, a very close metro station and bus station... That's all you need at this season of the year. I wouldn't stay there at summer though, since there is no air-conditioner. I would recomend it certainly

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannyRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My husband & I stayed five nights at this hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The water hot and plentiful. The place was reasonably clean - linen changed every day. Don't know what previous people expect for the price (in Paris find something better/cheaper & you are lucky) or maybe the place has had a shake-up but we were satisfied. We have a small B & B in England and have travelled throughout the world and therefore are very experienced travellers and business owners. We were very fortunate and scored a free car park right outside the door of the Hotel. The Hotel is close to many good restaurants and we walked to the Arc d triumph so that's not too far away either.
Overall, this Hotel is reasonable value - priced right and location is brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank starwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2007

What a nightmare ! Although the reviews were terrible I decided to stay there because the location was perfect for me. What a mistake. The rooms were dirty - no fault to the cleaning lady I think as she was alone to clean the whole hotel plus serve breakfast - the clerks unfriendly (apart for the night clerk) and unwilling to take messages, call a cab (an older gentleman was even sent out in the rain), give out any info such as parking, metro station, etc. Note that the unpleasant "lady" at the reception in the morning is actually the "patronne" so you can't even have the satisfaction of making a complaint. She doesn't give a .... This hotel has a two star rating in the French system and should be downgraded.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vangoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2006

absolutely awful - rooms were nothing like on website.stuck on 7th floor in a dirty,dark poky room.lift only went up to 6th floor and held 2 people at a pinch."breakfast room" in foyer of hotel with 2 tables so had to take breakfast in room - no table so had to sit on the bed.by time it arrived tea/coffee was freezing.gave up & got breakfast elsewhere.would never ever stay there again!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

If I wanted to die alone and in misery somewhere, this is where I'd drag myself. This was an unacceptable, depressing dump of a hotel with an inattentive clerk who only cared after we announced our intention to leave. The closet-sized elevator got stuck on us and we were trapped between floors for several minutes. The room was small and dimly lit with one window facing the street. The window had near-solid metal shutters that let the sounds of the street in, but very little light. The bathroom was truck-stop chic. Furniture was decaying particleboard. The mattress was like a sock stuffed with tissues. Everything was brown. It was dirty. It was dark. It was depressing. It was the kind of place you'd find yourself if you were a fugitive or heroin addict. We went back down and waited several minutes for the clerk to finish his personal phone call - he completely ignored us. We finally interrupted him to ask if there was a better room. "No," was the one-word reply. He went back to his phone call. We decided to leave and got our bags. As we headed through the lobby and out the door we finally had the clerk's attention. He told us we'd be charged. We told him we'd already warned Amex to decline it. He told us he'd look for a better room. We told him there most likely wasn't one. Then he told us we couldn't go. We proved him wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skurczysyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuilly-sur-Seine
1.0 mi away
Hotel Charlemagne
Hotel Charlemagne
#3 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neuilly Park
Neuilly Park
#7 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Bon Hotel
Le Bon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jardin de Neuilly
Jardin de Neuilly
#8 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Paris Porte Maillot
AC Hotel Paris Porte Maillot
#373 of 1,803 in Paris
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Paris Neuilly
Hotel Paris Neuilly
#2 of 8 in Neuilly-sur-Seine
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Roule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Roule

Address: 37 avenue du Roule, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > Neuilly-sur-Seine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Neuilly-sur-Seine
Price Range: £64 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Roule 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Roule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Roule Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing