We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad transaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canal Suites (Suite Home)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pantin
Queen Creek, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad transaction”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

As far as the hotel, it's alright, it was clean and had a good appearance, nice lobby and half way friendly staff (it is Paris!). The rooms were clean but nothing fancy and it is NOT a bed, it's a sleeper sofa!!! They say it's the "concept" of the hotel, as if people going to Paris are planning on sitting on a couch during the day. Anyway, since it is not clearly stated, be aware you'll be on a sofa for the night, a comfortable one none the less. Our a/c worked fine, the little kitchenette area is perfect for breakfast. The TV is the smallest available. I would never give this hotel a true 3 stars status, but apparently, the customer doesn't rate that!
The area is NOT great, the 19th arrondissement is a bit sketchy. A street or two over, on our way back to the hotel, there is a freshly painted wall that states that "this is the site of a crime where 6 people were murdered", that'll make you walk faster! Just make sure you go through the main road instead of the back streets on your way back from the metro (a 10 min walk). there is a LeClair store with groceries by the metro also.
However, my biggest grief and the reason for the one star (instead of a possible 2 or 3) is because the hotel charged us an extra night and are not admitting to their error. They suggested I fight it with my bank. They insist that it wasn't a charge but a pre-authorization....meanwhile the money is out of my pocket! I am a native French speaker so I can't even say that the language barrier has been causing a problem: it's French stubbornness and total lack of quality customer service. For this reason, I DO NOT recommend you stay with any Suite Home hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms have sleeper sofas, don't bother asking for a real bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Muchebelgique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    56
    32
    17
    13
See reviews for
19
59
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here for one night with a group of 39 people when we missed our train connection in Paris. The rooms were clean and very comfortable, our bed was a King-Size Sofabed and we had no problem sleeping. The ensuite bathroom and shower were excellent. A definate plus was the kettle with tea and coffee provided in the small kitchenette in the room. The staff were very attentive and helpful, breakfast was a good selection of croissants, cereals, fruit juice and coffee or tea. We arrived unexpectedly and the management and staff coped brilliantly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Beds are uncomfortable
Sofa beds which they provide are creaky & dusty
Carpets are stained.
Airconditioning was not working through out our stay so we checked out and went to a better hotel.They shut off the aircon from the lobby and the AHU(airhandlingunits) in the room are disabled.
Reception and lobby is one man show,Phone calls were not attended on time.
Poor breakfast
This place is complete waste of time and money ,u can find better rooms in Ibis or other budget hotels for the same price

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anilkumar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pantin hotels

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Overpriced for a 3* why are paris hotels so expensive? We have paid less for a top end 4* London hotel.

That aside stayed in this hotel in June 2012 and it is a lovely clean hotel with very clean rooms, comfortable beds, clean linen (oh what joy) and our rooms had a kitchenette as an additional bonus. There are good sturdy locks on the doors plus an internal room door a nice safety feature.

The area seemed a bit deserted, we got there at night and is a bit of a walk from the station. However it's a developing area with quite a lot of building works ongoing. Its just outside the city limits and just 5 stops from Gare Du Nord.

The staff are very accommodating and speak english. I would say avoid the continental breakfast @ 12 euros its pretty steep. Shops are close by for fresh bread, pastries and the hotel provide free tea and coffee in your room.

We would definiately use this one again.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room facing the street to avoid the builders who start their machines/cranes etc at 070...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolateblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This was a good hotel for a few night's stay. Free internet, friendly service, the room was quite fresh and the bathroom was clean and tidy. Free wifi is always a plus, the breakfast was good and we had dinner one night in the restaurant which was very good - the staff did a great job of rushing our big group through as we had to have dinner before our Eiffel Tower reservation. The hotel is only a short walk from the metro and takes about 15 minutes max and is a very good metro system. The location isn't central but quite pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I was on a business trip and stayed in this hotel for 14 days.

Good:
Spacious rooms
Clean kitchenette with microwave, induction cooktop, fridge, utensils and basic amenities
Metro station Hoche is 5 mins walking distance
Clean bathroom
Breakfast served is good
Staff at the hotel is good and courteous
Wifi connectivity available in the hotel( not sure if it works!! I did not try)

Bad:
No room service
Housekeeping does not clean the kitchenette
Since construction is going on for Trams, its difficult to walk all the way to the hotel.
The breakfast served is good but same breakfast for 14 days is not a great idea !!!
Laundry service was not available as their machine wasnt working.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDMMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Ok, the bathroom needs renovation. But the foldable sofa/bed is an excellent bed. The rooms are clean an spacy. Staff at the desk and both in the breakfastroom is friendly. The bar was without milk and we asked the waitress for new milk, she filled up the can and came to our table to tell us that the milk was refilled. The breakfast buffet has enough variaty to have a long and tasteful breakfast. The location is not excellent, the enviroment feels a bit awkward but afterall we got back to the hotel safely three nights in a row :-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deflam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantin
La Villette
Ibis Paris La Villette Cite des Sciences 19eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
Forest Hill Paris La Villette
Forest Hill Paris La Villette
#1,172 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Suites (Suite Home)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Suites (Suite Home)

Property: Canal Suites (Suite Home)
Address: 30 Route des Petits Ponts | Paris, 75019 Pantin, France (Formerly Suite Home Paris 19eme)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Pantin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Pantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal Suites (Suite Home) 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms, fully air conditionned, just next to the PHILHARMONIC of PARIS, the ZENITH de PARIS, easy access to the center of Paris with the metro or TRAM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canal Suites (Suite Home) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Home Paris 19eme Hotel Pantin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing