We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frauds & scams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Paris Est - Pantin
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pantin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Frauds & scams”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Planned a weekend away in Paris with friends - we made our reservations via booking.com who were explicit in informing us that payment was to be made in person upon arrival at the hotel.

Upon checking in, both myself & another guest had issues with payment. The other guest had money removed from her account twice on the day before she arrived & the assistant general manager, Julie, who was manning the desk, demanded that she paid cash before being allocated a room!?! She claimed to have no records of the payment being made.

I too had the same issues, but this time Julie said that my booking was pre-paid at the time of the booking being made. I challenged her as to why I was then charged the day before my arrival - & she had no answer. I too was forced to pay cash before being given a room.

Julie was rude, unhelpful & smug & as in all cases, she just happened to be the most senior person in charge.

It's disgusting that the hotel finds it acceptable to take advantage of tourists that have come to visit their country!?

The room itself was pleasant for what it was - I found it clean although was concerned that the door shut, but did not lock. There are also no spy holes in the doors.

However, no hotel is worth being double/triple charged for!! I have now had my card cancelled as I'm concerned they have my details.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitcaseTravellete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    226
    83
    29
    24
See reviews for
70
123
43
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Checked into this hotel with a group of friends for a weekend trip to Paris. I've stayed in cheap hotels in this city before, so I expected it to be run down and for the staff to be rude. The bar was set pretty low going in. However the Campanile Paris Est really does try harder... to torture their customers in every way possible. We were told on the the website we could pay on arrival - in fact, the hotel (illegally?) took the payment from our bank account in advance, and in fact tried to charge for the room twice (and for my friend, three times). Having taken double the money from our bank accounts, the unbelievably nasty and spiteful hotel manager (Nurse Ratchet from 'One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest') kept claiming that it was "our fault" and that we had used a "strange and unfamiliar bank" to register the room (it was HSBC). Despite our bank confirming over the phone that the rooms had been paid, the manager refused to believe us and kept waving her crumpled, yellow-stained dime store records book in our faces, as if that were more reliable than HSBC's multi million pound software. She then swore at us in French under her breath and kept giving us sour looks with her beady rat-like eyes. My friend was so upset by the treatment that she could only get through the rest of her stay via violent daydreams about throwing a bag of leftover KFC in this person's face.

As we were tired we gave up and went to our room. It wasn't unclean, although there were some odd stains on the bedsheets. What did strike me was the bizarre decor - large swaths of the room were painted luminous green, the exact shade used in Stateside death chambers. As if this didn't dampen your ardour enough, there was a giant melted oval light on the wall that glowed blood-red, clashing with the green and creating a smog of vomit colors that gave my partner a headache. It reminded me of the prison room that the Oh Dae Su is trapped inside for 20 years in Park Chan Wook's "Oldboy".

I left the hotel psychologically broken, my spirit worn down to a charred husk by the manager's passive aggressive mind games, and the hotel's shameless attempts to defraud me.

Room Tip: Pray that you get a good room, it is the luck of the draw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TurtleFeatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pantin hotels

Volpiano, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel with excellent location (20 meters to the subway entrance) well connected with everywhere thanks to the excellent public transport.
Every room has free wifi which is quite fast too.
A great service by the hotel staff.
Excellent value (except the price for the breakfast... But there are plenty of nearby bars where anyone can have a breakfast at a reasonable price).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolins92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As with booking any budget priced hotels, you expect that you will not receive service as though you were staying at a five star property. This property, however, has left a vey bad taste in my mouth.

Upon arrival, I was to have had an important package delivered to the hotel. The sender had confirmed that the hotel had taken receipt of the item, but it took the receptionist nearly two hours to locate it. She at first refused to bother to look for it, only to later stumble upon it and hand it to me without even so much as an apology.

The room was basic, two twin beds, a TV and a coffee maker. The blowdryer had only about a two foot length to the cord which made blow drying hair a bit difficult.

The first problem with this room was the amount of HAIR in the bathroom and on the bedsheets (see attached photos). There were several strands of dark hair on the white walls of the bathroom. I'm not sure how housekeeping could miss this, but when it was brought to the attention of the front desk, they simply paid no mind and said to take it up with the manager on Monday (which would have been two days later).

The second and major issue with this property occurred on our second night. After having discovered that my guest and I did NOT HAVE SHEETS on our beds, only a duvet, my guest visited the front desk. There was no one at the front desk and she discovered the front desk agent in another room watching TV. She had kindly asked for sheets, to which he (his name was Oliver) had said he could not help her and to come back tomorrow. She had politely let him know that it would be impossible to sleep without bedsheets on our beds to which he responded in French, cursing and swearing, telling her to go away and calling her names.

My guest had walked away without bedsheets for our beds. Is this really the type of service that any hotel should offer it's guest? The treatment given by the hotel staff was barbaric. Upon speaking with the manager, she did not believe that we did not have bedsheets until she was shown. At that point she did not even so much as offer an apology. While my guest and I were out later that day, we had left a do not disturb sign on the door, which was not respected. We returned to our room to find that our suitcases and other items were moved and rearranged.

The first night we had stayed, a ball of hair was also found on one of the bedsheets.

Under no circumstance would I recommend this hotel to anyone. Not only were we treated in an absolutely vulgar manner, but our privacy was not respected.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monaco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights just a few weeks ago and enjoyed the room. Had a twin room for two people on the roadside but noise wasn't a bother, huge window with a double pane kept most of it out. Small, but comfortable room for two people and a very luxurious bathroom compared to what I had been used to for the last two weeks! Very enjoyable staff as well, friendly English speaking and did not make fun of my bad French! Breakfast in the morning is 9,50, good spread but I'm happy with a warm fresh croissant and espresso. We left at 3am but the man who was working the desk at night was able to take payment for breakfast and unlock the doors for us to get our car, come back, and get our luggage. NO PARKING. Parking 1/2 km away and 17.50 a day. Location seemed a little rough but was a really amazing neighborhood. Middle eastern restaurants, stores, and shops were a trip to go through! Metro stop pretty much outside your door! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazzMaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

first impression was, the staff is awful!, i aske them how long for me to have a room and they said I DONT KNOW! we got there and out room wasn't ready. they gave us a diferent room after 1 hour. and YES there was BLOOD on the sheets!!

Room Tip: dont book in this hotel!!! AWFUL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lariosochoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pantin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

When I booked the trip, I was under the impression that a continental breakfast was included in the reservation. At the end of the stay, I found out that a continental breakfast was not included and on top of that the city taxes where not included. These details would have made the package much more attractive.

The personnel was not that friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Villette
Ibis Paris La Villette Cite des Sciences 19eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris Est - Pantin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Est - Pantin

Property: Campanile Paris Est - Pantin
Address: 62 avenue Jean Lolive, 93500 Pantin, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Pantin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Pantin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris Est - Pantin 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Campanile Paris-Est Pantin*** is ideally situated 10 minutes walk from the Zenith of Paris, the Parc de La Villette and the Philharmonie, and at 50 meters from the metro station Hoche (line 5). The establishment have been refurbished in 2013 and offer 131 rooms "Campanile New Generation", and redesigned public areas, in order to welcome your business and leisure stays in a warm, modern and functional atmosphere. Hotel services : - Buffet breakfast - Secured and private car park - In-room welcome tray (tea, coffee, infusion...) - 24-Hour-reception - Free high speed internet (Wifi) - 24-hour-luggage storage - Accessibility to disabled guests - Equipped meeting room (max 80 guests) - Pets allowed (-10 kg) - Iron and hair dryer available at reception - Fridge and microwave at reception We look forward to welcoming you soon in our establishment ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Paris Est - Pantin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris Est - Pantin Hotel Pantin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing