We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Princesse Isabelle
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Puteaux
Reviewed 6 January 2007

This hotel is nothing it portrays to be. It is a good 15 minute walk from the nearest metro station which is itself probably 15 minute metro ride. The room we stayed in was tiny, in fact we couldnt get in and out of the bathroom without hitting the 3-legged safe which had the TV on. The walls are paper thin and we could hear both sets of neighbours which meant not being able to go to sleep until early hours of the morning. In addition, although we asked for non-smoking room, the smell of cigarettes came through strongly enough to make it appear as if someone had been smoking in our room whilst we were out. Don't get too excited by the log fire in reception-it's an electric one. In the five days we stayed in the hotel, we never heard anyone play the piano in the bar. The prices in the hotel by the way were very expensive. The description on the hotel webite says there would be generous breakfast. We were unable to get a table in the dining room the whole time we stayed in the hotel and instead had to take our breakfast to the hotel lobby. The selection was extremely poor, a bowl of canned fruit salad, a few slices of salami and cheese. We didn't even get a croissant until the third day and it was only because we asked for it. Every day we had to ask for a glass to pour our orange juice into and clean cups for coffee.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank charlie123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 118 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London
115
Reviewed 6 February 2006

I stayed in this hotel in February 2006. I booked through an English tour operator and, having read reviews on this website, I telephoned to confirm my reservation the day before I left. There was no problem with the reservation at all.

The hotel is nice, if a little run down, and comfortable. I found the staff polite and helpful. The lady at reception during the day was comfortable with English and French and courteously asked which language we preferred.

The hotel is close to a large financial district in Paris and so there are services like a shuttle bus to meetings for those who are staying for that reason. We ate at a local restaurant one night and it was filled with locals. It was well priced, lively, authentic and served good food.

Stayed: February 2006
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2005

We stayed at the Princess Isabelle and found it to be comfortable. I had been worried after booking I read the reviews that people had problems with their bookings but we did not find this to be the case. Staff very pleasant. The rooms were quite small but to be expected in Paris. Breakfast was buffet style. There was a choice of good eating places close by which were reasonable priced. Metro station just a few minutes walk direct to all the main sights Arc de Triomphe, Louvre etc. Would recommend without a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank silvdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2005

Stayed at this hotel as said provided free parking and it did, stayed for 2 nights after driving from Le Harve, La Defense is right at the end of the motorway from le Harve. Got a parking space right outside and left car there for 2 days with no problems.

Got a nice clean room with view to Eiffel Tower, ask for top floor, the rooms all have names, might have been "Blois" but not sure. About 10 minute walk from metro station, various restaurants/cafe's in area, reasonable Italian across the road. 15 minute metro ride to Paris Centre, easy.

I would recommend this hotel, after all you don't want to be sat in a hotel all day when you have the whole of Paris to explore

Stayed: September 2003
7  Thank Kaf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2005

When i read the other reviews in regards to this hotel i was slightly worried but i was very pleased when i arrived last friday. I stayed in paris with my boyfriend for the weekend and booked through a local travel agent. The princesse isabelle is a pleasent, well maintained typical 3 star hotel and i was overall very happy with both the facilities and the hotel staff. The area, La Defense is fairly quiet but has all the basics and is nice for people who dont like to be in main tourist areas. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lexxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Devon UK
17
Reviewed 17 April 2005

We stayed in this hotel for along weekend - Friday to Tuesday. We found it a very welcoming hotel with comfortable clean rooms and very helpful hotel staff. It is situated in a quiet part of Paris, which helped for a first time visitor to France.

The breakfasts were of continental styling, there was plenty of it and a good choice of crossaints, jam, bagettes, cheese, ham and eggs. Accompanied by tea, coffee and fruit juice. Although the hotel does not serve an evening meal they will willingly order from their sister hotel for food to be brought in.Just yards away from the hotel are cafes that serve fries, steaks etc.

This was our first visit to Paris, so we have nothing to compare this hotel with. But we would gladly recommend this hotel to anybody using it as a base to look around Paris

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2005

Do not book this hotel - we booked for a 3 night stay over New Years Eve 2005 through a last minute website. We paid £100 per night for 2 people. When we arrived at the hotel, we were informed that they had overbooked their hotel and that we would be required to stay in another of their hotels. We stayed at the Hotel L'Etoile, which was in the middle of nowhere and was filthy - disgusting. Also we had paid for breakfast which we never received. There were at least 6 other couples in the same boat as us - it seems this hotel is famous for booking under the pretence of Princesse Isabelle and then offloading their customers to their other dodgy hotels. If you look at reviews for the Le Dauphin and any other Elysees Hotel Group Hotels you will see that they do this all the time. if i have one piece of advice it's don't be fooled by the front of the Princesse Isabelle cause you are almost guaranteed not to be staying here.

17  Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puteaux
0 mi away
Hotel le Dauphin
Hotel le Dauphin
#2 of 9 in Puteaux
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Douglas Paris
Hotel Douglas Paris
#6 of 9 in Puteaux
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Courbevoie Paris la Defense 1
0.4 mi away
Best Western Seine West Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vivaldi
Hotel Vivaldi
#1 of 9 in Puteaux
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princesse Isabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princesse Isabelle

Address: 72 rue Jean Jaures, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Puteaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Puteaux
Price Range: £43 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Princesse Isabelle 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearby the most popular touristic places of Paris and very close to the business quarter of La Défense, the hotel Princesse Isabelle *** welcomes you in a charming and refined atmosphere. Either in a business or leisure trip, come to relax from busy day round the spacious reception,or, in the morning, savour our generous buffet breakfast. The hotel Princesse Isabelle *** team will remain available for any information or for advise, including the visit of touristic places. •3 star hotel •Single, double and triple rooms and familial suite •Air conditioning •Reception and bar •Flowery garden •Free WIFI access •Dry cleaning •Luggages service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Princesse Isabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesse Isabelle Hotel
Princesse Isabelle Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing