We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and comfortable”
Review of Hotel le Dauphin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Dauphin
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Puteaux
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

delightful little hotel with the most friendly, helpful staff ever experienced ! Very comfortable, clean, generous breakfast, free tea and coffee 24/7....irons and hairdryers to borrow freely, we really could not find fault with this hotel. Nice quiet area, 10 min walk from the metro and very easy to get into centre of Paris. Some nice restaurants and shops nearby, also a lovely park on the Puteaux Island. We will stay there again if/when we return to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivien39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    139
    35
    9
    8
See reviews for
38
131
18
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Very nice hotel - pleasant room and good breakfast - ten minute walk to the Metro taking you into the centre of Paris in about 15 minutes. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Puteaux, where the hotel is located, is also a pleasant area to explore. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portavadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We staided in this hotel for 4 days en enjoyed our stay in Paris. The service was very good and the people of the hotel where very kind and helpfull. The hotel itself is very clean. Breakfast was good en enough. There was plenty food and drinks and if something wasn't avaible any more the people of the hotel take care that asap there where new. The distance to the metro was not to far and the neigbhourhood was good and friendly.

Greetings, Julia and Walter, Holland

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLassche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford upon avon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This was our fourth visit to Dauphin.Service compared to previous was disappointing. coffee percolator replaced by a state of the art machine that changes colour and tells the time but cannot be relied upon to produce coffee or hot water.
Breakfast short on cereals and 2 days not available - out of stock!! and tea bags provided but no hot water available. Safe deposit did not work and despite requests was not repaired during our 5 day stay. Even the lift failed. Previous staff were very attentive to such details but now the new staff is minimal young and inexperienced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

This hotel was easy to find thanks to the directions provided when I booked. Take the M4 from Gare Du Nord to Chalet and then get the Metro 1 line to Espalade De La Defense then it is about 10 mins walk along the Rue Arago. Perfect location for La Defense as it takes about 15 mins to walk to Le Grande Arche.
It was a quick and easy check in at the hotel and my request for a shower room was met. You need a code for the free wifi and I found that I needed to set it up from the lobby initially but then could use it in my 3rd floor room. Unfortunately my room was next to the lift which was noisey but you got used to it and I wasn't in the room much. Clean room and lovely shower room - like the colour changing shower head and lights in the tiles. Compfy bed and working aircon :). Only a couple of English channels on the TV that were news based but enough to keep up with what was going on and there's the free wifi anyway. Lots to do in Paris so don't really need a TV. Perfume lamp was a nice touch too. Could have done with some drawers though to put clothes but the room is pretty compact so not really space. Nice to have a fridge.
Breakfast was a bit pricey but tasty - nice not to have to go on a search for food. I can recommend the Italian Restaurant next door - Fontana Di Trevi - I had a pizza here and spaghetti carbonara and both were delicious - wish I'd eaten here on my first night! Found a nice restaurant in the centre of Paris for the last night, Le Copernic, Avenue De Kleber - would also recommend.
I got the carnet pack of 10 metro/bus/RER tickets for 11.6 Euros and you use one per journey so one for the whole metro route but then another if you want to ride the bus.

All in all a good hotel in a perfect location for my business trip to Paris but would also be fine for someone visiting for leisure - with the good metro and bus links. Puteaux is also a nice place :) enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliStar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2010

What takes me back to the Dauphin for my business trips to the Puteaux suburb of Paris is the standard of excellence in personalized service set by the Director, Philippe GONTHIER. Even as he prepares to open another property in central Paris, his advice and employ of the best hoteliers is evident. Thank you Michael and Catherine!

It is no wonder that the Dauphin is featured in the Eurostar in-train magazine. Its value is extreme. Set in the heart of Puteaux, it is a stone's throw from the city square, 10 minutes' walk from the Esplanade Metro of Line 1 and 3 blocks from the Puteaux Velibe' station (think public bicycles for rent at 1 euro per day with stations all over Paris).

Two buildings surround a central courtyard garden which is an elegant spot for a private evening aperitif with colleagues or friends. The classy lobby features daily newspapers from at least 10 countries and languages (besides Paris' own), and a jumbo wall television if you prefer to watch the world cup match in a quiet roar with your fellow guests. In the morning, the scene changes with a buffet of fresh croissant, danish, ham and cheese, dried and fresh fruit, fresh juices, bottled water, and a self-serve espresso machine.

This last trip, I got a peek at the remodel model room. Hardwood floors and sheik tiled and lighted bathrooms will be the norm. I can't wait!

--Wi-Fi permeates the hotel, but can be sketchy in the back building.
--Courtyard lighting was under repair this visit, but concierge accompanied me up the steps with a torch flashlight. Nice!
--Scented oil (your choice from five) and classical music greets your room entry.
--Air Conditioning (Climatization) and Heat in every room.
--Room service selections are limited, but with no restaurant to support are mostly for those who are just too tired to venture out to sample the city's culinary delights. Venture forth!
--Rooms are extremely small by American standards, but so goes the price. Remember, you are in Europe!
--as with most cottage hotels, due to the rooms' proximity and size you can hear the comings, goings and goings-on of your neighbors
--beds are a bit "springey" for my bad back, but pillows are plush; how about featherbeds?
--some towels are a bit rough and need replacing

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zirconiums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed in Le Dauphine for four days for a business trip - ideal for me as the office was literally only a stone's throw away (thats why it gets five stars for location - not ideal for first time tourists to Paris)

As with all Paris hotels, the rooms are small, and the shower cubicles challenging even for skinny people.

That said, the bathroom was pretty funky, the room looked out over a small courtyard, the atmosphere was great.

But the service was what stood out - exceptionally friendly and helpful, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone who need to bo business in Puteaux or La Defense.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puteaux
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vivaldi
Hotel Vivaldi
#1 of 9 in Puteaux
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Paris La Defense
Melia Paris La Defense
#1 of 16 in Courbevoie
1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Douglas Paris
Hotel Douglas Paris
#5 of 9 in Puteaux
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Paris La Defense Centre
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Paris La Defense
Sofitel Paris La Defense
#1 of 41 in La Defense
1,588 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Rives de Paris La Defense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Dauphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Dauphin

Property: Hotel le Dauphin
Address: 45 Rue Jean Jaures, 92800 Puteaux, La Defense, France (Formerly Hotel le Dauphin by Elegancia)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Hauts-de-Seine > La Defense > Puteaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Puteaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Dauphin 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Le Dauphin, a convivial and charming hotel, welcomes you all year long for your touristic and business trips. It is located next to the business center La Defense and about 10 minutes from Paris by metro. A garden, warm and covered in automn-winter) is an oasis of peace so close to Paris. Our 41 rooms, with a new warm and refined design, are confortable and fully equipped (air-conditionning, minibar, kettle...). A bar & room-service (Hot meals, cured meat Boards, cheese Boards...) is served 24h/24, in the room, in the lobby or the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Dauphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dauphin Hotel
Le Dauphin Puteaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing