We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh - Find a vending machine instead”
Review of Restaurant L'Ecurie - CLOSED

Restaurant L'Ecurie
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ugh - Find a vending machine instead”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

There is nothing to like about this place - scatter-brained service and food you will probably want to scatter on the floor, all packaged up in a room that looks like a Tyrolean disco bar with tables. To add insult to injury, not cheap either.

We made the mistake of looking for a bite to eat in the village of Roissy before flying out of CDG, and without a reservation, this was one of the few places that had a table (Hmmm, I wonder why). We would have been better off buying chips from a vending machine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service.”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We took our children here (19 & 15) for our last night in France. We had walked around the small town and looked at many local restaurants and picked this one as we wanted some authentic French food and the restaurant looked warm and inviting. We all had 3 courses each and loved every dish. The service was excellent and price reasonable. I am glad I didn't read any previous reviews before going because we would not have picked this place. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I took a colleague for dinner this evening and we waited over two hours for our food. The restaurant was woefully under-staffed for the amount of diners, with only three waiters. It took them half an hour to take our order. They brought the wine but we had to remind them twice to bring the water. The food, when it arrived, was very good but after two hours waiting, I think even my own arm was looking like a tasty option. We were given €6 off the bill as compensation for the delay. Frankly I would rather have paid full price and had decent service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weary235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We walked around the tiny town of Roissy and thought L’Ecurie was cute so we went inside. My husband ordered the escargot, the rump steak in wine sauce, and orange crème brulee. I ordered salad with hot goat cheese, cream basil fish, and a plate of cheeses. The waitress looked about sixteen and didn’t speak any English. We are pretty sure we were close to ruining her night until my husband pulled up his translation app and typed in, “We are sorry we can’t speak French”. The second she read it she looked like the weight of the world lifted from her shoulders. We had a lovely dinner and both really enjoyed our food. The experience had to be one of our top favorites of the whole trip because it was our first time ordering with someone who didn’t speak a lick of English.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant L'Ecurie also viewed

Roissy-en-France, Val-d'Oise
 
Roissy-en-France, Val-d'Oise
Roissy-en-France, Val-d'Oise
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing