We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The cracks are beginning to show .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Only Suites CDG Airport
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Roissy-en-France
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The cracks are beginning to show .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I've reviewed this place twice before and given it a well-deserved 5 star rating. However, my wife and I returned there at the end of July (only a month after my last visit) and found it to be a totally different place.

The first sign of trouble was when we walked into the lobby to check in - the carpet was distinctly grubby and looked in need of a good vacuuming. And it all went downhill from there.

At check-in, "Nicole" on the front desk, a charming young lady with superb English, was at pains to explain that she couldn't give us a key to open the door to our room because “the machine that codes the key-card was not working”. And it quickly transpired that that was not the only thing that wasn't working - neither were the technicians who were responsible for the key-card system!

You see, it was a Saturday, and with immense embarrassment and profuse apologies, Nicole explained that their response to her call-out was that "they only work Monday thru Friday and wouldn't get there to fix it until Monday - at the earliest"!! Now, I know we all make jokes about the French "work ethic", but c'mon - this is a hotel! It depends entirely on guests; guests who expect to actually be able to get into the room they booked - yes, even at weekends! But, no, apparently that wasn't high on the contract company's priority list.

So that left poor Nicole explaining this ridiculous situation to a lobby full of impatient guests, and her only assistant, again a charming, apologetic young man, racing back and forth to the elevator and along the corridors, escorting each guest to their room and letting them in with his 'master' key! How he kept up the pace (and the courteous demeanor), I have no idea. Of course, when we left to go out to dinner later that evening, I was sure that this farce would be over by the time we returned. I had no doubt that, when Nicole called the hotel management, they would quickly sort out the contract company and we'd have a key when we got back. Wrong! Apparently, management was either not interested or powerless, because when we checked out on Sunday, Nicole was still explaining to bewildered newcomers that they couldn't have a room key! Amazing, absolutely amazing!

Leaving the key problem to one side, were there any other issues? Regretfully, yes. As one can imagine, on our way to the room on that first night, I was beginning to wonder what was happening to one of my favorite hotels. When Nicole's assistant let us into our room (Room #406), things got steadily worse. I won't elaborate further than just list the issues:

Bathroom:
- there was filthy black mold around the bathtub/shower
- the grip-rail for the bath had been torn off the wall (but the two mounts/holes from where it had been broken away had not been patched – ugly!)
Bedroom:
- a large glob of “something” had been "stuck" on the right-hand hand side of headboard (possibly glue, but whatever it was looked most unsavory!)
- the televison would not stand upright and was nearly falling over because the base support was incapable of supporting it
Kitchen:
- the safe didn't work

My Summary:
Something is going (or has gone) terribly wrong with this hotel. Maybe I got unlucky with this room, but I think not. The whole place looked dishevelled and neglected. Whoever is responsible for the cleaning and general maintenance is clearly not doing their job. Add to that, the fiasco with the room keys and I get the impression that “Hotel Management” has just lost interest in the place and, having made their initial investment, are now just content to milk it for all they can before word gets around and they lose all their custom.

Had it not been for the valiant Nicole and her “runner”, I'd have given it 1 star.

Room Tip: Take a good look around your room, particularly the bathroom, before accepting the key (if you get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    118
    97
    91
    121
See reviews for
102
148
46
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I booked this hotel through a website offering 'top secret' hotels so didn't know anything about it until I made the reservation. I made the reservation based largely on price and proximity to CDG airport. The reservation was for one night because my flight into Paris was too late to make a connection with the TGV. There is a free shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel. The 'Only Suites' concept is quite strange for a hotel which caters mainly for air travellers who are likely to stay for one night. The suites are spacious and have a kitchenette, which I suspect very few guests actually use. The suite was clean and the 'living' area was reasonably comfortably furnished. The bed was large and very comfortable indeed and can be separated from the rest of the suite by closing sliding doors. I received a good welcome from the receptionist whose English was very good. The hotel bar was not as glamorous-sounding as the hotel's website suggests so don't expect the promised cocktails (I got a can of Heineken!). The breakfast was of the buffet variety, without a huge choice, but with surprisingly good scrambled eggs (they looked terrible). Coffee is available from a machine but was fine (it is a French coffee machine, after all). I can't really complain about this hotel, especially at the price I paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This rather run down establishment appears to be suffering a financial crisis, apparent from the lack of support staff and 'broken' necessities.
1) Long lines to check in. You are lucky if any of the staff understand English.
2) Not enough towels or pillows; we needed to ask for both 2 days in a row.
3) Lighting in room does not work
4) Takes 10 minutes for hot water to reach your floor in the morning.
5) There are TV's but you are lucky to find a remote.
6) WIFi is iffy at best.
7) Terrible 'free' breakfast; they do bake on site however they also lay the danish and rolls on a table in the back room with a door open to the outside (bugs, flies, etc).
8) If you are lucky to have 'plastic' glass in the bathroom, it won't be sanitized.
9) If you call downstairs to the staff, they might answer the phone.
10) For the price, you can find much better.

Room Tip: Look elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuehl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here for one night because I flew out early the next day & didn't want to go all the way into Paris. What a pleasant surprise the room was indeed like a small suite. A little kitchen & semi separate bedroom. Much better than a hotel room & for less cost. The breakfast was adequate & the shuttle bus to & from the airport drops you & picks you up from the front door. The only small complaint was the dining options were very limited but there are plenty of other places to eat close by. Over all a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen and Sheri... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
397 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was sent to this hotel after the hotel I was originally booked for conducted overbooking and could not provide me with a room. Focusing on this one, what I can say is AVOID.
Rooms are big but not as well maintained as they should. There was a TV in the room but it only worked with a remote control which was not available in the hotel... Ridiculous!
Never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in, having said that it was only for one night and we needed to catch a 6.00am flight. The hotel in on a strip of hotels and you get what you pay for, we paid 285 euros for a 2 bedroom suite, the airport transfers were included both ways. You will need to venture out to find somewhere to eat, Roissy is town that needs to be seen to believed, it is a s..thole but we did find somewhere to eat. This is a part of Paris that is not on anyone's must do list!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Booked this room through late rooms so got real value for money at 70€ a night ( price indication at hotel was 250€ per night). Free shuttle service to and from CDG airport and hotel ( although finding the shuttle stop at airport was a little confusing) . Arrived at hotel to a very warm welcome at reception, fast check in service. Room was clean and spacious, kitchen area, living room with sofa bed, tv, bathroom and separate sleeping area. Ate at hotel which was a 3 course meal for around 21€ this was brought to my room FOC ( although I did tip) lovely food too. Not at all noisy even though in flight path of CDG. My only downfall was in the morning I found ants running over the meal plate and cup left from the night before :(. Would definitely use this hotel again through late rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharronreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roissy-en-France hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Paris Roissy CDG
Novotel Suites Paris Roissy CDG
#3 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Paris CDG Airport Villepinte
Golden Tulip Paris CDG Airport V...
#14 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residhome Roissy Park
Residhome Roissy Park
#19 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Paris-Charles De Gaulle Airport
Holiday Inn Paris-Charles De Gau...
#11 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Convention & Wellness Roissy CDG
Novotel Convention & Wellness Ro...
#4 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Roissy
Premiere Classe Roissy
#22 of 30 in Roissy-en-France
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Only Suites CDG Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Only Suites CDG Airport

Property: Quality Only Suites CDG Airport
Address: 9 Allee du Verger, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France (Formerly OnlySuites CDG)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Roissy-en-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Roissy-en-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Only Suites CDG Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Only Suites CDG Airport is a modern residence situated less than 2km from Roissy-CDG airport, 6km from Villepinte Exhibition Park, 30 km from Disneyland(R) Paris and only 30 minutes from Paris city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Only Suites CDG Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Only Suites Roissy Airport Hotel Roissy
Hotel By Mdb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing