We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute nightmare.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eurohotel Paris Saint-Denis
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute nightmare.”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

After I'd saved for nearly two years in order to afford a break in Paris for our 40th wedding anniversary,what was supposed to have been the trip of a lifetime in the romance capital of the world,actually turned out to be our worst nightmare. After leaving the main route from CDG airport to Paris and being driven through the roughest area imaginable,probably best described as a ghetto,(think Moss-side,Manchester,then QUADRUPLE IT!!!) we arrived at the 'Hotel'. The main entrance was unlocked,so anyone was free to come or go as they pleased,that was our first concern. Then I asked just how far from Paris we were and was told 21 kilometers,the hotel website says it's close to all major attractions,I wouldn't call that close. Then I ask how we're going to get there and am told,"The Metro,but be very careful,don't carry much cash,leave your passports,credit cards,cameras,watches,handbags,jewelry,phones,etc. here at the hotel,because a lot of tourists get robbed around here." "Move quickly and keep a sharp lookout for gangs of youths,especially at the hotel entrance and on the Metro" We wondered if things could get any worse,they did. As we left the reception area and entered the hotel complex we were confronted by a four storey building which can best be described as a prison block. The area by the lifts was full of litter and stank of urine,as did the lift. We went to the fourth floor and opened the door to our room,switched on the light and my wife just cried. The room itself was the size of our bathroom and had two single beds,I'd booked a double room. The bedding looked as if it was made from some old curtain material from around 1950,it was dirty and stank of stale cigarettes. There was a small wardrobe with two coathangers,and a bathroom with a shower which would have just about been adequate if you happened to be a midget. As our hearts sank and our dreams were shattered,my wife just begged me to take her home. At this point I had to play my trump card and tell her that I'd booked us on a four course evening dinner cruise on the River Seine for the following night. It was meant to be a surprise but under the circumstances I had no choice,and for this reason,she agreed to stay. She wet into the shower and after a couple of minutes,let out a scream,he bathroom floor was under two inches of water! I had to use the towels to soak up the mess and we just went to bed (seperately) and tried to sleep.What followed was a sleepless night of shouting and wild behaviour,both from inside and outside the hotel,and what sounded like gunshots. In the morning I asked if the hotel could order a taxi for us but was advised to avoid taxis as they charge anywhere from 40 to 60 euros into Paris and the journey can take two to three hours. We decided to take our chances on the Metro and on the way,passed a bar 50 yards from the hotel with five bullet holes in the front window and all the rest of the windows smashed. I'd ignored the hotel manager's advice and taken our camera,so after making sure we weren't being watched I took three pictures of the damage. I tried to appear in control and confident while we were there for the sake of my wife but the truth of it is I have NEVER in my life felt as scared as during these three days and nights. We were being watched everywhere we went by these scumbag low-lifes,just waiting for something to kick off. It was only after coming home and stumbling upon some of the reviews on here that we began to appreciate just how lucky we'd been to get back in one piece. The after affects have left my wife traumatised and I wish to God we had gone to Blackpool instead. The whole area of Basilique St Denis,including the Eurohotel Sovereign,should be nuked of the face of the earth!!! Absolute bloody disgrace!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Splitty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    46
    59
    47
    154
See reviews for
88
86
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This Hotel is no Ritz but not the horror show some people have made it out to be, staff were friendly, hotel clean and breakfast was fine. Free Wifi also. We found St Denis to be vibrant multicultural centre not the european Sierre Leone that some reviews have made it out to be. It's fair enough away from touristy Paris to experience some real urban french culture. It takes 20mins on the metro to get into central Paris and the Metro itself is only 10mins walk from the Hotel. I would recommend this hotel and would stay at it again if I ever go to Paris again. If you want a cheap base to operate from whilst seeing Paris, this Hotel is a great cheap option.

Room Tip: if u can maybe stay off the ground floor would be a little quieter I would have thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdmadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Saint Denis of Paris suburban area but very dirty and scary. The elevators in the Hotel smelled pee. It was noted that there was wifi in the rooms but there was none, the only place you can have it was in the lobby (wifi). Repair hole in the wall with pieces of board. There was mold in the bathroom. The bed was very inconfortable and horrible, we could feel the springs in the Back. No service at the bar. The restaurant was empty. The whole hôtel is very old, maintenance is poor. Very small room. The only positive is that the hotel was quiet and was close to the stade de France and saint denis basilica. Do not Go to this hotel....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We needed to be in Paris for the weekend, partly on 'business', but determined to have a bit of leisure also. Since the Eurostar prices London - Paris remain ridiculous (why don't they make them accessible to the majority as a truly environmentally friendly alternative to gas-guzzling planes and cars?) we drove London to Paris using the much underrated, relatively cheap and underused shuttle train through the Channel Tunnel. We had searched for a budget hotel with underground parking and had lighted on the Euro Hotel in the St Denis quarter of Paris.

What a pleasantly surprising revelation the hotel and area turned out to be! Professional, friendly and decidedly multi-lingual reception staff and a basic, small but clean en suite double room on the third floor of this really rather strange building, it's layout resembling an enormous Moroccan riad with it's balconies surrounding a vast central courtyard.

We had hit Paris just as the severest snowfall of the winter began and came out of the hotel on Sunday morning, heading for the Metro some 150 metres away, for the approx 15 min ride to central Paris, and found the whole area full of a massive and fascinating market, with the old St Denis Market Hall overflowing with produce and the streets around bursting with stalls. Our shoes were not standing up well to the deepening snow and slush and we both bought new watertight footwear from some chatty and friendly Pakistani/French shoe vendors.

We slid around the Louvre and the long boulevards before dipping into a central Paris cinema for warmth and a remarkably cheap viewing of the latest Tarantino film, in English with French subtitling. Then back to the warmth of the hotel and a late night hot drink from the reception staff before turning into the tiny, but cosy, room.

We checked out next morning and were able to leave our vehicle in the secure underground parking for a further 8 hours without any addition to the 8 euro per 24 hours we had paid for the parking. Great!

All in all, our apprehensions about what kind of accommodation we had booked 'blind' on the internet, were unfounded. Our concerns that we may have been far away from central Paris were also unfounded - the metro was nearby and it was a short ride to the city centre, and the St Denis area was a friendly multi-racial mix that we really liked. We also took a ride through north east Paris on on the tram that jingled through St Denis and found the semi-suburban views and changing vistas of the 35 minute ride an interesting and unusual perspective on the contemporary city. Some disturbing scenes of poverty, pockets of satellite dished squatter shacks along the railway lines and motorways...

Just one thing about the hotel. The continental, 'as much as you want' buffet breakfast is great, and is available between 7.30 and 9.30 a.m., and it means exactly that. At 9.31 a.m., apart from a cooling coffee machine, the croissants, rolls, butter, conserves and cereals have all disappeared as if by magic. So be on time!

We definitely recommend this hotel, and the area. It was an unexpected pleasure. Really good value, and far better service and accomodation than we were expecting.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtimeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed there 3 nights, about the staff, well we felt that theres no staff, they really dont care who goes in or out, and not really helpful i must say. It is a cheap hotel but in my opinion if you want to visit Paris find a hotel in the centre, even if you have to pay a bit more its far much better, less time in metro and less stress. about the area, its not the best. we have learned our lesson, next time we are going to the centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nildallfreaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iasi, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We were ten people from Iassy,Romania in a trip to Paris.We reserved tickets by Vola.ro in a cheap hotel of 70 EUR per night.We find Eurohotel St Dennis by internet.
When we arrived at Beauvais Airport,we travel by a car from Shuttle firma to Hotel St Dennis at 22 h.At the hotel lobby,the personal was very nice and we go upstears imediately.
The room was clean,with clean bedlingery and warm water in the bathroom.It was a little cold in teh room,but the warmmachine was in fonction.Every morning we had breakfast with milk,butter,cofee,warm bread,honey,crossantes,fruit juice.Each day the bedlingery and bathlingery was changed.In conclusion our sejur at St Dennis was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank costel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Staff were friendly but PLEASE take my advice and just go somewhere in central Paris, we are students on a euro trip and have been on a budget, we lasted 12 hours here before moving to a central hotel
Saint Denis is at least 50 minutes away from everything using metro (check gmaps)
Which means after a long day of tourist activities you arrive quite late, we were late and were mugged about 100 meters from the hotel
No tourists really in the area so you stick out like a light
The sacrifice for distance and location does nt outweigh the savings

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theratoriser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Denis hotels
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Paris Saint Denis Pleyel
1.3 mi away
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
#4 of 17 in Saint-Denis
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Paris Stade de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Paris Saint Denis Stade Basilique
0.9 mi away
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
#5 of 17 in Saint-Denis
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
HotelF1 Saint Denis Stade
HotelF1 Saint Denis Stade
#12 of 17 in Saint-Denis
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurohotel Paris Saint-Denis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurohotel Paris Saint-Denis

Property: Eurohotel Paris Saint-Denis
Address: 100 rue Gabriel Peri, 93200 Saint-Denis, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Eurohotel Paris Saint-Denis 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eurohotel Paris Saint-Denis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing