We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:45
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Basilica Cathedral of Saint-Denis
from US$10.39
More Info
from US$46.08
More Info
from US$160.53
More Info
Reviews (1,283)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveller rating
901
320
51
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
901
320
51
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french history french royalty gothic architecture stained glass buried here burial place french kings and queens audio guide royal tombs basilica cathedral central paris metro line final resting place worth the trip rose window burial site louis xiv
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

This is absolutely worth the somewhat harrowing trip from central Paris. The station and surrounding area are multicultural and a little intimidating as there are many refugees and it is dirty. We did stop at the market on the way and my kids bought some coloring books. It was safe but we did have two adults. The basilica has anyone who is anyone of the French kings, even Louis XIV’s heart in a jar. It is amazing to see graves for people you read about in history books. Highly recommend for a day trip only. It can be done in a morning.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Tworedsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Wonderful Basilica Cathedral a short metro ride from central Paris. Although they do charge for admission and an audio tour, the Basilica is a part of the Paris museum pass. I was told that the area around the Basilica is not safe for a solo traveler at night, but I was there during the day, and spent time browsing in shops in the area without any issues.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank DawninDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

If you take the Metro, be prepared to transfer a couple of times, but this is well worth the trip if you like history. The building is old and amazing, but seeing the burial spots for the kings & queens of France was fantastic.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Steve-in-ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Was recommended to us by friends who had visited it previously. Because it is located in the poorer part of Paris it is largely overlooked by many of the mainstream tourists. This makes it an ideal place to visit as there are never any crowds or queues. The interior and crypt are amazing and well worth the price of admission. A must do place to visit.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ReneDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

I have always wanted to go and see the basilica, and this trip to Paris I made up my mind to get there. We had a bi5 of a false start when we were unable to find the entrance and got lost in some gardens, but eventually found the entrance. No queues, and free entry to the actual church. This is still used and masses are said here regularly, and confession taken.

The building was awe inspiring, and yet was a shadow of its former self prior to the ransacking. Beautiful stained glass windows, although mostly modern.

The royal tombs and effigies are some5ing else. You come up close and personal to French history. The graves, ossuaries and tombs are quite special, but also humbling.

After a visit to Versailles, and the works of the sun king, see his simple tomb. Sic transit Gloria Mundi.

Interesting that the relics still exist and are in the high alter, and that the heart of the dauphin is on display.

This is the human side of the glorious French royal past. Not macabre, but a reminder of mans follies

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 869dougw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews