We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the budget traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Surrey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect for the budget traveller”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just got back today and I am glad all the bad reviews I read and heard about did not apply to me. This hotel fit the purpose in my case. All I needed was a clean and comfortable room as a base to explore Paris. Paris centre is 15-30 minutes away by metro or tram and then national rail. The hotel is right opposite the metro station and a minute walk from the tram stop. If you don't have a Paris Visite pass and you rely on single tickets it's cheaper to stick to the metro. However, while the metro is packed most of the time, the national rail trains are usually ok. The room came with free WI FI, a bit weak at times, but it worked nevertheless, The room was spacious with a bath tub as well. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was included, the hotel has a lift and to be honest for what I paid had I stayed in the centre of Paris I would have ended up in a hostel in a bed in a shared room on a top floor in an ancient building with no lifts. The area has decent shopping for clothes and food, of course no fancy stores based on the fact that it's an immigrant suburb. The Saint Denis Cathedral is also round the corner if you fancy seeing Marie Antoinette's grave along with the graves of other kings and queens of France. A very positive experience altogether and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to save money. Not suitable for night owls as the Paris transport system shuts down at around midnight and I am pretty sure that a taxi from the centre will cost a fortune.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltrueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    26
    44
    44
    96
See reviews for
41
51
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Basic budget hotel a short walk from the Stade de France with pleasant bars and eateries nearby.
Nothing fancy about this hotel but we didn't experience the problems of earlier reviewers. Breakfast was simple but certainly edible.
I would consider this venue for the future.
Watch out for the ARMY of pickpockets en route from the Gare du Nord especially as you board the trains or trams.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyMarchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A year on from our previous stay, our experience remains positive. Security and Reception
staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was on the small side, but perfectly adequate. Bathroom and bedroom clean, towels changed daily. Amenities included HD TV , really multi-channel not just the usual dozen, new-feeling interior sprung mattress, soft bed covering, and telephone. An extra pillow protected in transparent wrapping was in a cupboard. We could have done with Air Conditioning - it was the height of the heatwave - but the window opened wide (we were not bitten!). The excellent buffet breakfast was well supervised and kept stocked.

We agree that the multi-cultural nature of St Denis can be unsettling if unfamiliar - in reality there is no more crime involving tourists here than in any other district of the city or suburbs. The locals are used to tourists - coachloads arrive to visit the Basilica daily - and generally pay them no mind. One just needs to be sensible and avoid obvious display of valuables particularly crossing deserted unlit areas late at night. Don't forget most locals are a lot worse off than the visitors.

We continue to be puzzled to read reviewers including fellow countrymen reporting negative experiences so different to ours. In our well-travelled opinion the Hotel provides excellent value for bargain rates. At these unbeatable prices it would be urealistic to expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: Our third floor room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trotter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

On the plus side, the breakfast is pretty good, the hotel is located very close to the metro, wifi is provided free (though the signal is patchy, so you take your chances with the room you get). The area is a mix of old and charming (including the basilica - which ought to be rated as unmissable for any visitor to Paris), and dreadful closely packed sixties-style apartment blocks which serve as noise funnels - unfortunately the hotel is in the latter.

On the negative side, the service was truly awful. On the first day of a five day stay, we mentioned to reception that one of our rooms did not have a kettle. This was never put right. Not that it mattered that much - the supplies of tea and coffee in our other room were never replenished. Towels were refreshed rarely and randomly, leaving us on occasion with only hand towels to use after a shower. At breakfast, items would run out and would only be refilled when the (somewhat surly) staff were asked. The lift was broken during most of our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure it has wi-fi. The back of the hotel (nearer the metro) may be quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraint J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Denis hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Booked in for two nights for a concert. I can only say I was amazed I did not get bitten. After a shower my feet were dirty from walking bare feet on the carpets. Security and staff are very rude and ignore any requests made I.e can I have an extra pillow please?
Breakfast edible. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at the district is very dodgy. Felt very uneasy walking round. Would never return to the hotel or the district !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CasGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I've been traveling for over a decade. I am on the road at least 6 months a year. This is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed at. Cob webs, dried blood, broken locks on the doors, sketchy long stay guests, mold in the bathroom. DO NOT STAY here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jawbreaker2984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The terrible reviews of this hotel are grossly unfair. Though not luxurious, this is a completely functional, comfortable hotel in an excellent location just steps away from the metro line 13.

The rooms are large by Paris standards, and the management has put their money where it is best used. The beds are large and comfortable with good linens and pillows. The bathrooms are good sized and there is a good supply of hot water and large towels (but no washcloths). Yes, the furniture is a bit worn, but completely functional.

There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms, a television (though only French channels), coffee service and adequate hanging space. There are, however, no drawers.

There are some drawbacks. The hall carpet needs to be replaced, and there is a smell of smoke in the hallways, but not in the rooms.

The restaurant provides a good continental breakfast with coffee, juice, cereal, breads, ham and cheese. Lunches and dinners are on a limited menu, but are tasty. The hotel staff is polite and attentive.

The people who find the neighborhood problematic are suspect in their assessment. St. Denis has a large North African and Caribbean population--most of whom were born in France and speak excellent French. We attended a festival at the beautiful Basilica just a minute or so away from the hotel with many cafes and restaurants on a central plaza. The hotel is located in a major retail area. One needs to be as sensible in this situation as in any large city. Indeed, one is as likely to have one's wallet lifted in Montmarte. I was very comfortable in these surroundings, and the ease of transportation made the hotel attractive--certainly for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms are arranged in a crescent. The rooms on the North side may be lighter and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wbeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Denis hotels
1.0 mi away
Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
#4 of 17 in Saint-Denis
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Paris Saint Denis Stade Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Paris Saint Denis Pleyel
0.9 mi away
Novotel Suites Paris Stade de France
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Paris Saint Denis
Courtyard Paris Saint Denis
#3 of 17 in Saint-Denis
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade

Property: Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade
Address: 14 rue Jean Jaures, 93200 Saint-Denis, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Paris - Saint Denis Centre - Grand Stade Hotel Saint-Denis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing