We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & basic budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean & basic budget hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We recently stayed here while attending a youth American football tournament. I had read many reviews about another hotel with a similar name in St. Denis so I was leary about this one and the area surrounding it. Apparently this is not the same hotel as the other was next door to a strip club. This one was not. There are very few restaurants in the area which was inconvenient. Taxi drivers had a hard time finding the hotel so be sure & take one of the hotel business cards with the name & address to show. The restaurant in the hotel is closed on Saturday & Sunday, but we were able to call for food to be delivered. Hotel offers basic services and is clean. Rooms are very small even for two guests. The beds are comfortable. We had problems using the electric outlets. The one in the bathroom converted to 120 but did not provide enough power to run a hair dryer or flat iron. We used a converter we brought in the bedroom but it did not provide enought power for the flat iron, however, we could use a hair dryer. When considering this hotel be sure to not confuse it with the other Campanile St. Denis hotel in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brcunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    62
    60
    27
    27
See reviews for
50
50
5
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just returned from a trip to Paris, whilst there we stayed at this hotel situated on the waters edge about 800 metres from Saint Denis train station.

The room itself was pretty basic, but was clean & warm. It also had everything that you need for your stay.

The hotel itself appears to be more of a hotel aimed at business travelers, on arrival we were informed that the restaurant was closed on the Saturday & Sunday. This was a slight inconvenience due to the lack of restaurants in the surrounding area.

Before we traveled we had read reviews, saying how unfriendly and rude the staff were. To be honest we did not encounter this. The staff were friendly & courteous to myself & my wife throughout our stay.

The area can seem quite intimidating with groups of youths on most corners, we did not have any trouble from any that we passed.

If we return to Paris again we will stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a forward facing room as these overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Three Welsh men on a rugby trip to watch Wales beat France... Booked this hotel as it was near to the ground.
The hotel itself is fine, there was parking on the road, and the hotel has a bar and restaurant area.
Rooms are pretty basic, but for what we paid were clean, and were serviced daily. No frills at all, but we didn't expect any.
The area is pretty dodgy, and many taxi drivers wouldn't take us there late at night, however we had no trouble at all.
Staff in the hotel at daytime were lovely and made us welcome, though when we asked if it was safe to leave passports in the room to be told... NO... I must admit I was at little shocked. (However we did, along with our iPads, and they were fine).
The night porter is not quite as welcoming or friendly... And where he was when we were stood outside for 20 minutes ringing the bell I have no idea.
Overall I wouldn't stay here again, and I wouldn't recommend it even though it was fine, but the area isn't.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Me and my friends booked 3 rooms at hotel Campanile St Denis in August 2011.After booking it we read the comments on this site and we felt very uncomfortable with our decision.The rooms were non-refundable so we had no choice but to go.I gotta tell you the hotel exceeded my expectations and I am sorry I will disagree with the bad reviews .
Location: Right near the metro station Basilique St Denis with a direct line to Champs Elysees (M 13).Around the area there are small shops,a KFC,Carrefour just across the street ,a very good chinesse restaurant 1 min. away
Hotel Facilities: clean lobby,elivator,1 restaurant ( serves a good breakfast ) first floor rooms are ocupied by families,the 2d and 3d are open for guests
Rooms: I booked a triple room and 2 double rooms.My triple was actually a double room with an extra bed,not ok for 3 adults to stay in.I sat down on the extra bed and it broke so..I'll recommend it for 2 adults and a child.When we moved to the 3d floor we found the rooms to be larger,cleaner,very ok actually: coffee/tea making facilities,clean bathroom,nice and comfortable queen size bed,heater.We were very pleased with the rooms at the 3d floor
Staff: The manager of the hotel speaks english,she was helpful and smiling all the time .Not everybody speaks english though so it will be helpfull to know a few words in french

Overall it was a great value for the money,good hotel for budget travellers and I will return here for sure.

Room Tip: Probably it will be best not to adventure youRself in the neighborhood after 8 pm The 3d floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camelia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We booked this hotel for a weekend in June 2010. The idea was for us to drive from London to (nearly) Paris and stay in a hotel with a car park. We thought we would then use the metro to commute in and out. I wanted to drive as I hardly ever use my car and wanted to stretch it’s legs so to speak. We looked at the reviews on Trip Adviser and it seemed fit for propose. This hotel is described as Paris Nord. It may well be to the North of Paris but Paris it certainly is not. This started to become clear when I was looking into the route and could not find the hotel on the Campanile web site. I soon realised that it is in fact on the site but not listed as a ‘Paris’ hotel as it’s not located in Paris. When I looked closer at the TA reviews upon our return the penny began to drop, other TA users were (not all) reviewing the wrong hotel. I think they were thinking of the Campanile located nearer to the centre. This is a very easy mistake to make.
If you look through the reviews, the people that mention the parking or the proximity to the Stade de France are probably referring to the correct hotel. The others that say it’s near the metro or are in the least complimentary about the hotel, are almost certainly talking about another hotel.

This hotel is located in St Denis which frankly, can only be described as a slum. Immediately in front of the hotel is a dual carriageway and just beyond that a rather horrible section of the Seine. The motorway passes over the road on a bridge a few hundred metres away. The metro is at least a mile away which normally would be no bother at all. Except here there are no pavements to walk on, just filthy muddy streets with litter and rubbish everywhere. To walk to the station you have to pass the equivalent of the DHSS with crowds of rather unsavoury people waiting outside. These people are drunk or high and are fighting and arguing amongst themselves, until you approach, then you are of far greater interest. You finally arrive in the centre of St Denis which is just plain awful. Crack-addicts, prostitutes and gangs are all you will find here. This is just not Paris, no romantic leafy streets, no cafés, no accordion music to be heard, just terrible.

Now for the hotel itself:
It’s horrible. Smelly, dirty, stuffy and just plain nasty. The staff are rude and arrogant. They have that air of arrogance that you just don’t find in France anymore. My wife was bitten by an insect in the tiny double bed and her leg swelled significantly. We spent one night here and moved hotel.
As for the parking, this consists of only eight alleged parking spaces that are in fact simply the pavement outside the hotel. If you are lucky enough to find a space you will have to bump you car up a nine inch kerb stone. If you are unlucky and do not find a space, there is literally nowhere to park, I mean nowhere.
An interesting point about booking, if you book on Campanile’s web site you will pay almost double the normal rate that anyone walking off the street would pay.

I would add that we have stayed in various Campanile hotels over the years while on route to or from Italy and this is an exception. Normally they are cheap and clean and excellent value for money.
Oh, and if you want to cancel your internet booking you simply cannot, their system just doubles back on itself in a loop and you cannot cancel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonHomesafes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Denis hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

As we needed a hotel close to Stade de France it served well, at reasonable price. Staff were ok, not too friendly (probably due to language barrier, their English was not really fluent) but still we managed to get some answers , rooms rather small but reasonably clean, apart from bathroom tub that was rather yellowish at some parts.
It is some 15 min walking distance from the stadium and we were given (by staff member) a printed out map of the area and it was rather easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2010

The room was small and nothing special. Staff was ok. Location was excellent with a Metro stop steps away and some food and shopping options surrounding the hotel. Breakfast was good with a few more choices than expected. Free Wi-Fi was helpful. They will normally not hold baggage after checkout but we got lucky as the clerk made an exception for us. Overall, good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Denis hotels
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Paris Saint Denis Pleyel
1.2 mi away
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
Ibis Saint Denis Stade Sud
#4 of 17 in Saint-Denis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Paris Stade de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Paris Saint Denis
Courtyard Paris Saint Denis
#3 of 17 in Saint-Denis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
Ibis Saint-Denis Stade Ouest
#5 of 17 in Saint-Denis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Paris Saint Denis Stade Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel

Property: Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel
Address: 2, Quai De St-Ouen Et 2, Bd De La Liberation, 93284 Saint-Denis, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-Saint-Denis > Saint-Denis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Saint-Denis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE SEINE RIVERSIDE!A warm welcoming awaits you at reception, where the whole staff will do its best to make your stay great.Enjoy a good night with our new high-class beds in one of our 71 rooms (which can receive up to 5 persons). You will find a complete bathroom with shower & bath, hair-dryer; each room is equipped with a LCD TV (french and english channels), a desk, a phone, a wardrobe, and they are all air conditionned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Paris Nord - Saint Denis - Quai De St Ouen Pleyel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing