We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Alternative to a Paris Hotel!”
Review of Le Chateau Du Val

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chateau Du Val
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

After paying a small fortune for below standard Paris hotels, I decided to stay on the fringe of the city and take the train in (25 min ride, including stops). I was so happy & surprised to this gorgeous converted Royal hunting lodge. Frederic, who was manning the desk upon our arrival, was helpful about travel details to the city, getting us settled in our suite (€100!), offering to add us last minute to dinner list & telling us about local area sightseeing. The town of Saint German en Laye is another hidden treasure all it's own with a rich Royal history. I would love having time to see more of this area with its gorgeous palace! What a beautiful surprise.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyMac80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

We arrived from Spain around 16.00 hrs in St Germain. The address mentioned was not in our GPS system. We asked everywhere and nobody knows this hotel. Tried to phone them but we got 4 times a band message that they were available between 15.00 and 23.00 hrs and then nothing. At last we arrived at 20.00 hrs in a very dark small way and there was a very arrogant receptionist who told us that we could not park out car inside but that we had to park in the dark grass path. We were really fat up with his attitude and left and went to hotel Forestier. Never, never again!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank margreet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Excellent stay here - the staff are very friendly and will try their best to be helpful, despite the language barrier, we were shown to our rooms directly - thankfully! or we would have gotten lost. They did everything they could make us our stay welcoming.

The wifi was fine and we stayed on the 3rd floor, top corner. Our french was extremely! limited but the staff were so helpful we used gestures to overcome problems. Not treated like you would be otherwise in other areas in Paris. Only French local TV channels.

You must be willing to pay 10 EUR to the taxis outside St Germain-en-Laye train station at the end of the red A line. Although it is a 3k walk and we were prepared to do this, we got a bit lost - theres supposed to be a walking track but we can't find it. There are also buses running immediately outside of the Chateau which is cheaper about 1.60 EUR pp and no one mentioned it before but we managed to catch it one morning, very easy. Maybe ask the hotel staff.

The shower facilities were excellent. No conditioner. Nice period furniture and comfortable bedding.

Don't stay here if you want to be in the touristy hub of Paris. But if you want to enjoy a "local" area, this is a very well to do and friendly suburb. On the day we left, we were waiting at the bus stop and a very nice French lady pulled up her car and said in French for us to get in! She gave us a lift to the station.

Overall, excellent value for money - we paid about half of what we would have paid to the hotels in the centre of Paris. It took us roughly about 25 mins to get to central Paris attractions which was fine for the savings! We would stay there again, definitely.

Room Tip: You wont' find anything else like this, a unique experience to sleep in a chateau. Buses outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ach0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Nothing at all special in a beautiful, historic palace in a pretty location. The bed was rather uncomfortable, the breakfast extremely limited and basic, and everything in real need of renovation. Nothing I experienced was especially bad, but it was tired and lacking any love for detail or the incredible history of the palace. A location like that deserves much better.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExilAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were there not knowing where else to sleep in the neighbourhood. When we saw it we were enthousiastic about the hotel itself. Nothing compared to what we saw when we entered the room. The view on Paris was absolutely fantastic, it was night and the panorama was simply incredible. The rooms need perhaps a bit of refurbishing but overall we got a good room at a good price. Next time we'll go there again.... For sure!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

30 minutes drive from Central Paris and 20 minutes from Versailles is this extraordinary place. Run as a not-for-profit organisation for many years, this residential home is now also a hotel. Clean and beautifully decorated in the common areas it hosted a party for our friends 50th Birthday Party last night. A better place couldn't have been chosen.
Bedrooms are basic but scrupulously clean.There were around a dozen elderly residents, when we stayed, one of whom said in english as we were leaving "look forward to you coming back." We were very touched. The staff and residents provided an alternative view of the Big City "locals". The french manager, educated in the US, speaks fluent english with an american accent and couldn't do enough for us.
Yes, the double beds are relatively small. But our room overlooked the gardens with full height french doors. The lift is fitted out for people with mobility issues. Thoroughfares are practical, not grand. Luxury is relative; this Chateau was built in 1669 for Louis XIV before he moved to Versailles, I understand. The bedrooms are functional for residents but the TV in our room (70) was new and received a wide variety of channels. But you don't stay here for television. If the rooms are good enough for the residents, they are certainly good enough for me. Anyway, the function rooms, terraces and courtyard are where you spend your time. Value for money is unsurpassed.
Being close to St Germain-en-Laye, but amongst the forests offers wonderful walking and cycling opportunities. Champagne was €30 a bottle! Breakfast was a simple buffet with fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and pastries in the most beautifully decorated and grand sunny room. And because you share the facilities with the most extraordinary people, breakfast was shared with an elderly gentleman who had lost a leg. It was not my business to ask him how, but it makes you realize how lucky we are and complaining about the things we do reflects more on us than the Hotel. The gardens were simple, large and lush with plenty of topiary. The sunshine helped and the air was superb.
This hotel deserves to be a quiet success. If you want "luxury bedrooms" go elsewhere. If you want to understand French history in so many ways, stay in a fantastic location and enjoy extremely acceptable standards of food and wine, you are unlikely to be disappointed. I don't think anyone would be disappointed though this is first and foremost a residential home you have the privilege of sharing with extraordinary people.
If "austerity" teaches us anything it is that it is not fluffy towels that bring us pleasure, but places that reflect how lucky we are.To stay in a place that moves you rather than impresses others is true luxury.
PS as a venue for a party and with friends, it is first class! As a base for discovering Paris it is unique. For around €120 per night (€10 pp for breakfast) it leaves you with money to spare.

Room Tip: Ask about bed sizes and ask for more pillows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidMcKibbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: demander vue sur le Parc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yveslecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S S, directeur at Le Chateau Du Val, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Germain-en-Laye
1.1 mi away
Cazaudehore et La Forestiere
Cazaudehore et La Forestiere
#2 of 6 in Saint-Germain-en-Laye
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Paris Ouest Saint Germain
Hotel Mercure Paris Ouest Saint ...
#4 of 6 in Saint-Germain-en-Laye
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Saint Germain en Laye Centre
Ibis Saint Germain en Laye Centr...
#3 of 6 in Saint-Germain-en-Laye
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Campanile Saint Germain En Laye
Campanile Saint Germain En Laye
#5 of 6 in Saint-Germain-en-Laye
176 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pavillon Henri IV
Pavillon Henri IV
#1 of 6 in Saint-Germain-en-Laye
493 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Terres Blanches Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau Du Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau Du Val

Address: Route Forestiere de Brancas, 78100 Saint-Germain-en-Laye, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Saint-Germain-en-Laye
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Germain-en-Laye
Price Range: £77 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel's check in is from monday to friday from 2:00 PM to midnight at the latest. On weekends and bank holidays from 2:00 PM to 9:00 PM at the latest. Pets are not welcome. Diners at the restaurant are possible from monday to friday, from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM (last order), restaurant closed at 10:30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Chateau Du Val reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing