We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover on way back from a stay further North”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Welcome Inn Hotel Lyngskroa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oteren
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We picked this hotel after looking on Trip Adviser as we wanted somewhere to stop over on our way back to Tromso from a stay further north. We'd been hoping to see the Northern Lights at some point during our trip but didn't get the opportunity however the hotels, scenery & friendly people went a long way to make up for it. This hotel was another gem. The rooms were clean, warm & perfectly adequate for an overnight stop. We were the only people in the restaurant that evening but the owner & his wife couldn't have made us more welcome. We had a wonderful meal prepared for us washed down with good wine & a lovely fire pit burning which made it feel like we'd stepped in to someones lounge rather than a hotel restaurant. It was lovely. The next morning breakfast was a buffet with a great selection of cheeses & meat as well as cereals, fruit etc Very good.
I managed to leave a jumper & leggings behind at the hotel when we left which they very kindly posted home to me! I would certainly recommend this as a good place to stop over & would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

The location of this hotel is very practical for some nice daytrips. The reception area and the restaurant are nice, but the rooms are very small, especially the beds. One bed stands directly at a wall. In the bathroom there can only be one person at the time.
Although we were handed out a menu list, there was only one meal available that night we wanted to have dinner at the Restaurant. Luckily we carried some pic-nic with us!!
The breakfast buffet was fine.
The staff could hardly speak any English.

Room Tip: If you plan to have dinner at the Restaurant, make sure the cook is on duty!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mizzi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stopped here for the night en route to North Cape. It was an excellent decision. Rooms are large by Norwegian standards - which is to say that without luggage, the 3 of us would have been quite comfortable in the room. With 3 suitcases, things are a little tight. The rooms feel new and bright - though this was the only place we stayed in north Norway that had room-darkening curtains (much appreciated in July!). Everything was spotlessly clean. Good mattresses and we found the hotel to be extremely quiet.
We arrived around 7:30 in the evening and the restaurant was closing. Fortunately, they agreed to feed us if we ordered quickly. I say fortunately because there isn't anywhere to eat for miles. They offered us the complete menu, and the food was excellent. The restaurant atmosphere is also to be commended, both classy (white tablecloths) and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning (included in the price) was an extensive array of food in the same restaurant. We enjoyed both meals. Front desk staff were friendly and efficient.
The only things to be aware of: the front door is a little hard to find! You enter the hotel through what appears to be the restaurant door. After 8 pm, the front desk/reception area is locked. So if you were planning to go back and buy an ice cream treat from the lobby, you can't. If you want to contact management, you should use the phone. There is a small place to sit and watch TV outside of the reception area. The hotel has 2 lavuus that it will rent - you could consider this if you are a larger group. Also, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so after dinner activities are restricted to walks up the road along the river. If you enjoy an evening constitutional, it is a lovely neighborhood to walk in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJaneChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer 101 bis 105 (? 110 ? ) unbeding vermeiden !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hermann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Lenno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joemue68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank René M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Welcome Inn Hotel Lyngskroa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Inn Hotel Lyngskroa

Address: E6, Oteren 9046, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Storfjord Municipality > Oteren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oteren
Price Range: £163 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Welcome Inn Hotel Lyngskroa 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Welcome Inn Hotel Lyngskroa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing