We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING”
Review of De Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Villa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dongen
Parkland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Difficult to get the luggage up the entrance stairs. Elevator old & very slow. Started with Room 10:small & cramped. Switched to 15-not much better. No AC-room hot & stuffy. Beds very small. 2nd night-guests noisy in hallway woke me up @ 1 am--absolutely no sound proofing. No key for my room safe. The cupboard had not been dusted in weeks .Lighting in bathroom very poor-difficult to shave. Shower tiny--kept bumping the glass doors. No Kleenex? Breakfast sparse. Was nice to try-won't be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    27
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
26
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Culemborg
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Building with character and a very nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. Pleasant bar/restaurant area and breakfast is good. Lovely rooms, but unfortunately we didn't sleep well, because the bed was really small (130 cm). Pity.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongxiang, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I have recently traveled to this beautiful hotel in the South of the Netherlands. My arrival was very pleasant, and the people were very friendly. Room was very spacious and clean! The food in the attached restaurant was also very good and fresh!

Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhengxiao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My company had given me a Voucher for an overnight stay and a 4 course dinner. We could choose from different hotels but we chose this one because we loved the building. We had a great stay. Dinner was included in the package and my expectations were not very high for an included 4 course meal. But we were blown away by the lovely food, very well presented, original and tasteful! The staff was very attentive. The room itself was lovely, too. We stayed in room 11 at the front of the hotel, it has the original beams showing which was a plus. The bathroom was spacious and clean. Breakfast was not very extensive if you were expecting a full English breakfast. But it did have bread rolls, croissants, eggs, juice, fruits, cereal and some local breads which was more than enough for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeprechaunConnemara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel was wonderful. I would highly recommend it! It was our first night in the Netherlands coming up from Belgian, and it was just perfect. The check in was speedy and friendly, the room was larger and much more airy and cleaner than we had been expecting. It had great wifi, flat screen tv, large bathroom complete with toiletries supplied, we even had a nice balcony looking out onto the nearby park. We took the breakfast in the morning which was included and although simple it was lovely. We dined in the restaurant for breakfast with views out onto the park, and they even catered for my partner who requires Gluten Free bread (many hotels do not offer this!) and so we were both very impressed. I could jog in the morning in the nearby park next door, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nothing more than we could need or want! Definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnikadeBruijne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A perfect hotel for couples. Good for a rest spot if you're on a bicycle tour. Staff was very friendly. Rooms very clean. Modern bathroom with rain shower. Usual hotel noises! Breakfast was included, a good continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floor! Because the floors are wooden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiponclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great location for an overnight in Brabant. 10 minutes from the Efteling; although not really a family hotel.
The dinner was absolutely delicious, and the breakfast was simple, but good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongen
NH Waalwijk
#1 of 2 in Waalwijk
690 reviews
Efteling Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
554 reviews
Hotel Waalwijk
#2 of 2 in Waalwijk
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Tilburg
#4 of 8 in Tilburg
296 reviews
Centrum
Mercure Hotel Tilburg Centrum
Hotel De Kroon
#2 of 3 in Kaatsheuvel
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Villa

Property: De Villa
Address: Hoge Ham 124, 5104 JK Dongen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Dongen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dongen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing