We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting motel, the worst establishment we have ever visited”
Review of Hotel Centre Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Centre Plage
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We arrived with our two year old and our hearts sank. After making our way up lots of unlit, windy stairs, we arrived at our room which was grotty and disgusting. It looked dirty and depressing. A bed we had requested for our little girl was folded in the hallway, we didn't believe we could manage to squeeze it into the room and frankly we didn't want to place our 2 year old in either the bed or the room. We were concerned that if there was a fire we would never make it out. The reception is only manned part-time and although the receptionist was pleasant, he didn't help and we ended up losing our substantial deposit and leaving without checking in. The area around the hotel was also uninviting and we felt ill at ease, with homeless people sitting right outside the door to the "hotel" (motel would be a more appropriate description in our view) drinking etc and dangerous looking dogs guarding the carpark just opposite the entrance. It was early evening and we didn't know what we were going to do but we made our way to the beach to get our bearings and google alternative places to stay, using our i-phone (worth its weight in gold, it saved our holiday!) The beach, if you are thinking of staying in the area, is fairly pleasant but not great, and the sand is full of stones and not suitable for building sand castles. We found a place to stay nearby which was brilliant, a sight for sore eyes, the Hotel du Golf. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was clean and tastefully decorated with a lovely clean bathroom. There was plenty of room for a child's bed and a lovely view of the sea. We stayed for the night, then travelled along to Aigue Mortes which was just beautiful. Nearby are the beaches St Marie de la Mer and Grau du Roi. Everything worked out in the end, if we hadn't booked such a dreadful grotty place we wouldn't have discovered the beautiful region Aigue Mortes with its perfect beaches and the gorgeous hotel we stayed in for the rest of the week, the Villa Mazarin.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peppa008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear You ! we are sorry to learn so late that your trip was so chockingly disapointing, Sorry as well to read that you forgot to notify the reason you gave us not to accept your room , beiing that you were afraid that your kid, in his desire to escape you ,might fall in bettween the balcony bars ( Yes ,we do remember you well !) wich is safety approved.
As for the rest of your litanie : there is a lift to go upstairs , the staircase is well-lighted and is inside (no wind there!) ,front desk is manned part-time in low season but accessible at all time by phone ;
As for loosing your deposit we are , by contract with the reservation' centrals , to charge customers for any cancellation not made throught their services 3 days prior to the arrival .
The area around the hôtel was redesigned by the municipality at a cost of severall hundred thousand euros in 2009 : sorry that you didn't find it to your ( most difficult) taste .
As for homeless people they are not dangerous predators but simple poor people , with a right to the sun and to the company of their dog that provide them with a sense of humanity that you would'nt share with them ...
and no need to go to the beach to get a phone signal : this is Argelés/Mer , not a lost island in the south pacific .
glad that you didn't complain that the sun was hot or the sea humid ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Salle d’eau pas très grande.Un petit rafraîchissement pour l’ensemble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 721edithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shebka81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEBUG, Propriétaire at Hotel Centre Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sylvie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Réserver tout simplement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mnip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEBUG, Propriétaire at Hotel Centre Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dany71420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEBUG, Propriétaire at Hotel Centre Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 24Valerie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEBUG, Propriétaire at Hotel Centre Plage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-sur-Mer
1.9 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#6 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
268 reviews
2 mi away
Auberge du Roua
Auberge du Roua
#4 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#3 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Logis Hotel Les Charmettes
Logis Hotel Les Charmettes
#16 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
105 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Collioure Port Vendres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centre Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centre Plage

Address: 4 allee des Palmiers, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range: £46 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Centre Plage 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Centre Plage is ideally located, only 50 meters away from the beach and the promenade.All our rooms have a balcony with table and chairs. They are equipped with air-conditioning and heating, mini-bar (empty), safe deposit box, LCD television, shower or bath with toilets, and unlimited free wifi.The breakfast is served as a buffet all you can eat, you will enjoy organic, fair-trade and local products (croissants, jam, orange juice, yogurt, ham...) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Centre Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing