We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you expect for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Les Demeures de la Massane
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We have just stayed for 2 weeks in a 2 bed house that sleeps 4-6 persons. The price for our stay was reasonable and reflects the facilities on offer. Compared to other more established campsites there is no onsite shop but the hypermarket is a short drive away for main shopping and a 2 minute walk away there is a shop that is handy for essentials along with a fast food van if you want something quick. The bonus to not having a shop is that local producers come into the complex to sell bread croissants etc in the morning and crepes midday and different foods in the evening such as Vietnamese ,paella or other more regional dishes. The town/ village is a short bike away or you can drive or catch the train bus which is very reasonable and this takes you into the village port or plage and means you can drink and not drive.
The houses are kitted out well with a dishwasher and kitchenette and built in wardrobes to the bedrooms. The one big downside is lack of air con which for us brits may prove difficult when acclimatising to the 30⊙ heat. We had a fan but these are purchased at you expense in the hypermarket! The pool is ok, does what it says on the tin, if you want slides and rapids go to aqualand for a day as its only 15 mins by car. There needs to be more sun loungers and parasols is my only criticism of this area. The site is quite compact and a little noisier than I would have expected at night so not the best if you want total silence but nothing that kept me up into the small hours. Reception opens twice a day with a long lunch so be prepared to wait if you arrive out of their normal hours.the site is gated and secure with parking to the front.there is some limited night activities which we did not partake in such as a kids disco and karaoke.....don't worry it doesn't go on for long.there are only 2 washing machines at 5 euro a pop so best to make sure you have a full load!
The site is very french with a few dutch and hardly any brits which was to our liking as I'm not a brit abroad kind of girl.
Argeles was extremely busy this year (we have been numerous times) however mid august you would expect it to be as we are in peak season. The weather was mainly hot and dry but the odd bad day we just went out and about to Carcassonne and coullier etc.
Overall a pleasant stay and worth the money compared to shelling out £'s on other sites as we have in the past.
We will be booking again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plummers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

A new complex of apartments surrounding a reasonably pleasant pool.
The positives are that it is fairly clean, the staff are polite and mostly helpful. There is a 'Boulanger' who has a small stall of pastries and baguettes every morning. There were few English people so you do get the opportunity to feel like you are in France, although most of the staff seemed to speak some English, so it is ok if you French is limited too. It is possible to walk to Argeles town which is pretty (and preferable to trying to park) and also the beach but this may be too far for some people in the heat and with small children, although it would have been nice to have had a basic plan of the surrounding area to help you find your way around. There are miles of lovely beaches about 2km away and although busy there is plenty of space if you are prepared to go a little further up the coast. There is a little tourist bus which runs regularly but we couldn't understand the timetable or where it stopped so we gave that one a miss (to be fair I'm sure the staff would have helped us with that if we had asked).
The negatives are as follows.
Because it is new there are not many mature trees which makes escaping the heat difficult especially when there is no air conditioning in the apartment (bizarrely there were heaters in every room) and only 4 parasols around the pool (when we were there). We had a very small apartment advertised as for 4-6 people. There were 5 of us...2 adults and 3 teenage children. It was a bit of a squeeze to say the least! We were given an inventory to check when we arrived. Of the very limited equipment available, there were several things missing which were not replaced during our stay although they did ask if we needed anything desperately. It was incredibly hot in the apartment which was on the top floor. We had to buy a fan at 'Intermarche' and then also borrowed one from a friend. Both fans had to be on constantly during the night for us to get any sleep. The heat problems were in addition to the noise problems from rowdy children running round up until 4 in the morning at times. In addition, we were overlooking the pool and were able to watch the ridiculous routine of people grabbing the sun loungers every morning. The pool opened at nine and a stream of (mostly) the same people put there towels on loungers and then (mostly) left, sometimes for hours. There were then no loungers and definitely no parasols and very little shade fro others arriving later in the morning. One particular woman did this every day, taking 3 or 4 loungers with absolutely no regard for the needs of others staying at the complex. There seemed to be no monitoring of this and we were tempted to run out and remove the towels on several occasions. The fitness room had several pieces of equipment out of action. We didn't try the sauna. There was some entertainment which didn't go on for too long. We were unclear as to when or if the bar was ever open. There was no shop even for basics, so it would be very difficult if you didn't have a car. Our room overlooked the pool which was ok and had a lovely view of the hills, but be warned there are several rooms which overlook the car park. I'm not sure that would be my favourite location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent a very enjoyable week at this new residence operated by the Village Center Group. Some building work still been carried out but this did not disturb our stay. First class residence,very comfortable in a area which has alot of camping sites this offered a touch of class.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank special_one006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank martafu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les logements près de la piscine sont à privilégier
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank You C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction-Vacanceole, Responsable relations clients at Residence Les Demeures de la Massane, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jean-luc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josep Joaquim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-sur-Mer
1.5 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#7 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#6 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Les Demeures Torrellanes
1.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Plage
Hotel Centre Plage
#8 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Nid
Hotel Le Nid
#12 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Les Demeures de la Massane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Les Demeures de la Massane

Address: 5 impasse Edmond Brazes | Chemin de Neguebous, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range: £48 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Les Demeures de la Massane 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Les Demeures de la Massane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing