We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canvas Camping Le Soleil Sep 2013”
Review of Camping Le Soleil

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Le Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Canvas Camping Le Soleil Sep 2013”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our 3rd visit and we try to go at the end of the season. On this occasion 10-17 September. The risk we take with the weather outweighs the advantages and, apart from an overnight storm and some cloud at times during the day, we swam and sunbathed 5/6 days on the beautiful beach. At this time of year, it's peaceful - unoccupied pitches, shower blocks always clean and not crowded, shop perfectly adequate & restaurant food good. We did have a hire car which was great for a big food shop at Intermarche. There was some noise only on the Friday night. We had a really great holiday and we found all the staff on site friendly & helpful. A la prochaine fois!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tannercatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with Canvas and us.
With a bit of luck September can be the best month of the year here.
Best regards and see you soon.
Jacques Miquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    329
    97
    29
    12
See reviews for
505
118
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at Camping Le Soleil for the last 2 weeks in August, after having driven down from Calais over 2 days. (The countryside from Clemont Ferrand downwards is stunning). We booked through Eurocamp who we have always found to be excellent. The tent we had was super and the beds extremely comfortable for a tent. The site was exceptionally busy the first week (which you have to expect in high season), and the tents and caravans are placed very closely to each other. The tent pitch we had, had no grass left on it at all but again, it was towards the end of season.
The beach is nice but not suitable for young children because of the deep shelf which means you are in past your waist after a couple of steps, but we found a wonderful little beach further along the coast where we could take the children snorkelling and that was wonderful.

The pool complex at Le Soleil is fabulous and both of my children had hours of fun in the pool and on the slides. The pool is very busy and finding a lounger could be tricky some days but if everyone played fair and vacated their lounger by moving their belongings whilst they went for a 2 hour lunch it would be a lot better!!

The Wi-Fi signal wasn't great but as I don't feel that constantly being online plays an important part of my family holiday, it was not an issue.

Luna Park - what can I say? It is noisy (especially if you are in a tent!) until approx 2am every night and it did wake me up every night. However my husband and kids slept right through - I guess being a Mum means I wake up easier than everybody else!

The on site shop was great, and the take-away was fab with the staff being very friendly. Argeles-sur-Mer was really busy the first week so parking could be a bit of an issue but we really enjoyed our evenings we went there and had some great meals (especially down by the Marina). The kids also loved the Land Train which runs really frequently, and which some visitors use as a bus service to and from the campsite.

It is in a beautiful area at the foothills of the Pyrenees and we would definately return to the area in the future.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank NicR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Client,
We thank you for your positive comment on our camping.
We are sure your message will help others or futures clients.
Best regards and we hope to see you back on the site soon.
Jacques Miquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Two families of four stayed here for two weeks in late August. Most of the party flew to Perpignan and I drove down so we had the car – which proved very useful as the site is a bit removed from the centre of things. We booked with Eurocamp and this was one of the best sites we have visited. It's a fabulous place for families with tons to do. A beach within strolling distance is such a bonus, and the on-site pools are excellent. The shop was more expensive than the local Hypermarket but that's understandable. We loved the restaurant and thought the takeaway menu was good. A couple of steaks and a bottle of Perdrix and we were happy bunnies on our anniversary night. Everyone has passable English so we were made to feel welcome and well-served. The town itself is nothing much more than a tourist spot that hangs around some amazing beaches. It's a 40 minute walk along the seafront so take bikes if you can. Local bike hire is easy but generally speaking Le Soleil is tucked along the northern beach and is quite separate from the centre. Our boys went go-karting and played table tennis all day long, in between dipping in the pools. The nearby Luna Fairground seems to divide opinions – we heard it in the background, on the wind, but not enough to keep us awake. Others seemed to get infuriated – if depends on what you expect on a large campsite in high season. The camping organisations seem to squeeze everyone in and we were only a metre away from caravans all around, so a quiet private breakfast in the decking wasn't easy. Weather was great, everyone friendly, food good. If we wanted a sunny, seaside holiday on a well-maintained and well-run parc, we would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NickWhite677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are really glad you had a good stay with Eurocamp and us.
We will keep working on hedges and separation to give our client more privacy.
Best regards.
Jacques Miquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We love Camping le Soleil!


My husband came here, too many years to remember ago, as a teenager with his parents and we have now had 2 family holidays here 2012 and 2013 (we have an 8 year old son). We enjoyed it so much in 2012 this year (2013) friends came with us (with a 5 yr old).

The camping pitches are fantastic, good size and only seconds walk from the shower block which are always clean. You have to be mindful of busy times, as this year (unlike last), I did have to odd chilly shower. And the site is right on the beach (take care if you like your bathers clothed as the section left as you look at the sea is for naturists---- interesting questions from small children!)

The beach shelves quickly so not great for those whose children who need a little extra supervision.


The pitches we have stayed on have had good shade (but not all), and have room for our Maritsa 700 (8m * 5m), parking the car and a seating area.

The pool is great for all. A large deep pool, Jacuzzi area (over 18's) and with the new for 2013 slides, great for kids. (Only gripe, could do with a few extra sun beds in peak season as had to sit on the floor a few times).


The new bar area is reasonably priced for wine, beer a little expensive but it is next to the children's play area so nice for grown ups to relax whilst the kids play. It would be nice to have ice lollies in addition to ice cream but that is just me, I don't do ice cream- ... the kids were happy!

We have not used the on site kids club so can't comment on that, ours just wanted to swim all day.

The takeaway is really good value, pretty quick service and the Moules were amazing. However, the restaurant service can be a bit hit and miss. Hey, we were on holiday so no rush, but if you, are a takeaway might be better,

The new Speedo rule annoyed Hubbie at first (as this was the reason we had discounted other campsites in the area- when we booked Speedo rule did not apply), but he was comfortable once he realised everyone else was in the same situation!

Yes, Luna park can be a bit noisy , probably if you are in a mobile home as these appear nearer, but the camping pitches we have had, it has not been a problem, a little noise but nothing that stopped us sleeping.

Last year before we booked we emailed in advanced as we wanted pitches close together and the staff were really helpful and gave us available pitch numbers to choose from.

WE LOVE THIS SITE.

Having visited several sites this year whilst we were there (in France and Spain), it is looking very much like we will return to Camping Le Soleil, only difference is next year instead of 2 weeks we are considering 3!

Argeles is a bit like Blackpool but in France but the campsite is out of town with lots of good size Supermarkets nearby and a very reasonable price Supermarket on site. We didn't go to Argeles much but there is a 'noddy train' that goes into town throughout the day and I think the night. (Traffic through Argeles town can be bad so try to by pass through Elne or Taxo of you can)


PS Small boy wants to add this comment 'This year there were a lot most English children there to play with' Mummy comment: Not that last year it was a problem ---PLAY--- is an international language.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duckers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comment.
You are giving a very fair description of our camping.
We will be pleased to welcome you again next year.
Best regards.
Jacques Miquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have stayed at this site independently five times, over the last six years. That is testament to the great facilities it has to offer. So from a camping perspective I can say that all of the Showers, Toilets and Dish Washing areas are cleaned virtually all day and are lovely and clean.
The pool area is great, with new slides this year - Please note that this year the rules have changed and "Speedo" style trunks/briefs are the only permitted male attire. This wasn't conveyed to us prior to arrival so we had an additional expense that could have been avoided having two males in the family. An hour after arriving, having spent two days driving through France, back in the car to buy trunks as our 10 year old was asked to leave the pool!
The Bar at the Pool has now been closed, so no facilities pool side. However, there is a new bar area just by the Play Park and Wi-Fi. The bar is great, I just wish it opened in the evening. We would have loved to spent a few hours here, watching the kids play or kick a ball about.
Wi-Fi is still virtually non existent. It seems to work fine for our European neighbours, but the Brits always struggle to get any sort of reception.
The Tabac still serves great coffee and the laundrette has nice new machines.
The Beach Bar at the other end of the site is great - the kids loved playing pool. Entertainment here is fine if you speak French, if not then you might want to walk on the beach or make your own entertainment!
Foam Party, great fun again, however I feel that there needs to a few more staff around. Our children mixed with older late teens/early twenties and grown ups too, which is fine but there isn't any security to prevent glass being taken into the area. The bar staff only issue plastic glasses on this evening, but don't police the venue. Needless to say, glass bottles and foam don't mix. We were lucky we only had a slashed foot in our family, but there was a lot of blood coming from others and several bandaged feet at the pool and beach the next day!
The takeaway is a great facility, the attached restaurant serves the same food too so it's perfect. Being a long term guest I would like to see the menu's revived as it has offered the same dishes, and a variety of Plat Du Jours, for the last six years.
The shop still offers a wide range of fresh bakery goods, food and drink at reasonable prices. It also stocks the things you might have forgotten and camping gaz, so it still gets top marks from us.
Overall, this site is one of the best and I would recommend to all. It's not a quiet site, but it is aimed at families and there are all age groups and nationalities here.
It has everything you could need, and if you don't want to leave the site whilst there you don't have to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandClareSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment.
It was a real pleasure to read you.
Your fidelity encourages us to keep working to make the site better.
We would like to comment on the few remarks you made.
As you can read in our others answers, Wifi connection is not good and as soon as we will get an high speed offer it should get a lot better. For now, we do as goos as we can with a poor result.
We will increase vigilance around our foam parties if glasses bottles are brought in as they do not effectively mix well with foam parties.
We hope to see you again next summer.
Best regards!
Jacques Miquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I'll keep this short....

This is our second time here so it goes without saying the place is lovely and i would go again.

However the one main gripe is the Luna park, we was sited on the other side of the camp next to the beach but the Luna park was still loud, sitting outside listening to screaming on the park isnt ideal, the noise carries on till roughly 12 - 12.30am, you do get used to it and i would say dont let this put you off because it is lovely and i would go back tomorrow.

one small thing, they sell Li Lows in the shop but they dont allow them in the pool?? as we found out after buying 2 of them(money wasted) and getting told not allowed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennyboy856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for giving your opinion about Camping Le Soleil!
We are really happy you had again a good time with us!
We will check the problem you mention with the shop.
Best regards.
Jacques Miquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our family of four stayed here for two weeks mid August. We booked with Eurocamp and our mobile was a few minutes walk from shop one way and pool the other.This is our 10th holiday on a European camp site and this was one of the best. Yes lunar park was noisy but we never had a problem sleeping or enjoying sitting out in the evening. The shop was more expensive but great for bakery products . We liked the restaurant and thought the takeaway menu was good. The pool was excellent especially the adult only area! There were different areas of the pool complex for all including slides. My two children aged 13 and 15 loved the Base club so a big thanks to Laurie. Not only did they enjoy the organised activities but socialised with the other children outside these times which was great for all of us.
Argeles itself is not bad. The beaches are lovely as is the view of the Pyrenees . The boulevard is a lovely walk.The centre of the town is a bit seasidey and avoid Casablanca restaurant which served up vegetable couscous which I assumed was a vegetarian dish with lamb juice, carrots and celery! Very disappointing .
Head to the port and there are some lovely restaurants and bars .
Argeles is a great place for cycling and walking thanks to all the cycle paths.
We had fab weather and I am sure this was the icing on the cake of our holiday but we really do feel this was an excellent camp site.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boodaisyele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquesMIquel, Propriétaire at Camping Le Soleil, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your very positive feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed both Camping Le Soleil and Argelès sur mer.
We hope to see you again on site!
Best regards
Jacques Miquel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
517 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#5 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
574 reviews
3.7 mi away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 54 in Argeles-sur-Mer
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
#12 of 54 in Argeles-sur-Mer
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camping Del Mar
Camping Del Mar
#11 of 54 in Argeles-sur-Mer
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
#16 of 54 in Argeles-sur-Mer
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Soleil

Property: Camping Le Soleil
Address: route du Littoral | 66702, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Le Soleil 5*
Number of rooms: 850
Also Known As:
Camping Le Soleil Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing