We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The discerning travellers Auberge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Roua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Roua
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The discerning travellers Auberge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Original translation suggests Auberge signifies an inn. This is far and away beyond that. Difficult to find it is and you must research the best way to reach the Auberge, thoroughly , believe me it is well worth the effort.
Set in delightful grounds you can enjoy meals around the pool, weather permitting and there are also areas where you can shut yourself away, if that is what you need. The rooms are very functional and designed to a high standard and the hotel, as that is what this establishment is, run excellently by a professional, knowledgeable, friendly couple who will help wherever they can.
The restaurant is class, providing quality dishes excellently prepared. Be prepared sometimes to wait perhaps a little longer than normal over dinner. Perhaps the English eat too quickly anyway !
This place is difficult to fault, providing everything any experienced traveller would require and introducing less experienced ones to quality in all areas. A delightful find and very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Comfort rooms are high standard, roomy and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrubber077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much !
Dear clients, it is a real pleasure to read your appraisal, a delight that you had a good time with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again,
Kindest regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    87
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
182
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel as most hotels in Collioures were fully booked. Being located on the outskirts of Argeles sur mer is an asset. Access to the hotel might be a little difficult at first but a GPS will help. You definitely need a car. We stayed for 2 nights.

The hotel is a beautiful mas, with grounds well kept, a beautiful swimming pool and for us a beautiful suite. The room was spacious with a separate sitting area, spotlessly clean and very Scandinavian in its interior design. I seem to remember that the owner is Norwegian.

We had dinner only once and it was excellent. Breakfast was good with the added bonus of being taken outside by the poolside.
Lady who oversaw the breakfast was very helpful and friendly.

We enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimi769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and your appreciation.
We hope to see you again, maybe longer ! ;) The Auberge is nicely located to discover the Roussillon.
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for a night back in August last and I've been meaning to put a review up for quite some time as it was a memorable break. The hotel is spectacular, pool, scenery, rooms, location, service, food, ambience, staff all wonderful - its definitely a really special place, honestly I can't praise it enough to be honest. However, we had a horrible experience due to wasp infestation during our meals, we had very uncomfortable experiences a table during our dinner and breakfast at the hotel. It really was very difficult with very little being done by staff to address the situation, I would go so far as to say it was a serious health and safety matter that needed action but unfortunately none was forthcoming. I loved the place and will stay there again in a heartbeat but I would need to be guaranteed that the wasp issue had been addressed comprehensively.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariecorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you for your visit. We were very well aware of the wasp issue during the summer 2013. It was a rare wasp year for everybody, and being located in the countryside didn’t help. We strived to remediate as much as possible, and we are very sorry that you had the impression that we didn’t care. We addressed the issue within the boundaries of our capabilities, and really hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Magalie Tonjum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked in for 5 nights following a long journey though France.

Difficult to find as its on the wrong side of the tracks from Centre Ville, but worth persevering; even after 5 days, we failed to find a simple route from the town.

Located close to Route Nationale in rural surroundings we were unsure whether this is a hotel with a fine dining restaurant or a fine dining restaurant with rooms to stay. There was no receptionist when we arrived around 6.30, just a phone asking us to dial for attention. Our room though was super; lovely beds, a nice bathroom and very clean.

We went for a meal by the pool. After the long drive, we were tired and hungry. We ordered drinks which came fairly quickly: we ordered food which didn't. After 50 minutes waiting for the starter, we cancelled. Asked for the Manager who was in no way apologetic and said that that was the way it was - two and half hours for a meal was normal; fair enough - we went to bed.

Having said that we enjoyed our stay there very much. The staff were lovely, the weather was great, there's loads to see - Collioure is well worth a visit and the beaches are great - though you might want to avoid the one down a track by the Tech river a couple of miles north of Argeles - unless you are a naturist! They aslo had swallows nesting in the outside porch - lots of them - they leave in October apparently.

Well worth a stay and the meal on our last night was splendid and finished in under an hour and a half - progress!

David and Ann

Room Tip: You might want a room away from the route nationale, though it's not really a nuisance and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear David and Ann,
We are very happy that after a "bumpy" start, you finally had a good time with us. We truly hope that all our guests enjoy the Auberge as much as we do.
Best regards,
Magalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've been terribly disappointed with the food at our hotel. The servings were so small, that we were leaving the table still hungry. We had booked half board for 42€ per day and were served a small main course and an average size dessert for that. They didn't even bother with a starter and the food was very salty. Having stayed at the same place 11 years ago for our honeymoon, I couldn't have been more disappointed. Obviously the hotel was only interested in serving the guest decent food and servings if you chose to eat "à la carte". Had we known that, we wouldn't have booked the stay with them at all, since the hotel itself is quite nice, but not worth the price they charge you per night, being only 3 stars with a tiny, unheated pool. Their strong point used to be the restaurant - well, it isn't anymore. The owner at the reception didn't want to even have the disaster mentioned anymore and shows a smile but clearly no respect for her customers, unless they are ready to spend a fortune on food and wine in the restaurant. Forget what Guide Michelin says. If the food critics ever have a half board meal and service there, they won't bother to go back. And neither will we.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cantalbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Oh dear, I suggest setting the records straight on this : the €43 half-board option comprises breakfast + dinner. You were served lobster, a highly popular and expensive à la carte dish. The restaurant was full and some wait may thus occur, although the beautiful surroundings should still invite for a relaxing evening. But frankly what a complete and utter nonsense, almost a bit sad really !
Regards,
Magalie and Petter Tonjum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was delighted to be brought to Auberge du Roua for my birthday, for a meal. It was a real treat sampling good quality french food in a beautiful setting. We sat around the pool on the patio with the amazing farm house as our backdrop, whilst looking out towards the Pyrenees. We all ordered different dishes so we could try a variety of foods such as scollops, calamari, exquisite sauces and not forgetting the ranch burger for the children (NOT your average burger). If you want good quality, excellent service, whilst relaxing in beautiful surroundings then make a visit to Auberge du Roua. The meal was fairly priced for the food we received.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
What a pleasure to read from you ! We are more than happy that you had a good time with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again,
Best regards,
Magalie Tonjum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent two nights here but would have booked a room for longer if we had known how much we'd enjoy our stay. The auberge is just outside Argelès-sur-Mer and a ten minute drive from Argelès beach, close to all the attractions but removed enough to be quiet and peaceful. After mornings at the beach, we spent our afternoons lounging in the swimming pool and dozing under the palm trees. Dinner is served on the outdoor patio, where you can watch the sunset while enjoying wine from local vineyards and top notch cuisine (including delicious seafood). An experience we definitely hope to repeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babel2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magalie T, Propriétaire at Auberge du Roua, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you very much ! It is a real pleasure to read from you.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, for a longer stay then !
Kindest regards,
Magalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.0 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#7 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Centre Plage
Hotel Centre Plage
#9 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#6 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Roua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Roua

Property: Auberge du Roua
Address: 46 Chemin du Roua, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Roua 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge du Roua - an authentic catalane mansion from the 17th century entirely refurbished into a four stars hotel with 17 rooms and suites - welcomes you to the sunny climate of the Mediterranean.Situated outside the town of Argeles sur Mer, towards the vineyards and beautiful mountains of Les Alberes, l'Auberge du Roua provides a unique setting of contemporary design and comfort, including modern amenities of free wifi and high speed internet, coupled with a truly Mediterranean-flavoured cuisine and exceptional local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Roua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Roua Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing