We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Absolute Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
RoussillonFarmhouse - Private Garden & Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
RoussillonFarmhouse - Private Garden & Pool
Private Swimming Pool (11m x 7m) Relax in private garden...!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
RoussillonFarmhouse - Private Garden & Pool
Private Swimming Pool (11m x 7m)
Relax in private garden...!
Table Tennis on astroturf - great fun..!
Al fresco dining on terrace overlooking garden and pool
Relax on terrace overlooking garden and pool
Open Lounge / dining and kitchen
Designer kitchen and Island
Kitchen - Rangemaster oven
Master Bedroom ensuite #1
Double / Triple Bedroom
Master Bedroom ensuite #3
Mountain views to south
Port d'Argeles - bars, cafes, restaurants, shops and boat trips
Marina at Argeles
Promenade at Argeles Sur Mer - blue skies in January..!
Collioure - picturesque fishing village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Argeles-sur-Mer, Pyrenees-Orientales, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
John A
Mahopac, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Roussillon Farmhouse to find the most magnificent set of ancient stone farm buildings impeccably modernized. Entering the Farmhouse through a stone arched entrance we went into a well appointed kitchen and dining area. From the dining area, large patio doors lead onto a balcony with views of the Mediterranean and the nearby Pyrenees. Breathtaking!

RoussillonFarmhouse is well furnished and comfortable throughout and Cottage Des Alberes was equally well appointed. Our private pool was a highlight with everyone, especially after a day of exploring the beautiful countryside and coastal region. As the vacation drew near to an end, no one wanted to leave such a wonderful place we called our "home" for six short weeks.

We cannot say enough about the properties; Paul & Annette’s attention to detail and to our comfort. It was a fantastic vacation in a very beautiful region of France. We hope to be back again one day and can certainly recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Hi John - its been a pleasure hosting you and your family and friends and we were really pleased that our properties satisfied the varying age range and personal preferences of everyone. Your feedback about our properties and customer service is appreciated - it's our objective to ensure that all of our guests thoroughly enjoy their time with us and it's nice to know that we got it right for you all. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, when you can expect at least the same again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buus2015
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent for large family holiday”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic stay at the this house which is perfect for a larger group. The owners and the local representative were responsive and helpful and the house very clean on arrival. We made full use of all amenities, including pool, lawn and table tennis. Good choice of local restaurants. Would strongly recommend Cote Saisons in the nearest village as well as La Barvatelle in Argeles-sur-Mer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Offered privacy, flexible accommodation
Liked least: Parking on the property needed coordination with other properties and was at times limited
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Hi - thank you for your review which we were pleased to receive. We are glad that you were able to celebrate your special occasion with your extended family at our property and make full use of all the facilities. We echo your opinion that Cote Saisons in the next village of Laroque des Alberes is a great restaurant choice, in addition to the 3 we have within walking distance in our village of Villelongue dels Monts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison L
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We rented the Mas for a week with family and had a lovely time, we could have stayed for another week. The accommodation is great and the separate apartment for grandparents was perfect, there was everything you could need.

Having the pool to ourselves was great - perfect for the kids.

Any queries we had were answered by Paul & Annette.

It was a pity that the bakery had recently closed down, this meant that there were no shops in the village so we had to take the car wherever we went.

We would recommend visiting Collioure, a very pretty village on the coast. You have to get there early whether it is market day or not as it is really busy.

We would recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review and glad to hear that as a 3-generation family you all enjoyed the property, its facilities and the surrounding area. It was a pity that the village shop / boulangerie was closed for a while in August and September, although bread and croissants were available next door at the bar during this time. We are pleased to say that this was only temporary and the shop / boulangerie is now open again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N
Bebington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A brilliant pkace to stay, a great location, a great time!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

First of all, a great place to stay, the cottages that my family stayed in were well equipped, well maintained, with all of the facilities required to have a relaxing and fun time.

I rented the two cottages Canigou & Des Alberes for my extended family. The party consisted of 8 people, ages from 3 years to 76 years. All family members loved the cottages and the location.

The service provided:

• ‘It does what it says on the pack’, the advert and information on the web site for the cottages is absolutely precise and is not misleading. I got what I expected.
• The whole experience from initial enquiry, booking, payments, documentation, stay, return home, and deposit return has been completely professional.
• The contact person in France, is English and French speaking, and very helpful. This gives confidence as there is help to hand if something does go wrong, although nothing did go wrong.
• The documentation and information provided by the owners is best in class.

The location:

• Cottages are located in a Small village at the base of the mountain range, quiet, private and tranquil, great views.
• Argeles North beach, Argeles-Sur-Mer village, Saint Cyprien fishing village and the Port of Collioure are all within a 25 minute drive.
• Collioure is a brilliant place to visit, great restaurants, brilliant fortress built on the seaside cliffs. Best to take the boat to Collioure from Argeles, great experience.
• Beaches at Argeles are brilliant, specifically North Plage.
• Supermarket is located in the next village, 5 minutes drive, provides a great range of fish, meats and other fresh food to help ensure great barbeque evening’s around the pool.

The experience:

• Most days spent at the beautiful beaches, evening’s around the pool barbequing. Young twins loved this, swimming in the sea by day, pool in the evening. Sun was in the right places, at the right times from 09:00 to 22:00 hours.
• The location accommodates all of the family requirements, great beaches, great places to visit (castles, fishing ports), and great food (both in terms of home cooking and restaurants).
• I was initially nervous about the location with respect to distance from the beaches, but in the end I found it to be a perfect to stay as all main attractions were within 20-25 minutes drive.
• The cottages are really lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean, enough shower/bath rooms so you do not get under each other’s feet, pool is marvellous, and the seating areas around the pool well placed with sufficient equipment for all.
• A great part of the world for a holiday, cottages good for all age groups.

Overall, we all loved it. I will most likely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall service mentality of the owners and attention to detail.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you for your very comprehensive and detailed account of your family holiday and of the accommodation at our two adjacent cottages, Des Alberes & Canigou. It was pleasing to note that you found our properties were a great place to stay and that the accommodation was suitable for your age group of 3 to 76 years, including the use of the pool in the evening. We hope to be able to accommodate you again at some stage for another relaxing and fun time in our quiet village, close to the family orientated beaches at Argeles Sur Mer and Collioure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis C
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal accommodation in a most interesting region”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

All dealings with the owners, from initial enquiry to post-holiday matters were handled most professionally, promptly and to our complete satisfaction. The property itself proved ideal for our travelling group of six people, providing very comfortable and roomy accommodation. Our expectations were fully met.
Most of time was spent travelling in the region rather than around the property itself and from that point of view the property was a perfect base. Daily trips enabled us to travel to Carcassonne and the Cathar castles in the north to Figures (Dali Museum) and Roses in Northern Spain to the South. We loved shorter trips to Collioure and Banyuls Sur Mer on the coast and to Ceret for the market and modern art museum. Perpignan was an easy trip. We especially enjoyed walking the Gorge de la Fou and visiting the "Orgues" (Organ Pipes) near Ille sur Tet. The medieval town of Villefrance de Conflient and the impressive Abbeye St Martin were accessible on another day trip. Many other villages and towns were easily accessible for leisurely visits - Laroque and Thuir being standouts.
Overall a most enjoyable holiday in a comfortable, charming property. We have suggested a couple of small practical matters to the owners to provide an even better experience. However, we would have no hesitation in recommending the property or for that matter, returning ourselves.

We dined at some excellent restaurants. La Pierreanne in the local village was a delight, La Gamate in Argeles sur Mer provided an excellent lunch but our favourite was a new restaurant in Le Boulou called La Via Dometia. The service, quality, presentation, ambience and value was outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities, location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and we were pleased to hear that you all had a most enjoyable holiday in our property, Mas D'en Porte, and that it fully met your expectations. You certainly made the most of your time and visited some very interesting and varied places of interest in both France and Spain and came across some restaurants we’ve not have the opportunity to experience ourselves yet. It’s been a pleasure dealing with you too and we hope to be of service on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisE90
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Location good, facilities good, well equipped, owner helpful.
Would recommend the property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you for your positive recommendation and glad to hear that you found our property to be well equipped, and in a good location. We understand that you visited one of the village restaurants, Pierreanne which is just a 5 minute walk and one at the beach resort of Le Racou, near Argeles Sur Mer. We trust that this added to your overall holiday experience and we hope to be able to accommodate you and your family again at some stage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espen J
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Quiet, calm and beautiful”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the Cottage Canigou for almost five months, from early January to late May. Had such a lovely time. The house is an old, beautiful place with wooden floors and a fire oven. Very much how you would imagine a picturesque little place on the French countryside. The surroundings are quiet, the village is calm and the little garden is really the cherry on the cake.

Only thing to watch out for is heating during the winter months. The house is made of stone, rather poorly insulated and probably built to keep the heat out during the summer. Therefore, it can get quite cold inside the house in January-February. Logs for the fire oven are mandatory during this period, so make sure to have room for that extra expense in your budget.

Dealing with Paul and Annette has been an absolute pleasure. They have been very obliging and helpful. The housekeeper Derek deserves some extra credit as well, always nice, very sympathetic and service-minded.

We would definitely recommend this property to a friend, and we would not mind going back there ourselves.

Thank you Paul & Annette!

Espen & Alexandra from Stockholm

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the wonderful old details.
Liked least: The lack of central heating during the winter months.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Hi Espen & Alexandra – thank you for your review having been in Cottage Canigou for 5 months until May, you certainly experienced the winter / spring and early summer months and I’m sure it was pleasant compared to Sweden. As your objective was to be immersed in the typical French village and to learn the language it seems as though you made a number of friends and hopefully you will be able to return at some stage – so look forward once again to accommodating you both. Good luck with your studies.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing