We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping La Sirene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping La Sirene
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have fond memories of visiting Camping La Sirene as a youngster on a family holiday in 1993, and my wife and I made the decision to return this year with our young children, aged 4 and 1.
Having previously visited the Loire, Dordogne and the Languedoc, I would rate this the best of the four holidays. The campsite is excellent - it must be one of the best in France, and having travelled with Canvas holidays, the trip was enhanced even further.
The updated swimming pool complex is exceptional, although the lifeguards seemed to change the rules of the age restrictions of the larger slides on an almost daily basis - a shame as our four year old enjoyed the more grown up slides that he went down accompanied by me. But nevertheless, the pool facilities are stunning and there was plenty of room for everyone (albeit at a slightly quieter time of year) with not much waiting for slides.
We stayed in a three-bed Canvas Select Plus with decking and air conditioning. These are more spacious and better equipped than the Select Plus Sirene options, which look as though they are leased by Canvas from the campsite. They are more modern and better looking, but arguably less practical with no dishwasher, no grill, less space, but they are at ground level, so no steps).
The shop, as at all campsites, was expensive but well-stocked with plenty of freshly baked croissants, baguettes and pain aux raisins every day. There's a Intermarché Hyper in Argeles, just off the main road (the D914) and there's also a McDonalds (for free wifi) and fuel station there (cheapest in the area). Produce is approximately half the price at the Intermarché, so it's worth the petrol to visit there for most shopping.
Facilities wise, the site is excellent with mini golf, bike hire, archery, table tennis, tennis and numerous playgrounds for youngsters, and all free (except the bike hire). Fancy a few holes of mini golf? Just walk up, help yourself to a ball and putter and away you go. Normally these are charged as extras, but not here which is most welcome. Having said that, there was no wifi, which was a mixed blessing. It meant that phones weren't used much during the holiday which was a welcome technological break, but at the same time it was a bit frustrating in this day and age. Plans are afoot to install wifi this summer, but staff were unsure as to when this might become a reality. Wifi at McDonalds is an option but was woefully slow and inconvenient, so we elected to buy a £3 24 hour, 100Mb option from EE on a couple of occasions when we wanted to check emails or investigate options for day trips.
Finally, the area is great to visit. Collioure is one of the prettiest seaside towns in France and the wine is excellent. We also visited Chateau de Castelnou and its village (one of "Les Plus Beaux Villages de France") which is well-worth a trip, and also sells delicious wine.
We had a day trip to Figueres in Spain, which is the birthplace of Salvador Dali, and naturally there's a Dali museum to visit there. We didn't go in as our youngsters would not have enjoyed it and thus we wouldn't have, but one day we'll hopefully take a trip. The queue was sizable mid morning, so an early start is advisable if you want to visit without a long wait, especially considering this was not high season and was on a weekday.
If you're after some good local French wine, Clos St Georges (in Trouillas) is recommended for Côtes du Roussilon, and the Abbe Rous Banyuls is also worth checking out. There are numerous vineyards and road-side tasting options on the way to and from Collioure and Banyuls (the latter of which is akin to a French equivalent of Port, and is sumptuous) which are worth checking out, although our favourite Collioure was "Les Tines", purchased in the town itself.
Overall, a superb holiday, and we plan to return in years to come.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank muldered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    387
    168
    65
    51
See reviews for
909
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in la Sirene for two weeks in June with our 5 year old. We stayed in the Bugalow type 2 mobile which we found very clean and well equipped. The site is well maintained and the management take pride in the appearance and greenery on the site. The pool area was excellent and heaven for children of all ages, this area is definitely the highlight of the park. The night time entertainment was excellent and enjoyable for young and old. The only area that really needs improvement is the restaurant, the food is actually the take away food and is all pre made and re heated, very disappointing compared to other campsites. The bar was generally understaffed and did not cope well with the influx of patrons to watch the world cup matches also be warned a pint of beer will set you back €6.20. Lastly if you are booking directly with the site bring your own sheets and towels, the cost of hiring same for 3 people cost us €120! Also a safety deposit box for two weeks costs €50. Overall an excellent site and brilliant for kids of all ages.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank Mrkd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a very large camp site resort on the northern side of Argelès sur mer. We visited in a motor home in June. The site is extremely well maintained. The management appear to take great pride in the ambience and appearance of the site with plenty of greenery, shrubbery and flowers throughout.
Staff are helpful, courteous and professional. Reception staff are welcoming and friendly. Animation and restaurant and bar staff are equally good.
The pool area is large with a variety of areas from kiddies area to adult pool to water slides. It is very well maintained and no shoes are allowed . Be aware however that there is artificial grass throughout the pool complex which becomes very very hot underfoot.
As we stayed in June I would imagine they were not operating at full capacity. Nevertheless the site was very busy and I think it might feel somewhat crowded if numbers were higher during July and August.
Restaurant food is basic fare. Since the same kitchen seems to cater for eat in and take away customers, service was slow at times. This was not the fault of waiters, who were working very hard. There were not enough staff on duty.
On our first day the importance of wearing camp site identity bracelets was explained to us. However we noticed on one night in the restaurant that security staff had a problem with customers who were not wearing bracelets, but these people were not asked to leave in spite of being unpleasant to one of the bar staff.
We were a little disappointed that the local beach was not really readily accessible without car or bicycles. We chose instead to go to the beach in town. This costs 4 euro per person return on the local petit train.
All in all our group enjoyed our stay at La Sirène.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Welltravelled88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

La Sirene campsite is situated close to the tourist resort of Argeles-sur-mer. We stayed for 7 nights with Canvas. This has been our seventh year to have a camping holiday so we are quite familiar with the format and have always had good experiences. Our van was an older model and tired and had not been cleaned well, however we spent very little time there as there was so much to do both on and off camp site. Our seven and five year old loved the amazing pool area, the only down side of which was the artificial grass around the pool which got scolding hot in the 40plus temp and absence of sun beds. The camp site shop was well stocked and the evening entertainment was fantastic. The major let down in this site was the food court. All our previous campsites have had very good eateries attached to them with fresh cooked food. The food at La Sirene seemed to be cooked in advanced and kept on a hot plates till ordered. We witnessed the rice and pasta dishes from the previous day being dished up to unsuspecting patrons however the takeaway pizzas looked nice. Thankfully there are so many decent eateries Argeles that it didn't matter too much. On a whole a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bunkit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Family holiday for two weeks. Two adults and two boys. Went for the top of the range option and privacy was good, each unit well shielded from neighbours. Bedrooms smaller than we expected but all clean and modern. Deck was the most used area, well shaded by trees.

Campsite is very good. Excellent pool but the restaurant was basic. Great evening entertainment for all the family in theatre. Very good activities for children. Great daily organised football for the boys and friends easily made. 10 to 15 minutes walk to beach. Lots of Irish people there if that's your thing.

Regular public transport into Argeles from just outside, but a car is recommended. Large supermarkets are not in town centre but in an estate outside, take a left from main gate of campsite and up to roundabout to get there... can be difficult to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank keenerDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family for May half term week and loved it. The site is large and mature with pitches shaded by some trees and offering some privacy. The sirene lodges are all similar in style, tho we booked through topsun it was a sirene lodge. We had 3 bedrooms with the master having an ensuite. Furnishing was modern and comfortable offering us all that we needed. Outside we used the patio area a lot where there was table chairs and a couple of sun beds as well as a gas BBQ! This time of year it is very well priced, considerably more in August of course!
The new water park is incredible! We stayed 2 yrs ago and thought the pool area was good then, now it's a whole new level! The Astro turf areas are fantastic to lie on( no mud!) yet looks so natural, helped by a nice number of trees offering some shade. The original pool area remains, unheated but ok for older kids who didn't seen to mind! The new kids pool area has a covering which also rolls back, features slides, spa pool and a climbing area my kids adored! The adult pool area ( which was open to all when we were there) is also heated and has water jets etc. It is due to get a roof like kids pool but think that is next season. The new slides were the fave part for our family spending many hours enjoying each one, in May they were never that busy tho I expect queues will appear in peak season!
Pool over road at hippocamp is also available to use which is quieter. As well as pool complex site offers so many other family activities; archery was a firm fave with sessions for 6-11's and adults ( 12+) all free. (Bookable night before) tennis courts free as well, rackets can be hired. The mini golf is another fun activity that is included and is right next to a great kids play area. Bikes can be hired on site- we hired from argeles where we only had to pay 22€ per bike for a week! It's more than double that on site!! We used them a lot including cycling into argeles which took us about 20 min.
Shop on site is well stocked for basics and the large intermarche and aldi are only a 5 min drive away. The bar area features a restaurant/ takeaway and a huge theatre area. This holiday there were none of the big shows scheduled until the following week, however the lion king was fab when we saw it last time! For a great value self catering family holiday I would recommend it, certainly out of peak season.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank jayse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived for May whit week to find we were the first families to stay in the newly built Canvas deluxe safari tents. There are 5 on site, 2 together on one roadway and 3 together on the next roadway. The tent was better than expected and more spacious for our family of 5. In addition to the brochure information there is a CD player, fridge freezer with a decent size freezer. There is four ring gas hob, no oven or microwave, a toaster and basic utensils. The double bed was extremely comfortable and the children didn't complain about the bunks! The bathroom was modern, good shower cubicle and nicely finished off as per the brochure photo.

Everything was brand new so this probably made it even more special but we'd definitely recommend the safari tents although the rep told us they'd pretty much sold out for the season within the first week of going on sale.

The site itself was fairly quiet with not all of the facilities open, ie poolside grill and ice cream parlour. Drinks at the bar seemed ok pricewise, 4.50€ for a half carafe of wine. The poolside area is spotless with astro turf to lie on (no sunbeds). I can imagine it would be heaving in the height of the season, probably not our scene then. The amount of tables and chairs set out in the outdoor eating area gave some idea of the potential numbers of people eating here. We had the usual pizzas, fish, toasties and all enjoyed the food.

We flew into Bezier airport via Ryanair from Manchester, about 1hr20 to the camp site.

The weather was mixed but we made the best of it and enjoyed the break....but the safari tents made it - go for it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HelenMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#5 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Bois Fleuri
Le Bois Fleuri
#5 of 53 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
#12 of 53 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
#15 of 53 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Sirene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Sirene

Property: Camping La Sirene
Address: Route de Taxo, 6702, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping La Sirene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The campsite club La Sirène is situated in Argeles sur mer, a seaside town on the southern Mediterranean coast, La Sirene is ideally located, less than 900 metres from the beach.Everyone should be able to savour their holiday at their own pace, lazy day’s by the tropical pool (waterslides, games, paddling pools, Jacuzzi…), a multitude of sporting activities and entertainments, pub and disco (high season), excellent quality live shows. Everyone will find their place, every member of the family will find something to enjoy!Customers renting mobile homes, cottages or chalets will receive access to all of the free facilities and entertainment (Bracelet Club) and payable activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sirene Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing