We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent séjour.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Du Lido
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent séjour.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Superb hotel . Beautiful beach. Excellent food. Friendly, helpful staff. Would be a good idea to hire a bicycle and use the good cycle tracks. Only negative point, the bathroom could do with updating. We will definitely return again. Impeccable! Lillian van Klinken ,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillianvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    127
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
103
177
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed at the Lido many times, mostly in June, and have always had a very enjoyable holiday. The hotel is part of a family owned group, with the family directly involved in the running of the hotel. This ensures that guests’ needs are well looked after and ensures that the staff are professional and efficient as well as maintaining a friendly atmosphere in the hotel.

One of the hotel’s main assets is its superb position, adjacent to one of the best sandy beaches you can imagine, coupled with excellent views of the mountains and coastline. The hotel also has its own private beach area and also an excellent pool with drinks service available all day. (The exact service varies a little depending on the time of year.)

You can walk out of the rear entrance to the hotel directly on to the beach; there is no road to cross, just the coastal footpath and a grassy area with some pine trees. Further down the beach towards Argelès Plage village there are plenty of beach-based activities for children

As well as the sea and sand there are lots of interesting and historical places to see in the area, many just a short drive away, and there are plenty of excellent walks for all ability levels in the mountains locally or further inland in the Pyrenees.

The food at Le Lido was very good, incuding an exceptional cheese trolley, and the majority of the wine list is sourced locally within a few miles of the hotel. This offers a choice of excellent wines which are not generally available in the UK.

Lastly, don’t miss the Lido’s famed seafood buffet lunch on Sundays and Wednesdays. This is an amazing help-yourself buffet in the poolside restaurant area, with hot and cold dishes and a large array of desserts. Book in advance, though, as this event is well patronised by local residents as well as hotel guests.

I should say, however, that a holiday at Le Lido could be difficult without a car, as trains and buses are a bit thin on the ground.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have balconies, but those on the pool (south) side get the most sun. (And are deare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrtfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stopped overnight in this hotel on our way back from Spain. It was quite an expensive option compared to other cheaper properties available but I'm glad we took it. The room we had was lovely with a stunning sea view. Everything was clean and the rooms look like they've been recently refurbished. They could do with some tea/coffee making facilities though ... The pool area was gorgeous and not too crowded considering the time of year (we stayed 22/08). We didn't eat in the hotel preferring to venture in to town to one of the many bars and restaurants. Although a nightmare trying to get parked, it was well worth venturing out as the area was absolutely buzzing. A really fantastic atmosphere. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola1234_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at this hotel. It is situated right by a lovely long beach and amongst pine trees, which is a beautiful setting. The hotel is family run and is dog friendly and as we arrived we were greeted by the family dog which gives this hotel a lovely homely feel (not for those who are not keen on dogs as there were a lot staying too!).
The food at the hotel was excellent, the cheese board was exceptional and the choice of desserts fantastic! The continental breakfast was good with a lot of cake,bread,cheese,cold meat & fruit, but I really missed a full English!
The staff were all friendly and helpful and happy to translate menus.
Overall a lovely relaxed break would like to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have spent a few wonderful days in this hotel. I like! Dog friendly, friendly stuff, excellent food and location near beach. Friendly and family atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Junior suite with sea wiew is large and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montagnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elewijt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hotel rates for this hotel are too high, we spend 1 night (luckily 1) in this hotel (old fashoned room, very tiny bathroom..);

Breakfast no value of 12 €, staff is preparing already tables for lunch at 09h45 am while guests are supposed to have breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere.
Staff at reception desk is ok and hotel location is perfect (very close to sea & wide beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ludo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golspie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Du Lido for nine days in September (during the last fortnight) and found this hotel to be of superb quality. Our room was in the hotel itself and overlooked the swimming pool and beach. We only had dinner twice in the hotel, but can honestly say that the food was terrific. Breakfast was taken at the poolside and was the usual 'continental style' with cheeses, meat and fruit in abundance and a large selection of breads etc. The staff were lovely, extremely efficient, well mannered and looked after our every need. I just can't believe it is only a 3 star rating as I have stayed in four and five star hotels that were not as good as the Grand Hotel Du Lido. I would heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good hotel, in a perfect location. I will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the actual hotel rather than in the annexe. The rooms overlooking the pool area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowMuchGolspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
519 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
Grand Hotel Du Golfe
#6 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#5 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Mimosas
Les Mimosas
#4 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
129 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Acajou
Hotel Acajou
#7 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Du Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Du Lido

Property: Grand Hotel Du Lido
Address: 50 boulevard de la Mer, 66700, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Du Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Du Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing