We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping L'Hippocampe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed at L'hippocampe from 2 -16 July 2013. Family of 6 - two adults and 4 children aged 12,10,8,and 5. We had a 3 bed mobile with Lifestyle holidays which was very modern and clean. Our pitch was near the pool & in a shady location which suited us. At night-time some noise can be heard from an adjacent road and from the entertainment at La Sirene. This did not bother us, however if you are a light sleeper you would need to request a pitch at the back of the site. Mike, Sinead and Lou, the lifestyle reps were extremely helpful and we could not praise them too highly.
We travelled by a pre booked taxi (www.taxiestartit.com) from Gerona airport in approx 1 hour. For us this was more economical and a lot less stressful than hiring a car.
L'Hippocampe is a much smaller and quieter campsite that it's sister site across the road, yet you have access to all the facilities and night-time entertainment at La Sirene. The pool at L'Hippocampe is heated, it is small but with adequate variety for all ages in our group. The poolside bar also showed live GAA matches which for us was a big plus. The entertainment at night at La Sirene is superb - live shows including Mama Mia, The Lion King and many more.
We hired bikes to get around and found bike hire at Guidon Fute in Argeles (www.guidon-fute.com/) much cheaper than the bike hire at La Sirene. There are lots of daytime activities for children-football, climbing walls, mini golf, etc. The kiddy club run by the campsite is in French so our children were not willing to participate.
The lovely promenade in Argeles is about 2km away and perfect for an evening stroll. The port at the end of the promenade has some lovely restaurants and the nearby scenic town of Coulier is well worth a visit.
The main drawbacks are the absence of wi-fi at L'hippocampe. Wi-fi is available at the bar in La Sirene but it is totally unreliable. Also for a 5 star campsite there are no sunbeds at the pools in either site.
Overall we had a fantastic time and will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
16  Thank Niamh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at Hippocampe with Keycamp for the first week of July in a 3 bed/2 bathroom caravan and this was our first holiday of this sort so didn't really know what to expect. 2 adults 3 children (7,3 and 1 baby). The Keycamp courrier met us on arrival and was very helpful on giving us orientation etc. The caravan was clean and tidy and relatively comfortable but very basic and the vans are extremely close to one another we could almost hear next door breathe! The evening entertainment is loud as others have written but to be honest we had sort of expected it and unless you are right on the outside wall (nearest La Sirene) then it wouldn't affect you too much, indeed on the nights we didn't go out managed to get the kids to sleep fine. The pool is fine, a couple of slides for younger children, our 3 year old managed and a couple for older ones. Pool ranges from .8 m in the smaller area to 1.6 m deep in the larger area. If you want a larger pool head over the road to La Sirene and use the one there. We found the Hippocampe pool to be sufficient for us. There is also a small park for the kids to play in which is sufficient and shaded from the sun. Small shop and bakery you can use over at La Sirene if you need anything but there is an Intermarche and Aldi about 2 km away for anything you need. One thing that could be improved is giving some wifi around the park for people as this is really lacking. We also expected, maybe wrongly, that there would be a TV in the caravan as it would have been good to at least catch up with some news while there. For these 2 reasons can't give 5 stars bit overall a good and enjoyable holiday and we'd recommend Hippocampe to others

Room Tip: Try and get a spot away from the Sirene site if you don't like the sound of loud evening enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jules_Jules2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

we stayed at l hippocampe for the last 2 weeks in august with two other familys we found the site very good the pool was not the biggest and had no sunbeds but as you could use the bigger pool accross the road at its sister site this was not realy a problem also the shop and the entertainment over the road at la sirene were both very good.l hippocamp is a small site but very friendly with a great little bar that has its own entertainment mostly live bands some very good
the kids all loved the big sports area with lots of competitions for all age groups,the area around the site is beautiful with lots of things to do and see and some fantastic beaches and restaraunts .
we spent a few days at the lake saint jean pia de corts near boulou about 20 mins drive inland it was fantastic a big lake surrounded by grass to lay arround while the kids played on the inflatables on the lake or the peddle boats also had a nice little snack bar and coffee shop you paid 2 euro parking for the full day,we stayed with lifestyle holidays and had a little problem with the caravan we were given but after talking to them on our return home we ironed out our problems because lifestyle had taken over from siblu they had taken a few old siblu vans in the deal and 2 or 3 of them were a bit dated most of the other lifestyle vans are new and i am told by them that all the older ones are to be replaced this year, i would definatley use lifestyle again they seem to be a very up and comming company you can even choose the pitch you want so if holidaying with friends you can be next to them,i would also return to l hippocampe again as it is a very nice little site in a very nice area of france so thank you hippocampe and lifestyle holidays for a wonderfull holiday.

Room Tip: lifestyle holidays are better value then other operators on the park with some nice modern accomadat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sevsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Very noisy site. Mobile home in direct line with speakers from la sirene. Rehearsals went on for hours by day, and the show, till late at night. Then, neighbouring campsite's entertainment boomed out more noise. We have had several holidays in other parts of France without this problem. Kelair staff were really helpful and moved us after first week. We enjoyed the walk to the beach and found a short cut to get there! We were very disappointed with lack of cycle tracks. Previous holidays near Royan and parts of vendee had excellent safe and scenic cycle paths. Although the pool was lovely, there were no showers at pool and no sun loungers. We had to lie on muddy grass surrounding pool and had to wash muddy towels every day. We will not be returning to l'hippocampe. It did not suit our family but we met many others who loved it.

Room Tip: ensure well back from road. ask for site with some shade and some sun. we were in complete shade w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ailish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have been going to this park for over 10 years and have never had a bad holiday here. My children have also always enjoyed the holidays taken here and indeed still go as adults now. We have stayed on the park with several different holiday companies most recently with Lifestyle Holidays and cannot praise the current two reps(Bev Copeman and Alison Harness) enough. They are both very happy and friendly and always willing to help out in anyway they can. We feel we have become good friends with them and look forward to seeing them each year.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

So we have a four year old son and a one year old little girl. A couple of years ago we went to a place named Club Farret in Vias Plage, which was another of the popular French campsites. That one was excellent in that it was right next to the sea, had an outstanding recently constructed pool complex and the evening entertainment kicked off at about 7 ish. My review of that place was titled Perfect For Toddlers. And it was, just ideal in fact. We booked l'hippocampe as to be honest, it was the only one with availability in the region at late notice. It was ok. The Keycamp rep Glen was great and was there in a flash with some lightbulbs and new pillows when I called him. The mobile itself was clean and fine, although as with all these places you get what you're given, ours was under lots of trees and was a bit gloomy. Again, here I'd say they were too close together which meant on one several nights the Irish family next to ours kept us up until gone 2am. Also ours had no decking and only gravel outside which was rubbish for our daughter who had no space to crawl around on. But you make do, and we put down a blanket....The pools were ok I guess. Our son loved the slides. Big problem was lack of sunbeds or should I say absence of. Towel on concrete job then, which again, pretty rubbish. Food wise, over the road at the big sister site, and only fast food which was mediocre at best. There is a little pizza place out to the left, but again not memorable. It's biggest flaws are the location, which necessitates a car to get to the beach. Which we had, although the day we went it was like a hurricane. Back to the pool then. But the other problem which was a biggie for us was the evening entertainment. Spot on as per the other reviews, it is LOUD. But sadly, starting at 930pm is just too late for our kids anyway. The whole place therefore, wasn't for us. So, we spoke to Glen the rep, who called Keycamp and arranged for us to have the last two nights at Les Sablons up the coast. Which was really good I have to say and will put on another review for that seperatley. Top marks to Keycamp!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulqLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We first went to Hippocampe the second year it opened, Before that we had several holidays at Sirene. This year we went with our youngest son and his wife and 20 month old son caden. Having been before we new what expect. running the bar was Gimel ( I think thats how you spell his name ) and his partner Christina. Twenty three years ago when it was only La Sirenne he was running the bar with his brother. He befriended all three of our sons. Nothing has changed. Over the two weeks it was as if nothing had changed, Caden a third generation of the family to go there was looked after the same. Sirenne & Hippocampe are five star sites and live up to their rating. Over the last 23 years we have been on many sites in France but non compare to their high standards. Nightly entertainment even in June is unheard of most sites but thanks to Jean Luc and the Sypox team there is something every night. The Blues Brothers should not be missed. The food on site is enjoyable and good value & the standard of service in the Bars second to non. With its pools both sites boast firstclass facilities along with other activities. Many thanks to everyone who made our holiday so enjoyable. Please remove Lisa from Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluenose1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 20 in Argeles-sur-Mer
589 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
Camping Sunelia Le Bois Fleuri
#4 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
Camping Club Taxo les Pins
#17 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Mediterranee Argeles
Le Mediterranee Argeles
#23 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
Camping Le Pearl Village Club
#12 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
176 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camping Domaine des Mimosas
Camping Domaine des Mimosas
#45 of 57 in Argeles-sur-Mer
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping L'Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping L'Hippocampe

Address: Route de Taxo, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range: £11 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
l`Hippocampe Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing