We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Campsite if its sunny!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bois de Valmarie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Argeles-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Bois de Valmarie
Certificate of Excellence
drogheda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Campsite if its sunny!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just back from 2 weeks in bois de valmarie. firstly let me commend the lifestyle staff, they were excellent and very friendly and helpful. however my caravan was situated at the bottom of the forest away from the pool and totally covered by trees and in the shade all day long. I had to go onto my neighbours deck to catch some sun which there was very little of. The caravan itself was fine, a 2 bed with 3 kids is tight but very clean and well equiped. Make sure if you like the sun you ask for a caravan in the sun and not the shade. We arrived on may 16th, not everything was open and the site was very quiet. The main problem was the weather which i know we can do nothing about but it was very bad, we couldn't sit on the deck for breakfast because it was too cold, we used to leave the heater on each night going out as it was so cold. I actually could not believe that since coming home to Ireland the m]weather is much better at home 23". France is also very expensive and when eating out it is very difficult to get good food for children as everything comes with chips. I also found the lack of english menus when eating out a little annoying but if you make some effort to speak french the waiter will help you thats if he has any english. We also had a lot of trouble with our hire car ( a nissan qashquai 2 ) from hertz, there was a button on the stering column which you had to turn to lock the car down. If not turned the battery would run down, this was not explanied by the hertz rep at perpignan airport. Lastly the town of Argeles beside Racou is a little dissapointing, its a small town and a little tackie. We spent most of our time 10mins to the south in a place called Collieure, not sure on the spelling but it was lovley, with narrow streets, castles, nice bars and eateries etc. To sum up caravan was fine location beside Argeles port was fine if your in the sun, pool on site was very good and kids enjoyed it but DONT GO TO FRANCE IN MAY. YOU WILL NOT GET THE WEATHER, A LOT OF THINGS ARE CLOSED UNTIL EASRLY JUNE AND IF YOU GOING TO A CARAVAN GET A 3 BED AND MAKE SURE ITS IN THE SUN. Sorry if this seems very negative but my overall holiday and experience of Argeles and bois de valmarie was very dissapointing

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanDrogheda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    77
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
163
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

(+) Very well organized, comfortables mobile homes, beautyfull and heated swimming pools with slides - kids love them! Two kinder playground in the wood. Nice staff. Animation for childerns. Bakery's shop - fresh baguettes all day! Amazing place and environment! Very clean and very quiet!
(-) Not 100 m to go to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sabi_w4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked this campsite after reading trip adviser reviews and were not disappointed. We booked directly with the campsite as that worked out cheaper than a tour operator.
We had a 3 bed mobile home near the top of the campsite close to the swimming pool. It was very clean and well stocked and had a surprisingly large amount of storage.
We had a wooden terrace with a sea view and if you looked out of the windows on the otherside you could see the mountains. The only downside was that we had virtually no sun on our terrace. There were two other caravans close by whose terraces were better positioned for a bit of sunshine. But the views were lovely.
The swimming pool was nice and clean and although busy as the campsite was full we could always find a space to sit and usually a sun lounger. Again lovely views of both sea and mountain.
We didn't eat in the restraurant but did have takeway pizzas which were good.
The reception staff were all very helpful and the small site shop was useful ( and friendly) although as we had a car we stocked up from the larger supermarkets and just used the shop for bread and the odd thing we had forgotten!
My only criticism of the campsite was that other than the pool there was no space to run around. There was a small play area with a couple of outdoor table tennis tables but no grass area for my boys to kick a ball around / throw a frisbee / cricket etc. The closest beach was stony and when the wind got up and blew the stones around it really hurt so that wasn't much good for ball sports either. It is for this reason, I have only marked the campsite as a 4. Everything else was really good.
We did visit the sister campsite La Sirene to play cazy golf and tennis but you need a car to do this. La Sirene seemed very busy compared to La Bois Valmarie so we made the right choice to stay there rather than La Sirene.

We made several trips to the surrounding area. The village of Collioure is lovely and the children enjoyed exploring the fort and port area. We drove up into the mountains and did an amazing walk up a gorge ( Gorges de la Fou) which I would highly recommend. We went to Carsaccone one day which is a must see but make sure you get there by 10am. By 12pm it is very busy and you will end up parking a long way away.
We also drove to Spain to the Dali museum. We drove the coast road all the way there which had amazing views. However, we arrived later than planned and had to queue for 40 minutes to get into the museum. So in hindsight, we would have taken the fast ermotorway route there and the coast route home.

I would recommend both the area and campsite but the campsite is lacking a green space to run around.

Room Tip: Some mobile homes had space to park your car next to them but some did not. Ask about this when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sue2Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have been visiting Le Racou for years for it's great beach.
We tried Bois de Valmarie for the first time this year and found this site fabulous.
It has a great pool;, the site is clean and well kept. The restaurant and bar was good also.
The people that run the bar and the shop are Dutch, they are friendly and helpful.
The reception staff are helpful and friendly also, and they speak English,(which is useful as my French is quite appalling.) The site is in a great location for the beach and the bars and restaurants along Le Racou, and just a short stroll to Port Argeles with many restaurants and shops to while away the time.
Le Racou is the sister site to La Sirene, a few miles away and you can use the facilities there if you wish.
If you enjoy this kind of holiday, I think you will enjoy it, we have booked for next year already.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

It was first time camping for our family of four and wasn't sure what to expect. I was relived to came to nice and clean not so small caravan. We've had a decking to the front too which is always a bonus. The swimming pool is absolutely lovely and it is heated so nice to swim even in windy weather. The resort is only few minutes away from the see with nice sandy beaches. The only thing is that water goes deep very quickly so it is not really for very small children to splash around.
If you are looking to book this camping site and you are light on your sleep, try to get away from booking cabin 91,92,93 cause you will have a problem sleeping due to passing trains ( 2 of them) during early morning hours. Otherwise thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and children loved it too. Will go back there defiantly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just returned from our fourth trip here and it never disappoints; the site is small and compact and has a great family atmosphere. The location is fantastic; far enough enough away from the hustle and bustle of Argeles but only a 30 minute minute walk in, or 10 minutes by roadtrain, should you wish, and just a 15 minute walk to the bars/restaurants of Port Argeles and just a short stroll to the beach. Le Racou itself also has a small number of restaurants and the campsite restaurant is also very popular, although a little more expensive than some of the others. The site is mainly aimed at younger kids, which is why we first went, but you would be surprised at the number of families that return year after year, irrelevant of the ages of their kids, us included. In summary; a fantastic site in a fantastic location!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SimonO66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We've just come back from 2 weeks at Bois de Valmarie and got exactly what we'd hoped for: sun, great pool, quiet, relaxing site and the chance to as little or as much as our 2 and 5 year old would allow!
We stayed with Lifestyle so that we could have a decking and were pleased with our choice. There is very little difference between most of the mobiles on the site however, as Canvas, Lifestyle and VacanSoleil all have the same unit as those used by the site itself. Only Keycamp have their own distinctive designs.
When we arrived (late July) the majority of customers were Dutch, but over the two weeks more British and French families arrived. One of the things I liked about this site was that most families were content with their own company and there was little noise around the site created by children zooming around on bikes in the evening, as there can sometimes be on other sites I've been to.
The Camping Kids chidren's club is excellent. Our children don't normally want to join in with children's clubs, but the staff running it were very friendly, organised some lovely and varied activities and seemed to really live their job. The dinner party and mini disco was fun.
The staff here are very friendly and the shop and bar/ restaurant is excellent - relaxed and welcoming even if you only want to watch the Olympics S we often did!
The pool is the main reason for this being such a brilliant site though as it was easy to spend 3 hours or more there as there are so many different pools and slides. Our 2 year old loved the fact that she could touch the bottom in a large area of the pool as well the toddler specific pool wit the frog slide. The fact that the slides all feed into the main pool areas rather than being separate from it asnisnoften the case, meant that our 5 year old could slide down to us on his own rather than have to be taken to the slides. Also, the water is heated to 28 degrees which is perfect. The pool has an elevated position so benefits from gentle coastal breeze so it doesn't feel so hot. Even at this busy time of the season, we always had a sunlounger, never had to queue for slides or for the pool to open, and never thought the pool felt too busy.
We went to la Sirene to play mini golf a few times which saved us paying to play at the other ones in the town.
Cerret is worth a visit; Collioure is lovely (we went by boat one day and drove another - boat trips frequent, about 20 minutes each way and cost 12 Euros for an adult). The Castle in town is well worth a visit, as is the drive up to Fort Elne. The road up is a bit scary (approached from Port Vendres rathe than Collioure) but the view is great. The Trainbus also goes up to the top.
We don't usually stay at just one place and I was a little worried that we wouldn't have enough to do, but the pool, beach and campsite amenities kept us all occupied whilst also allowing us to properly relax. Going back next year.

Room Tip: Lifestyle all seem to have good pitches with sun and shade at different points in the day. Some nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LexR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argeles-sur-Mer hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argeles
Residence Mer & Golf Port Argele...
#5 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Centre Plage
Hotel Centre Plage
#9 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Du Lido
Grand Hotel Du Lido
#8 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Bois Fleuri
Le Bois Fleuri
#5 of 53 in Argeles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bois de Valmarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bois de Valmarie

Property: Le Bois de Valmarie
Address: Le Racou, 66702, Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Le Bois De Valmarie Hotel Argeles-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing