We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Alma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alma
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night only.
Basic clean and cheerful room.
The staff are just fantastic, helpful and friendly. Location could not be better. Only a 1 minute walk to the centre of town with many nice restaurants and bars. Would definitely recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank c42pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

From our first contact, we were delighted! The first extremely helpful receptionist was matched by both the others, whose sunny and pleasant attitude permeated our stay. One room was small, but had a lovely balcony and was extremely clean -linen changed three times in five days and clean towels regularly. The other was large, also had a balcony and was well furnished with two good beds -at the same price, which was extraordinarily reasonable. Breakfast was copious, and though the breakfast room was small, everything was convenient and all three of the ladies who served us were most obliging and of sunny disposition.
Unlike some other reviewers, we felt the neighbourhood was fine -there were quite a number of young people on the street at night and during the day, but never threatening, and parking a block away in the parking payant spaces on Rue Saint Saens was convenient and free from 5pm to 9am and On Saturday afternoon and Sunday
We'd stay here with pleasure next time we go back to Beziers -convenient, near good restaurants, friendly, obliging, clean and quite cheap. Merci beaucoup mesdamoiselles!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and it was as expected. Nice room although a smallish bathroom but it did what was required so so you need a big bathroom.
Lovely friendly helpful staff made visiting the town easy too.
Would return if my travels take me back to Beziers

Stayed: September 2013
Thank RichMugrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hotel Alma. I think there's a general shortage of places to stay in Beziers and this seemed to have good reviews.

We took a quick cab ride from Beziers train station up to the hotel (it's not really that far but there's a steepish hill up in the park and with suitcases it's a bit of a pain). The hotel is situated off a little side street but only five minutes away from the main square.

When we arrived to check in there was a terrific girl on reception who showed us where the restaurants and bars were and where to go sight seeing - she was good.

Our room was on the 3rd floor - number 6 I think. I didn't like it - it looked a shabby boudoir - if you've ever seen the film Enter the Void it looked like that room they all slept in in Nathan Road. It was very dark red and there weren't many lights in there so was quite difficult to actually see anything. It just felt a bit sleazy. Although the next day, I saw a couple of other rooms (as they were being cleaned) and they looked brighter.

The bathroom was tiny but adequate I guess, no hairdryer or conveniences like that. There wasn't a safe either (although to be honest didn't check if there was one in reception.) There was a small tv. On the ceiling was a random piece of cloth - it looked like it was there for decoration but was probably hiding something like damp (or was just bad decoration).

The rooftop terrace is nice - has nice views over the roof tops but there was nothing up there i.e. no bar or service - you can take your own food and drink up there if you want to.

There's no lifts in the hotel so keep that in mind if you can't do many steps - there's a few to the third floor.

Beziers itself is a nice town, very pretty but I wouldn't say there was loads to do there - a night at most unless you've got a wine trip excursion planned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here At the end of our walk down the canal du midi, basic hotel with clean bedding, friendly receptionist (spoke good English), fantastic sun terrace on the roof with sun bed and also some shade (very welcome in 35' heat). A useful stop off and would stay here again if I was in beziers

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed for 2 separate nights at the Alma before and after our visit to Carcassonne by rail - we had flown into Beziers airport. We selected this hotel due to its central location between the bus and train station. The hotel is located in a side street a few minutes walk from the centre. Our room and toilet were not large but were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate.
The hotel personnel were all very, very friendly and helpful.
No complaints whatsoever - as others reviewers have noted the hotel represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed overnight one very hot Saturday so found the standup fan in our second floor room most welcome. Decor is quirky being black and red based and the bedroom rather small but had everything needed, and very clean throughout, as was the bathroom. Very friendly, helpful staff - we asked for reserved parking but it was full so the receptionist gave us a detailed map showing underground car parks close at hand. However only a couple of minutes after going to our room she came to say that there was a vacant space outside the hotel and she actually stood guard in that space while we retrieved our car and parked ! Good restaurants also pointed out to us on the map a 5/10 min walk away. We opted for Le Crystal which served delicious fish. Rooftop terrace is a bonus and breakfast can be taken up there although we opted for the small breakfast room behind reception, and again friendly staff. Very reasonable price rate and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beziers hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Paul Riquet
Hotel Paul Riquet
#19 of 32 in Beziers
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France Beziers
Hotel de France Beziers
#29 of 32 in Beziers
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
hotelF1 Beziers est
hotelF1 Beziers est
#22 of 32 in Beziers
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Beziers Centre Palais Congres
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Beziers Est La Giniesse
3.6 mi away
P'tit Dej-Hotel Beziers
P'tit Dej-Hotel Beziers
#3 of 8 in Villeneuve les Beziers
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alma

Address: 41 Rue Guilhemon, 34500, Beziers, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Beziers
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Beziers
Price Range: £31 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alma 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing