We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as Eden”

Le Jardin de Babylone
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cap-d'Agde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Jardin de Babylone
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as nice as Eden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed there after staying at Jardin D'Eden the last 2 years. Rooms were much nicer at Eden. The only reason we switched was for slightly quieter pool scene at Babylon but would not stay here again. Patio was a plastic table looking at unkept weed over grown landscaping. We had an ant issue in the room and the bathroom was kind of rough.
Very fun pool scene similar to Eden but not as much fun at the bar towards the end of the day.
Of course all of this is pretty picky - still a very fun time overall. Pool is always fun, they play great music throughout the day and you can be as friendly as you like!
If you are going to Cap - stay here or Eden if you want to have a pool and to socialize.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KdJd2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Nederland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was the second year we stayed at the Jardin de Babylone and it was absolutely wonderful again! It is somewhat difficult to explain: of course one can judge this resort, based on the room size, fitting, service and price. It won't score badly at all, it's modern and functional, the personnel were exceptionally friendly and the restaurant is surprisingly good, though a bit pricey. But if you do so, you miss the point. When entering this resort, you enter a different world. Nudity as well as sexuality simply are integrated in the social patterns here, it is a heaven of tolerance, respect, discretion, a real adult attitude in the best sense of the word. The atmosphere is pleasant and relaxed, music is fine, service at the pool is excellent. It's a hotel for couples only (nudist heterosexual couples, as they stated) and these couples will lay all around the large pool on very comfortable mattresses. If they get inspired at some time, no inhibitions are necessary, no one will raise an eyebrow, there won't be any reaction at all. We think the resort is unique although it’s sister resort Jardin d’Eden, in nudist Cap d’Agde closer to the beach is comparable but much more glamorous and less relaxed. We have been there twice as well, so we can judge. Few people would believe this kind of resort would exist without having been there. Remember, there’s real distinction, taste and style, nothing ordinary. No interactions will take place that are not explicitly agreed too, the nude people really respect each other’s intimacies. The weekly Wednesday ‘pool party’ is different: crowded with a lot of fun, louder music and maybe one or two hundred nude people playing in and around the pool. But it’s never crossing any border with regard to mutual respect, it’s only the scale that is spectacular. This resort demonstrates what high levels can be achieved in the way human beings accept and respect each other’s behavior. The French did a great job in establishing such a culture in nudist Cap d’Agde!

Room Tip: Not so much difference actually, back side borders a nature reserve, front side a garden with parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travel_Couple_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

clean rooms, great pool, nice bar. a bit further from the beach than eden, but not a bad place to stay. we were certainly happy there is a good pool since the weather was so windy we could not sit at the beach....a good looking crowd.....view from our room was nothing much, but why spend time in the room....

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jerolim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Update/repeat of our 2010 review. This remains the newest hotel that we know of in the area. Clean but sparse décor. If you book early enough through their agent AGN (Agence Genevieve Naturisme, they do have an English speaker or two in the office if you call), ask for a south facing apartment vs. a backside studio room, it's worth the extra money. The balconies are wonderful on the upper level. The rooms have a separate sleeping room plus a smaller Euro pullout sofa if you have two guests for a night or two. The kitchenette is well equipped with small fridge and a 2 hot plate cook top. The beach is a 5 minutes walk. Same for the shops and bars near Heliopolis and sometimes that was OK because it is much more peaceful in the Babylone area. Their gardens were beautiful, as well as the large hot tub area and pool. If you arrive with a car, there's a 10 Euro one-time fee for an access card to the village and parking. Nudity is obviously allowed throughout the area but a certain amount of discretion was typically shown around this nicer hotel. As for public displays of affection (PDA), don’t be surprised at what you’ll find around the pool. If this activity bothers you, best to look elsewhere. If this sounds fun, you're sure to make lots of new friends as everyone we've met there has always been very friendly and traveling from all corners of the globe. Nice apartment hotel we've now visited twice and we’ll be back.

Room Tip: South facing "apartments" with balconies are great for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank caribbeanlovers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is valuable for its ambiance - located in a naturist resort, the hotel itself provides unique opportunity for couples to experience a different level of intimacy by sharing it with other couples. The setting is relaxed, without pressure, and comfortable. The swimming pool and the Jacuzzi are nice and are the exciting are of the hotel - great place to share activities with other couples. The rooms are clean and are average studio rooms, with small kitchen area and basic kitchen equipment - fridge, coffee machine (if you want espresso, you have to go to the cafes at the resort). The bar at the pool serves good breakfast. The service is good and unobtrusive. the resort itself is very unique, with large naturist beach, portion of which is dedicated for intimacy-sharing activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ztraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed a week at this hotel summer 2012. The hotel itself is ok and quite ordinair. But it is the social atmosphere by the swimming pool that makes the place so excellent. It is a hotel for naturists so we are all naked. By the pool people are allowed to play with their partner or in groups. I will especially mention the waiters taking care of the guests. They are very helpful and polite.We remember Damien as the exsample of how a perfect waiter shall act at a place like Babylone.We will be back in August 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Nebuchadnezzar reputedly built the Hanging Gardens of Babylon to please his homesick wife.. Jardin de Babylone is not quite on the same scale as we might imagine the wonder of the ancient world but has much to be admired... a homage to the worship of women, if you witness anything of what happens about the pool and copious amount of alcohol.. back to Nebuchadnezzar again.. flowing from the bar..

We had previously stayed at Jardin D'Eden so were interested to see how Babylone compared...

Arrival - Our room wasn't ready when we arrived mid-afternoon, but the house keeping staff were very welcoming and we stashed our bags in the laundry room before heading to the bar for our first drink. Of course this is a nude resort but all the same, it did feel a little strange stripping off in the laundry room before heading out into the sunshine! Only in Cap D'Adge!

Rooms - We booked a studio apartment and were on the ground floor. It had a living room with kitchen area and dining table; there is a separate bedroom and large bathroom with bath and over-bath shower. The bedroom we found a little small and the bed a little hard.. the living room was fine. There is a terrace (or balcony for first floor apartments) with table and chairs, ideal for breakfast and afternoon drinks. Accommodation was clean and serviceable. Eden is perhaps a little more comfortable but we liked the relaxed feel of the accommodation at Babylone. A few apartments overlook the pool but facing south you look at the gardens and car park to the front or facing north the marshland adjoining CDA. Staff were always happy to help and change towels and bedding when asked. (You change the towels and sheets at reception - there is no room service as such unless you pay a supplement). No sweat really, providing you manage your own expectations!

Bar - The bar staff were great. They would get towels for you and arrange beds around the pool. At the bar and restaurant, they were attentive and service was efficient. Food was good - Cesar salad, burger or scallops for example... There was regular service (I mean drinks here!) by the pool throughout the day.

Vibe - We found the atmosphere here more relaxed and friendly than at Eden. Not sure how this works but we were not the only ones to express this view. Perhaps it is the configuration of the bar / restaurant pool and jacuzzi?

On the Wednesday there was a pool party hosted by SDC, who had taken over Eden for the week. Many people felt they could die happy after the pool party.. it would be difficult to explain and impossible to describe adequately.. you must do something like that at least once in a lifetime!

There is plenty of action around the pool throughout most of the day.

Babylone is a little further from the beach than Eden, on the edge of the site. But it is still within a short walk of Heliopolis and Ambonne, where you can buy provisions and where you will aslo find bars and restaurants. Pizza Flora in Ambonne was popular for great tasting pizzas for 7 or 8 euros.

Hotel Oz Inn has emerged as THE luxury accommodation in Cap D'Agde and it looks great (we had a drink at the roof top bar one evening - 2 glasses of champagne for 24 euro!) but nothing compares to the atmosphere at Babylone or Eden. For it is the liberal environment and opportunity to meet other like minded people that we go to CDA.

Only in Cap D'Agde!!!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool will be noisy in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank EncoreFormidable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cap-d'Agde hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oz'inn
Hotel Oz'inn
#19 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
#3 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Helios
Hotel Helios
#17 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gil de France
Gil de France
#4 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Pirate
Hotel Cap Pirate
#1 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Bellevue
Le Bellevue
#5 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin de Babylone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin de Babylone

Property: Le Jardin de Babylone
Address: Village Naturiste, 34307 Cap-d'Agde, Agde, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Agde > Cap-d'Agde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Cap-d'Agde
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Le Jardin De Babylone Hotel Cap-d`Agde
Le Jardin De Babylone France/Herault

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing