We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money, perfect location at the beach”
Review of Hotel Capao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Capao
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Cap-d'Agde
Reviewed 30 May 2014

directly at the beach, clean! rooms, quiet, for France very good breakfast. Increadibly friendy personel. Even cleaning personel very friendy.
Just across the street grocery store and a extremely! good fish restaurant ('les copains d'abord)

Room Tip: 'vue mer' worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a week half board as part of package on holiday with Diamond Rail. Great hotel, very friendly staff, lovely food and very close to the sandy beach at Richelieu. An ideal base for our excursions around the Languedoc region.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tessa132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A nice friendly welcome when we arrived. We had booked a superior room with pool/sea view and it was very comfortable.
One tip - call ahead to get the fridge plugged in - for anyone travelling with medication which needs to be kept cool, it is frustrating to have to wait 2 hours for the room fridge to cool down.
In early April (2014) there were few people around. The hotels had maybe 4 or 5 rooms occupied, the restaurant was closed, but the smaller, heated outdoor pool was open as was the sauna and gym.
This was our final night before flying home from Beziers airport so we just needed to chill out, repack our bags for the flight and find a good restaurant for dinner.
In fact we found an excellent place within 100 meters - a restaurant, popular with locals which served excellent Moules - what more can one ask for ? We noticed an italian pizza / pasta restaurant open right opposite the hotel, also.
The next morning we did discover that a short drive or longer walk would have taken us to the main centre of Cap d'Agde round the harbour and there were plenty of restaurants there.
Parking was easy (and free at this time of year), but in high season might be an issue.

Room Tip: Pool / sea view room cost extra, but ours had a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Hotel Capao is the place to stay if you want to just walk out from your porch, and walk about two minutes to the sand dunes and the sandy beach. It is a great location. There is even a restaurant on the beach, along with other similar restaurant nearby. The hotel is very modern and in excellent condition. Everything was clean and well maintained. There are several restaurants across the street. There is a laundry and several shops for beach needs and hair styling. This is a destination hotel. The beach is great for kids with no waves and shallow water. There are occasional topless women but that is expected in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jacques1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hotel is located just next to the beach in Cap D'Agde. Rooms are clean and spacious with terrasses and fridge (no kitchen facilities). Beach is wonderful (sand). Rooms have some parts which need a bit of renovation (abthroom tiles) but all is clean and working. I would recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: Take something with seaview ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MPSMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel was clean and recently refurbished. We stayed in a family room that had a double bed downstairs and 2 single beds on a mezzanie floor, perfect for a couple with 2 small children. The room is equipped with a fridge and satellite TV. Clean and comfortable.

The toilet which is separate from the bathroom is interesting to say the least. If you are a size 6 or 8 you wont have a problem but otherwise it has to be one of the smallest toilets we've ever seen! The hotel says it has its own private beach and there is an area on the beach next to the hotel bar with sunloungers. You have to pay extra for the use of them and as a guest of the hotel with a tab already running at the bar and restuarant you shouldnt have to. But it was truly the man who runs this area of the hotel who spoilt our time there. He is the rudest unfriendliest jobsworth in the world. Whoever you are you are seriously in the wrong job and management should move you away from the public! I have lived in France for the past 10 years and you sadly are the reason the rest of the world think the French are arrogant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kipper9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Capao for two nights in August 2012. Upon arrival, the staff were very welcoming and were more than happy to help break into my suitcase as I had locked the keys inside. (who does that!)

We were given a card with our room number and told to bring it to reception at any time for fresh towels.

The room was spacious and clean with twin beds (common problem for unmarried couple), a balcony facing the car park and shops and decent bathroom. We could have asked to change rooms but it wasn't really that important to us at the time.

There are several nice seating areas where you can have a relaxing drink and a snack.

Breakfast was great and included a huge selection of breads, fresh fruits, cooked meats and cheeses, cereals, cakes, croissant, boiled eggs, and as much juice/tea/coffee as you like. You may also ask for a cooked breakfast too if you prefer.

The hotel has a swimming pool and a lovely restaurant where we had an enormous lunch. It was a bit pricey but incredibly delicious. Internet access is available in the foyer

The beach area is enormous, I mean, if you want sand and a large area for your children to play, you got it! This is a great place for families.

The receptionist called us a taxi on checking out. They were all really lovely and very patient with our poor French.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bandelera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cap-d'Agde hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
Mercure Golf Cap D'Agde
#3 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Opal
Hotel Opal
#11 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gil de France
Gil de France
#4 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Grenadines
Hotel Les Grenadines
#2 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
424 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Cap Pirate
Hotel Cap Pirate
#1 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Bellevue
Le Bellevue
#5 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capao

Address: 1 rue des Corsaires | Plage Richelieu Centre, 34300 Cap-d'Agde, Agde, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Agde > Cap-d'Agde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cap-d'Agde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cap-d'Agde
Price Range: £79 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capao 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Capao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capao France/Herault

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing