We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, a friendly welcome, beautiful surroundings and comfortable accommodation.”
Review of Mas Pallares

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ceret
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas Pallares
Ranked #2 of 12 Ceret B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility, a friendly welcome, beautiful surroundings and comfortable accommodation.”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our first stay at Mas Pallares was as Chambre d'hote guests for three nights only and was not pre-planned but we found it comfortable, tranquil and in such beautiful surroundings and Lizzie our host so helpful and friendly that we planned a return for one week in 2013. The self catering apartment at Mas Pallares which is about 5 minutes from the town of Ceret, is well equipped and spotless, very comfortable and with wonderful views from every window and from the terrace where we could eat outside and relax. We appreciated once more Lizzie's welcoming, helpful manner, together with sensitivity to guest's space. The pool is immaculate and the gardens are beautiful and teeming with bird life. Information is provided about the numerous local walks and places of interest and one can choose whether to visit the coast 30 minutes away, a variety of interesting towns, the surrounding mountains or even Spain which is literally over the mountain behind Ceret. We hope to return with friends and thoroughly recommend Mas Pallares to those who value comfort, peace and beautiful natural surroundings with the potential for a variety of activities in an interesting and stunning area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at Mas Pallares for a week. Accommodation was comfortable and cozy, in proprietor Lizzie's 17th century farmhouse complete with a pool and a welcoming garden. Charming Ceret is 15 minutes away. Lizzie was super welcoming and gave us some very good beach + restaurant ideas. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffffetS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We arrived at Mas Pallares after a lengthy journey with 2 young children. The lady of the house came to meet us and immediately started to tell us how tired she was and launched into a list of rules for our small apartment and the rest of the farmhouse. The apartment was clean, adequately equipped but our bedroom had a rotten smell, "like cats". There was also a dead rat lying near to the balcony in the garden. My husband said he would deal with it but I wanted to see if the lady of the house had even noticed. When we mentioned it to her she was more than happy for my husband to remove it . At the end ofvthe stay there was also a list of cleaning rules including stripping the beds etc. Overall the accommodation was overpriced but the pool was absolutely
gorgeous. The scenery was also lovely. I think the lady of the house could perhaps go on a hospitality course. Maybe her heart isn't in it anymore.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tojd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Our Tour of Europe was booked using Trip Advisor but we had no idea that a change of plan would lead us to this glorious oasis hidden away near the river and hills close to Ceret. We planned one night and stayed for two but if our trip had allowed would have stayed longer in the calm of Lizzie's garden wending our way on the path to the pool to relax and swim. The whole atmosphere was so welcome in every way with lovely room, affording plenty of space, and a terrace with table and chairs to call our own. Breakfast was full of delights including fruit and croissants, egg or ham - a ritual rather than a hurried affair and Liz was there to advise where to go and what to do close by. She has a real interest in her guests that makes you feel special. Her obvious talents come from many years of travel and staying in different countries and experiencing other cultures that appear in the decor and interest in this wonderful place to stay..... for as long as you can!

Room Tip: Room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raggedrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Despite being quite difficult to get to if dependent on public transport, this place proved to be the highlight of an anniversary trip. Beautiful apartment, great views, great weather, friendly staff and nice breakfast. I spent hours out on the balcony after sunset just listening to the crickets and the neighbourhood dogs, and the sense of perfect relaxation was hard to beat. We walked the back roads into the little town of Ceret - a 2 hour round trip - and I'd highly recommend it. I'll go back to the area and Mas Pallares one day, once I learn how to drive

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed at Mas Pallares at the beginning of August this year. Mas Pallares is a Catalan farmhouse set in a garden planted with oleander, hibiscus and wisteria. There are lovely views of the mountains and green wooded valley.
Nearby Céret has a huge Saturday market where we stocked up with local produce including girolle mushrooms, sardines, fromage blanc, honey and olive oil soap.
Because we booked rather late and only wanted to stay for 6 nights, rather than the usual 7, we spent the first night in one of Lizzie's exquisitely decorated B&B rooms ... we were led up a spiral staircase to a double room with a Pre-Raphaelite theme and gorgeous hand-painted furniture, a door led to a small adjoining room with bunk beds - perfect for the children. The windows looked out onto the garden, we could have quite happily spent our entire holiday there. The beds were comfortable and the room beautifully clean. Breakfast was served on the terrace - cereal, croissants, fruit, and yogurt.
We then moved to one of the self catering apartments "La Terrasse" which consisted of a twin bedded room, a shower room, and a kitchen area with a pull-out double bed. The door opened directly to the beautiful terrace where we ate our meals. The cooking facilities were fairly basic - 2 small electric hobs, but perfectly adequate for cooking simple meals.
The swimming pool was very welcome during the heat of the day. At night, after the children had gone to bed, we sat on the terrace with olives and wine and listening to the crickets. Bliss!
We ate out in Céret several times the best restaurants we found were in the 'Place de 9 jets', especially 'La Fontaine'. Other activities we enjoyed were trips to beaches (about 30 mins drive). Swimming in a nearby lake. Visiting the Picasso Museum in Céret.
We had a lovely time and Lizzie was a perfect host.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceret
0.6 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vidal
Hotel Vidal
#3 of 5 in Ceret
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel des Arcades
Hotel des Arcades
#2 of 5 in Ceret
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
Appart'hotel Castel Emeraude
#1 of 7 in Amelie-les-Bains-Palalda
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
L'Escalivade
L'Escalivade
#1 of 12 in Ceret
23 reviews
1.4 mi away
Poppys Chambres d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Pallares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Pallares

Property: Mas Pallares
Address: 7 Also Andrioux, 66400 Ceret, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ceret
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ceret
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing