We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Castlemead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castlemead Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Manorbier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful sea view from our room and restaurant table. Breakfasts and evening meals were most enjoyable. Staff were friendly and gave helpful advice. A great location, close to Manobier Beach and the coastal footpath.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Glad you enjoyed the wedding and food etc , the damp was a leaking pipe to the radiator , now been sorted. Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a wedding. The location was wonderful and the wedding perfect. The staff, food and facilities were great.

Our room was in need of some tlc and seemed to be suffering some damp, not what I expected for £100 per night though the sea view was gorgeous.

Breakfast was lovely and high quality.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emmie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

We are really pleased Manorbier worked its magic and you enjoyed the stay Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned from another (probably 5th) wonderful stay at lovely Manorbier. The staff at Castlemead could not have been more helpful to our three families including two 2-year olds. The relaxing informality does not detract from the quality of the service and the superb meals that are provided - this is genuine fine dining.
Pembrokeshire is known to be beautiful and the views from Castlemead match those in any other part of the county.
Gordon

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view of the sea (south side); apart from the view they are generally larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

It is always lovely to welcome back regular customers and meet the new generations, and a pleasure to feed young children whom enjoy good food.
We look forward to seeing you again. Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. There are rooms in the coaching house which allow dogs. This is great as there are so many beautiful beaches to visit. The food was delicious, we enjoyed some exciting new dishes from our first visit. Looking forward to going again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Thank you so much , lovely to see returning guests whom appreciate what we do,
Look forward to seeing you soon Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had our wedding at the castle, and our reception at castlemead hotel. (01.08.14) Our closest friends and family stayed at the hotel with us. The hotel were fab, Lorna was so accommodating and we couldn't have been happier. They were flexible allowing us to really make the day our own. We ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant, all of which were lovely. As was our bbq dinner which we had at our wedding. Our children were made to feel welcome and really enjoyed the garden. The rooms were of a good standard, the bridal suite was beautiful and it was great to have the living room area to relax and spend time together. The views were amazing, and the hotel went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and make our special day run smoothly. If you are looking for somewhere unique to stay, with a bit of character, a homely feel, great food and views this is definitely the place for you! We will definitely be returning for many anniversaries to come. Thank you to Lorna and all of the staff.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachMiles83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

A really lovely bridal party , it was a pleasure to cater for all the guests whom were so relaxed and happy, Good luck , see you hopefully on your anniversary.

Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is charming and in a nice location however you will find hundreds of these hotels in Pembrokeshire. We were very disappointed in the complete lack of the staff in any interaction with the guests. The whole conversation I had in 5 days was at the check in which went roughly like this:
ME: hello, I have made a reservation for 2 rooms
STAFF: you have room 2 and 4. I will show them to you.
No inquiries whether we were enjoying our stay, not even at check out. None at all. I could imagine this in a mega chain hotel but not in a family run hotel. Definitely not to a guest which brings 10 nights in revenue.
The fact that the dog was allowed but only in the room and in none of the public spaces, ruled out for us breakfast and dinner in the hotel.
Internet is available if you can find the sweet spot in yr room where you can receive it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SDusault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorna316, Owner at Castlemead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I am really sorry and surprised to read this review , as one can see from previous guests our staff and their attitude are one of our strengths .
This family booked for 4 people & dog in 2 rooms , and arrived as a 5 during dinner time with their own camp bed, we provide these ourselves if needed , we immediately offered linen for the bed and showed guests the layout and mealtimes. We certainly did not tell them the dog was not allowed any where other than the room.

During this period we had 4 other dogs staying and guests ate in the garden visible to the family in their front room at both breakfast and dinner , we serve breakfast in the bedroom if required if people don't wish to leave the dogs , some put them in the car during mealtimes , we are happy with what ever suits.
We have never had people unable to eat or use our facilities because of their dog.

I am sorry if this misconception marred their stay , some guests wish to be private and we respect this and assumed this was the case here. It is difficult to interact with guests if you don't see them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Me and my husband decided to go walking in Pembrokeshire last weekend and chose to stay at Castlemead. We arrived at a charming Bed and Breakfast full of charm. Our room was beautifully decorated and felt very fresh. For both evenings we ate at the restaurant and was surprised at the fantastic selection on offer, they certainly give you generous portions (which is great after a day of walking). They will also make you up a packed lunch, you can choose whatever filling for your sandwich you like, fruit, yoghurt and we had a chocolate eclair! Nothing is too much for the staff at Castlemead they were extremely welcoming and very friendly throughout our stay! The restaurant has beautiful views across the garden and sea. Castlemead is in a perfect location for the beach, just 10 min walk down the road (nice for an after dinner stroll) and from the beach you can get straight onto the cliff walks... perfect!

Thank you Castlemead for a really wonderful weekend, we have recommended you to family and friends.

Best Wishes

Danielle & André

Room Tip: I liked our room and it was overlooking the quiet car park but i know there are rooms over looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scherpenzeel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manorbier hotels
0.9 mi away
YHA Manorbier
YHA Manorbier
#1 of 1 in Manorbier
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brynteg Bed and Breakfast - Manorbier
0.1 mi away
Manorbier Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemead Hotel

Address: Manorbier, Manorbier SA70 7TA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Manorbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Manorbier
Price Range: £96 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlemead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemead is beautifully situated at the head of a small wooded valley, overlooking the sea, Norman church & castle.Set in half an acre of pleasant, mature grounds and lawns it offers a gloriously relaxing spot, in the heart of the village, yet only 500 yards from the beach. A small comfortable unpretentious 4 star restaurant with rooms, we have an excellent reputation for good food. out door dining in the summer months, and warm cosy meals by the fire come winter.We have nine bedrooms all en suite with beverage facilities/colour T.V. The restaurant, lounge bar all enjoy glorious views, giving direct access to the garden. Three of our rooms are situated in the Coach house set 20 yards from the main building across the car park, ideal for guests who have problems with stairs or wish to bring there dogs with them. Family rooms are available, central heating is throughout, with open fires to warm you when necessary. Castlemead offers an idyllic spot for walkers as the coastal path crosses the car park at the bottom of our garden, bird watchers and nature lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castlemead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemead Hotel Manorbier, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing