We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
57
31
10
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
31
10
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyouth hostelcamping podsself catering kitchencoastal pathbed roomthe cliffcommunal kitchenstaff were lovelysupper clubprivate bedroomgreat location for walkscommunal areastoilets showerswe've stayedyour doorstepenglish breakfastexcellent facilities
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Great location for walks, beach, kayaking, sightseeing. Tasty breakfast, but could be served longer...
We slept in a pod and was ok.warm even with window opened and night was cold.
Nice staff and great price

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank M0nikag85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin A, Manager at YHA Manorbier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I visited this hostel last summer and found it to be excellent - very accommodating with good facilities. It was a difficult task booking the date I needed this summer so had to be very flexible but even so it came in at over 70 GBP which, in hindsight, might have been better spent on a Premier Inn or local guesthouse. All the facilities are still there but it was sad that the Supper Club no longer exists as that provided good value for money food. The Shrinkle Cafe proved to be overpriced and the quality of the food provided was exceptionally poor. We had paid the same for a meal the previous evening at a pub in Little Haven and got a much better meal. The room was OK but again for 70 quid it seemed a lot of money for a room which didn't even have a bathroom. The room light flickered when it was on and being a fairly large hostel it was quite noisy. The room got very hot at night and the 'waterproof' mattresses were sweaty but overall we slept well and it was a comfortable nights stay. The location is great and perfect for exploring the local area. Perhaps given I prefer the intimacy of smaller hostels I may have been a little harsh here but 3/5 is 'average' and I'd say that was exactly how it felt - average. Had I not eaten there I'd have given it 4/5.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melanie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin A, Manager at YHA Manorbier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear you were not so impressed this time.

This year we did not have a supper club offering but we did offer a much larger choice of café items, some of which are still at pretty low prices, also as before children under 10 do eat free (I'm not sure what age your children are?). I would be interested to know which aspect of your meal you were unhappy about, we have had many comments about the changes to our catering operation. A lot have been positive but obviously not all. If a customer informs us at the time we would do our best to rectify any problems.

We are not always the cheapest accommodation option locally in the peak season but I don't think there are many places that are better value. We do have a great location and our self catering facilities do make it easy to keep the cost down if this is a consideration.

If you are YHA members or visit outside the school holidays the price comes down considerably.

I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations this year but I do hope we see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at a number of YHAs this Summer and this one is really good. It's spacious and clean, with quite a modern feel. Easy parking, great showers. We loved the beach in Manorbier for body boarding and the walk along the coast near the hostel was spectacular.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank RobJTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin A, Manager at YHA Manorbier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful Pembrokeshire coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a midpoint whilst walking the coastal path between amroth and bosherston.
It was £99 for a family ensuite bunk room, but that didn't include breakfast (£6:25 each) or towels (£2 each). So not very cheap for what it was. It served the purpose, but a couple of niggles were the catch on the en suite shower door didn't work, and the shower temperature couldn't adjust, and was much too hot.
We ate there in the evening, as it's 1.3 miles to the village pub.
Again a bit pricey for what it was, as only chilli on the menu in cafe surroundings, though it was very tasty.
Breakfast reasonable for the price.
There's a beautiful beach a very short walk away with fantastic rock formations.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Walnutgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin A, Manager at YHA Manorbier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

The price you paid for the room is the standard price during peak season, if you hold YHA membership you can get a substantial discount, or if you do visit off season our prices are usually considerably less.

Since your stay we have fixed the catch and the shower temperature control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We are a group of 5 22-25 year old's who go away once a year somewhere in the UK to keep in touch as we live in different areas.

When booking we specifically chose somewhere we thought would be suitable for us as we wanted to go out in Tenby town in the nights and be near the beach in the day so the YHA seemed perfect; what they don't tell you before you book is that they don't actually want groups of young people at the Hostel and will make that very clear to you - Members of staff confirmed to us that the website and information online is completely misleading and hasn't been updated to reflect the kind of audience they have decided to now appeal to.

So Thursday we arrive and the Hostel is pretty empty and it is very clear we are not welcome at all. The rooms are basic but expected by Hostel standards although the Cardiff and Bristol ones are far nicer.

Friday we hit the town on recommendations of where to go by staff - I should also point out here that it was costing over £80 per day by taxi to get into Tenby town when we were told it was very close to Town.

Saturday Morning my mate gets up to use the toilet to have 'Zoe' shout at her to pack our stuff and get out because of a noise complaint. No further explanation, not willing to let us say our piece just constantly shouting get out or i'm phoning the police and apparently it's not for youths yet ironically it is called A YOUTH HOSTEL.

I can understand we were probably loud coming in as we had been out but your own staff told us we were sold this under false pretenses and we were treated horribly from the get go and they knew exactly what we were there for with the exception of a staff member with blue hair who was literally the only helpful person who had time for us.

They refused to give us a refund as well and threw us out on one of the busiest weekends of the year knowing we would be stranded - they didn't even give us chance to apoligise Zoe just kept shouting over and over again. If you don't want young groups staying then fine but don't take the money and then complain about groups staying there just don't accept the booking in the first place.

Considering we were up late with another group too who were not thrown out we were quite clearly being targeted - YHA Manorbier didn't want us there from the beginning and couldn't wait to throw us out. Other groups in the Hostel were also playing music so loud our walls were vibrating at 7am but they weren't even spoken to about it even though we told Zoe this but again just the response get out i'm calling the police was given.

I'm sure they will love the fact that i'm going to say don't stay if your a group but YHA take some responsibility and don't take money off young groups then throw them out - you know the score with young people and going out in Tenby!

Also apparently the Manager had no clue we had even been thrown out? If they wanted to throw us out they could of at least let us speak and could of at the very least treated other groups the same as they were noisier than us but no that wasn't the case. We were not even given a reasonable explanation as to why we were being thrown out without getting our money refunded.

Also the Wi-fi is awful and you won't get signal for love nor money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RCarysx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin A, Manager at YHA Manorbier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks for your review. We are sorry that our accommodation was not suitable for your group however I do not think you were mislead about this. We never claim to be the best place for groups of young people who want to have a lively night out in Tenby. Firstly because, as you point out, taxi's into Tenby are quite costly as it is 6 miles each way, and secondly because our main customer type is usually families with young children and school groups who are here to experience the quiet beauty of the Pembrokeshire coast. As such we can not permit guests to come back in the early hours of the morning and disturb a lot of our other guests.

If you had contacted us at the Hostel in advance of your stay we would have been happy to discuss your requirements and inform you of transport issues. As you point out our properties in Cardiff and Bristol are much more suited to your requirements as they have buildings that are close to the nightlife and allow for separating families with young children from lively groups of young people who are looking for a party Hostel.

As a smaller property we often can not separate our family/school group customers from the occasional group such as yours who are here for the nightlife. Because of this we do have to insist that customers are considerate to each other during the night. We received quite a few complaints about the disturbance your group caused, and to prevent a repeat of that the following night our staff felt that had to ask you to leave.

As Hostel Manager I was not aware of the situation as I was away from the Hostel at the time, but I was informed of the situation as soon as I returned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews