We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliness at the top of the list for this French Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendliness at the top of the list for this French Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I found this last minute upon arriving in Mende France, late afternoon. this 18th century stagecoach stop, has all the great charm of days gone by. The reception area is welcoming and fresh with graceful ambiance.

The hotel staff fluent in English is eager to serve.

The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. My room offered asurprise as i unlocked the door and entered a little sitting room with a spiral staircase leading to the upstairs bedroom. New windows keep my street side room in the center of this quite. Great location and on site parking. Dining room serves delicious dinners reminding me of one the reasons I have returned to France. The cooking of course!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TriFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    90
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
155
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The service at the hotel was excellent. The room was well appointed and quiet.
But the standout was the restaurant. Food and service was excellent.
If you're driving through the area this is a perfect spot to rest up and eat well for the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in the annex -which is located a block or two away from the main building of the hotel (and even more in the centre of Mende). I had specifically asked for it as a mezzanine family room was advertised on their website. The room was beautiful, spacious and modern yet the character of the old building remained. The staff was super friendly and food in the restaurant delicious. Highly recommended hotel and restaurant!

Room Tip: There is no lift in the annex. We were told so when we booked the room -some people may have an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelleinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I spent just one night during a business trip. The hotel is located at the centre of Mende in a nicely restaured old building. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. Free wifi was a plus.
The highlight of the hotel is its restaurant, though. We had dinner and the set menu was excellent and great value for money! I would definitelly recommend it and would like to go back for leisure this time

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aek21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mende, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The one low rating on this hotel deals exclusively with a single dinner, not the lodging. This is a grand facility located at the edge of the city center. It is an old building that has been lovingly upgraded with modern appliances without losing its ambience. The owner, Luke, as well as several of the staff, speak fluent English (as well as other languages) and he, as well as the staff, understand the need for good client relations. They insure that your stay is the best possible.

I am working in Mende for a month so I spent time checking out the majority of the lodges visiting the rooms and talking (if possible) with the staff. None were as nice and comfortable as Hotel de France. Frankly, it deserves more than 3 stars and is clearly the best lodging in Mende.

The facility has air conditioning, something that is not necessary available in all facilities. This is important when staying in a lodge located in town. Though the evenings are cool in the summer, the trafic can cause challenges to sleep if your room is on the road side. This is overcome by closing the double pane windows and kicking on the AC. The double pane windows (and wooden shudders) really stop the road noise insuring a great sleep. Mattresses are a bit hard which is fairly typical so I packed along a foam pad. (Oh, I love my foam pad and think it well worth the luggage space.)

The off road parking is important as parking in the down town area can be challenging. I leave my keys with the front desk so that if they need to jockey the cars to facilitate other guests, it is possible. No worry, this place is safe.

The restaurant is a nice bonus but the prices are a bit high for a working man. I eat breakfast at the hotel then lunch and dinner out. Food at the hotel is the grand French, many small and incredibly tasty servings. If you expect to be served the typical USA portion, you will be disappointed. Slow down and enjoy.

There is no workout center so you can stay guilt free.

I hope this helps,
Ken

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel looks traditional. It is well kept, quiet and clean. The staff were helpful. My room was spacious, well appointed and comfortable except for the cold floor tiles ( in October). It had a large bathroom. There is no lift; staff will help to carry bags. It has an upmarket restaurant serving fine food which appears to be as important as the hotel. You need to go elsewhere for more straightforward meals. In contrast, the breakfast was very basic with no hot selection and not worth €10. There is a charge of €5 per day to put your own drinks in the mini-fridge in the room ( no food allowed). There is no electric kettle/tea/coffee in the room and a when I asked if this was available i was told 'No'. These simple services could be improved to meet modern traveller expectations.

Room Tip: There is no lift. If this is a problem ask for a room with level access
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

4 of us travelled to Mende to watch the EWC final round and we were given the 2 basement rooms in the Annex. The hotel owner went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable, moving his own car on 3 occassions so that we could have off-street parking. When we enquired about Tea and Coffee facilities in the rooms, he lent us the necessary (kettle, mugs, spoons) and gave us milk, coffee and sugar. When we checked out there was a one-off service charge for this kindness.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mende
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Drakkar
Hotel Le Drakkar
#3 of 6 in Mende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Pont Roupt
Hotel du Pont Roupt
#2 of 6 in Mende
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
23.4 mi away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#1 of 8 in Meyrueis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Deltour Hotel Mende City
17.2 mi away
Logis Chez Camillou
Logis Chez Camillou
#1 of 1 in Aumont Aubrac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant  du Luxembourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 9 boulevard Lucien Arnault, 48000 Mende, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Mende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing