We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel with a Great Restaurant”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We recently visited the Tarn Gorge area ( fantastic views ) and stayed at this hotel. The Room was fine and the staff very helpful. What made the stay so good was their Restaurant - both the food and the service was first class.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spitthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Yesterday we had an exceptional meal at the restaurant of Hotel de France in Mende. Just by chance we went there without reservation. I think we were lucky. Other people who came later were out of luck. The food, we took the menu for € 31.00. It was excellent! The staff were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hanny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel quite by accident. It is located in the center of the old town, surrounded by interesting architecture and shops. The staff was very welcoming, room gorgeous and meals in the restaurant exceptional. They were in the process of installing a lift so if you cannot do stairs, you may want to inquire if the installation is complete before booking. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Upon arrival we where welcomed in the most friendly way and shown to our more than beautiful room with a nice cosy seat in a small living room with a nice wood stove. The bed is huge, the bathroom beautiful and the hotel looks, smells and is spotless clean. If travelling in this area I highly recommend you to stay here. Absolutely one of the finest places I have stayed in here in France.

Room Tip: Room 23 is a super room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We booked the Hotel de France after reading reviews on Trip Advisor.

The welcome and our encounter with each member of staff was excellent, genuinely warm and friendly and very welcoming. We arrived after a long journey and, despite the restaurant being busy, the manager took time to show us to our bedroom and explain the facilities. We stayed in a newly refurbished bedroom which was spacious, well appointed and immaculately clean.

Breakfast was simple, yet fresh, plentiful and enjoyable and the lady who looked after breakfast service was charming and friendly too, giving us information about the town and our onward route to commence a drive though the nearby Gorges du Tarn.

Mende itself was surprisingly a large town and its historical centre and cathedral fascinating (sadly we did not have very much time to explore further but will return).

If you are exploring the region and either starting or ending a drive through the Gorges du Tarn, Hotel du France is an ideal base and a comfortable place to stay. Sadly our stay was only for one night and we also did not get the opportunity to eat in the restaurant which looked excellent too, will definitely book a table for our next stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank petercheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I found this last minute upon arriving in Mende France, late afternoon. this 18th century stagecoach stop, has all the great charm of days gone by. The reception area is welcoming and fresh with graceful ambiance.

The hotel staff fluent in English is eager to serve.

The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. My room offered asurprise as i unlocked the door and entered a little sitting room with a spiral staircase leading to the upstairs bedroom. New windows keep my street side room in the center of this quite. Great location and on site parking. Dining room serves delicious dinners reminding me of one the reasons I have returned to France. The cooking of course!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TriFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The service at the hotel was excellent. The room was well appointed and quiet.
But the standout was the restaurant. Food and service was excellent.
If you're driving through the area this is a perfect spot to rest up and eat well for the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mende
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Pont Roupt
Hotel du Pont Roupt
#2 of 6 in Mende
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deltour Hotel Mende City
23.4 mi away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#2 of 8 in Meyrueis
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Logis Chez Camillou
Logis Chez Camillou
#1 of 2 in Aumont Aubrac
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Drakkar
Hotel Le Drakkar
#5 of 6 in Mende
70 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
#1 of 8 in Meyrueis
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 9 boulevard Lucien Arnault, 48000 Mende, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Mende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Price Range: £96 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing