We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was a very nice hotel, in the center of town, accommodations were fantastic the service was super, the price was great, the food was amazing.
What a quaint, charming location.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel owner plans to build a conservatory over the outside dining area - we'll return for that. We booked a suite, but the bathroom was way up the other end, past an awkward area where the desk was, and past a s'sitting room' which was really just another alcove for a single bed (but it did have a TV there too). Our main bedroom was lovely - opened out onto a huge terrace that in busy times would be shared by others. However, curtains were lightwewight, so was glary/hot even for May (would hate to be there in August!). We will return, but next time will ask for a room on the other side, near a 2nd lift area, to avoid flights of stairs to our own room (number 10). We entered our room, then had 2 flights of steps to get up into it. Awkward!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A most welcoming arrival by the proprietor Luc. After a long drive in torrential rain this Hotel was like being in Heaven which proved to be the case when we ate in their restaurant.It warrants being a 5 star assesment highly recommended.




Stayed: October 2013
Thank brianlearoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The room in this hotel was very light and spacious with a roof terrace, the staff were very friendly and the meal was first class, better than the Michelin starred restaurant we had eaten in the previous night.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stumbled across this gem whilst looking for a hotel in mende, we were greeted by the owner, who spoke fluent english, and he showed us to a lovely room. The hotel staff were (family i suspect) very friendly and helpful.The furnishings were 1970's style but in very good order,and very clean. Parking is available if your one of the first 6 customers of the day. The breakfast was good and the coffee was the best we found in all of france !!!./the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the old part of town, full of restaurants and shops. Great stop over

Room Tip: They all seem pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We found this hotel by accident because we couldn't find a campsite. There were no three bed rooms in the hotel itself so we were put in the annexe which is about a five minute walk from the main building. The room was beautiful - with a double-bed and bathroom on one floor and two single-beds on the floor above. The shower was amazing! We had dinner in the restaurant - it was absolutely delicious. The 31 euro menu was great value for the quality of food on offer - from the amuse bouche at the start to the amazing grand marnier souffle I had for dessert! The staff were all extremely helpful and very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who happens to be in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mevall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Hotel was easy to find, parking no problem, quiet, great bathroom. breakfast is a bit disorganized and over-priced but staff is friendly, albeit a bit harried. I did not eat there as it looks a bit pompous and very much for blue haired ladies. Why anyone would go to Mende except as a stopover is beyond me- quiet a dull place....

Room Tip: i had no trouble at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdd955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mende
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Pont Roupt
Hotel du Pont Roupt
#2 of 6 in Mende
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deltour Hotel Mende City
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Drakkar
Hotel Le Drakkar
#5 of 6 in Mende
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#2 of 8 in Meyrueis
506 reviews
14.5 mi away
Chateau de la Caze
Chateau de la Caze
#3 of 5 in Sainte-Enimie
337 reviews
17.2 mi away
Logis Chez Camillou
Logis Chez Camillou
#1 of 2 in Aumont Aubrac
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 9 boulevard Lucien Arnault, 48000 Mende, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Mende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Price Range: £94 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing