We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”
Review of Chateau de la Caze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de la Caze
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sainte-Enimie
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As a recent reviewer reported, this is truly a magical place. The medieval castle with two towers and a small moat is located on half a mile of beautifully landscaped private riverfront ground nestled within the Tarn river gorge. As there are no other visible structures around and the number rooms are very small, this place is very private. We felt like guests of the castle owner rather than just hotel visitors. One morning, we took a half an hour walk by ourselves along the river. The view of the river with clouds hanging inside the gorge was simply heavenly.

While the castle is very well decorated with antiques to maintain outstanding historical ambience, the rooms are of good size, well equipped with all modern amenities expected for 4* plus hotel. We found the staff are very professional, welcoming and helpful. We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The meals were very good with excellent services.

This visit was a stopover for us on our way back to Paris from Barcelona via Carcassonne. We wished we had stayed longer to canoe. It would be very scenic trip -- better than many top-rated river canoe trips in the United States (e.g. Buffalo National River).

Driving tip: The GPS directed us to a very difficult route (D998) to St Eminie. This route involved a very steep descent from the top to the bottom of the gorge on a narrow winding road. The view on this route was spectacular. However, it was a very nerve wracking experience for the driver in a rental car as the gorge was on the right hand side of the road. A better inbound route from the South would be to travel along the river from Millau via D907 to La Malene on to the castle (located between La Malene and St Eminie). The outbound trip can be on D998 as the car would be on inside with the gorge on the left for much safer driving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maturetraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a magical place, restored and kept as original as possible without compromise to comfort and modern convenience. The location in the gorge du Tarn by the river is un beatable. It was like living back in time like the owners of the chateau did, the place was full of beautiful antiques and alcoves. The rooms were comfortable and the beds were good quality. Most of the staff were very helpfully especially the manager and front desk person. They arranged meals and kayaking at our convenience.the meals were generally good, some courses were excellent while other courses were average to poor. They excelled at desert. The bar is very nice and a great place to relax and use the wifi.

Room Tip: The room in the top floor with the bathroom in the tower is large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have been putting off writing this review, because I do not know if I can do the property and location justice. I am a well traveled person and have been so fortunate to see places in this world that others will just dream about. My sister and I stayed in the Souberayne apartment in the castle. I believe this apartment is their most expensive and exclusive. It was 294E per night. We had large windows opening onto the view of the Gorges du Tarn and river which was simply incredible. The apartment consisted of a sitting area, a fabulous king bed with all of the 15 th century looking amazing furniture and a separate bedroom with twin beds of period furniture. The walls are stone with beams in the ceilings. One bathroom is in the turret, incredible, the other more ordinary and a separate WC. The castle was built in 1488. The castle and grounds are amazing. The service is outstanding and friendly. The food is fabulous. We ate every breakfast and dinner there. We had paid for half board but would just do a la carte next time and make our own selections rather than getting the prix fix meal. Oh, and of course, we can't wait to go back and we will stay longer next time. Book well in advance.

Room Tip: The rooms in the castle are preferable as they have the charm of the 15th century. I have spent much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank junechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Château Caze N, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Caze, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014
Google Translation

Mesdames,

La Direction et toute l'équipe du Château de la Caze vous remercie de votre chaleureux
commentaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Although a little out of the way, this is a magnificent property. We absolutely loved the experience. We also had a mishap on the way (it's not an easy drive for Australians if you are coming from the top) however, the service we received from the Chateau owner and staff was exemplary. The food is meticulously presented and served. I particularly loved having a wine in front of the fireplace. Make sure you ask to see the heritage dining room and go outside to see the trout. We would have loved to have visited in summer when we could have made full use of the river and swimming pool. For Australians wanting to stay in a castle, this is the one. Beautifully done.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Melchior room. Just beautiful. For something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deab944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed as a couple at this beautiful chateau for two nights in April 2013. It was wonderful. The service was premium and all were so very helpful when we had a misadventure on the windy road. We ate all meals while here, and loved the food and meticulous service - loved the detail in presentation etc. This was a true experience, and would recommend to anyone travelling the beautiful Tarn Gorge to stay here and definitely to stay within the magnificent 1480's chateau itself. We had a room with the bathroom being part of the tower and a view down the river. A place full of history, atmosphere, mystique and great staff.
Colin & Helen Tarn, Australia

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with my wife and 3 daughters; the SOUBEYRANE Apt. was a made of 2 joined rooms (main room with a king-size bed and + an interior room with 2 singles) and 2 bathrooms, one very uniquely set in a section of the tower (with bathtub), the other on the opposite side of the room (with shower only); the room has large windows overlooking a bend in the river, and the tall cliffs rising just above; had 2 dinners at the hotel restaurant: very good food, albeit relatively expensive; the Chateau itself is nicely appointed, with a sort of a mysterious flair, and is beautifully set just along the river; if you are here: do not miss the boat ride on the Tarn, and in this regard the end of September certainly had its benefits, as we were the only boat to do that on that day (I understand that during the peak months - July-August, hundreds of boats are taking out and I imagine it is quite difficult then to enjoy the pristine setting of the gorge); all in all: highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SemperParatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Having recently spent 3 weeks in France, from Paris to Massif Central to Cote d'Azur, the highlight of our vacation was the day we spent at this spectacular authentic Chateau nestled in the Gorges du Tarn. From our initial internet inquiry, reservation, reception to our final moments, the owner, Chantal and her staff, welcomed us as special guests. Imagine this authentic 500 year old castle fully equipped with all the amenities. While dining on the outdoor terrace, I couldn't help but think of the "girls" who lived here, playing and running on the site and in the hallways of the castle. (a real castle, NOT a Disney knock-off). The food, beautifully prepared and served attentively by Marc and his team made our stay all the more enjoyable. Delicious. A cognac by the fireplace capped the evening! I cannot image a single complaint; unless one travels with their nose up in the air! No pretensions here, unlike Monaco! Merci. Formidable.

Room Tip: Ask Chantal, the owner for what is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Tourists581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Enimie
11.3 mi away
Chateau D'Ayres
Chateau D'Ayres
#2 of 8 in Meyrueis
507 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
Hotel du Mont Aigoual
#1 of 8 in Meyrueis
237 reviews
3 mi away
Manoir de Montesquiou
Manoir de Montesquiou
#1 of 1 in La Malene
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Burlatis
Hotel Burlatis
#1 of 5 in Sainte-Enimie
247 reviews
12 mi away
Hotel de la Muse et du Rozier
3.4 mi away
L'Auberge du Moulin
L'Auberge du Moulin
#2 of 5 in Sainte-Enimie
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Caze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Caze

Address: route des Gorges du Tarn | Sainte Enimie, 48210 Sainte-Enimie, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lozere > Sainte-Enimie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sainte-Enimie
Price Range: £122 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Caze 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de la Caze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Caze Hotel Sainte-Enimie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing