We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza”
Review of Basta Cosi !

Basta Cosi !
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Basta Cosi is open seven days a week from noon to 2:00PM. The evening monday, tuesday, wednesday, thursday and sunday from 7:30PM to 10:30PM. Friday and saturday evening from 7:30PM to 11:00PM
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pizza”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

What a dissapointetment when a restaurant says they serve Italian pizza and it comes out of a electric oven. Eveything else was good but wish they cooked the pizza in a fire oven. Makes a big difference to the taste!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    181
    52
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tough Pizza”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Actually found this establishments pizza to be tough to even cut with a knife! Very little desirable about this smaller, hard to find and get to restaurant near the charming town of Villeneuve Les Avignon. Only reason we searched it out was we were a bit on overload with some other amazing restaurants in the area and wished to have a lighter meal for a change of pace. Nothing Italian about this pizza place. Our advice: find another.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexofsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bastacosi30, Gérant at Basta Cosi !, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Hope for you Sir that you did find another one !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Poor quality for high cost”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently ate at this restaurant during our stay in Villeneuve-Les-Avignon and found it to be just okay. We walked from our hotel and it was about 20-25 minutes and part of the way was very dark and a bit unsafe. The decor was fine but the chairs wobbled and were not very comfortable. Our waitress was nice and attentive. We asked to share a salad appetizer, but the waitress brought us each a salad instead, which also didn't have a lot of flavor to them. I added some olive oil and found that there was some unexpected hot spice in the oil, which left my mouth feeling like it was on fire and also a lingering bad taste. For our main courses, we both had the Ravoili with mushrooms and asparagus. It was good, but the quality of the pasta was not great and it was a bit rubbery. We had split a bottle of Barbera d'Asti, which was expensive for the vintage and year. Overall, the bill much much greater than than our previous nights' a meal, which had a better decor, shorter walk and a higher quality of food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sasalliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bastacosi30, Gérant at Basta Cosi !, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello,

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the food that much. Maybe the next time you come over in the region you could try another meal... You shouldn't stay on that first experience, you could be surprised :) As for your walk at night time, as I had suggested you, anywhere on earth at night time is never really safe! Even in the calmer area It's a risk that you take, nothing to do with the Basta Cosi! However, Villeneuve Lez Avignon is a very pretty village where going for a walk anytime of the day or night is pleasant.

I hope to see you again next time you come and visit.
The management
Basta Cosi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pizza to-go-get-away..”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a cute little gem; not what you would expect seen from the outside

- We ordered two pizzas for take-away and they were both brilliant (although the spicy one was actually my favorite). Bit expensive for take away. They don't exactly look like the many pizzas I've had in Italy before (not as thin and crispy) but a stone oven, fresh quality ingredients, a nice crust and a little flour sprinkle dust will get you far. Plus - and this is really just an extra bonus - they seem like such good warmhearted people (they seemed concerned and friendly, and they actually translated the whole pizza out loud for me menu without me even having to ask for it, which seems to be rare in many places in France). I absolutely love the artsy deco as well..

To sum up - for France, it's a good pizza-to-go-get-away!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeLeaveMagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location but disappointing food”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very nice design of a restaurant in an old factory. Lots of parking and also open on Mondays. Unfortunately they the food was not tasty. Frozzen Pizza .. just warmed up .... Pasta with out test. All drinks icl. water are to expencive. For Italiens a no go. The service could be much better. Maybe it was Monday. The Pizza and Pasta was much better in the Italien Take a' Way 300 m above, were we ended up at the end.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MUCK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bastacosi30, Propriétaire at Basta Cosi !, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Sir,

Here is my straigh anwser to you.

Fisrt of all, like i had kindly explained to you our pizzas, as well as the rest of our dishes are freshly made and prepared on site by our professional team. Our pizzaiolo has 35 years behind him, is welle known and everyone on Avignon and around nkows that. You didn't even touch the pizza, it was just wasted food, shame on you! you were cold and grumpy from the fisrt step into our restaurant. And dispact the fact that i offerd you to change your pizza or choose something else. We are not short in choices but you were just rude! As for the pasta, your wife seemed to enjoy it since she finished her plate and thanked me kindfully. She seemed very embarassed as well by your behaviour! If you were not hungry sir you just had to say it instead of publishing this lie on this site! WE DO NOT SALE FROZEN FOOD!!!!! I even invited you in my kitchen to show you how fresh is our paste and other meal, but you refused because you knew that you would feel embarassed by your faulse statement. Furthermore, you forgot to mention that I made all the effort to make it up to you by offering you whatever you would want and you did'nt even pay your pizza!! So please sir, stay on your take away because our friendly customers wether in france or abraod are all happy about our fresh food et service!

Enjoy your day, be happy!
La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basta Cosi ! also viewed

Avignon, Vaucluse
Avignon, Vaucluse
 
Villeneuve-les-Avignon, Gard
Villeneuve-les-Avignon, Gard
 

Been to Basta Cosi !? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing