We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, Fantastic B&B”
Review of La Douna B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Douna B&B
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Cheryl and Matthieu made me feel so welcome at their beautiful villa set high on the hills overlooking Avignon with views of the Papal Palace in the distance. My room had very tasteful decor and a large ensuite. The location is peaceful and has the bonus of very secure parking available on the property. Cheryl and Matthieu serve wonderful breakfasts on the patio using as much as possilble ingredients grown in their own garden. During my stay it was "Fathers Day" back in Australia and one of my daughters contacted Cheryl to arrange a gift of a bottle of wine for the occasion. I believe Cheryl went to a lot of trouble and even spent time looking for a suitable card even though the date did not coincide with the equivalent day in France.Both Cheryl and Matthieu also provided plenty of ideas for places to visit during my stay. I spent 10 weeks in France and this was one of the gems of the entire trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandbladouna, Owner at La Douna B&B, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
David, we just received notification for your review and I would like to thank you, you are too kind. We appreciated your company and hope to see you again sometime. Your family also seems very kind. Tell them hello for me.

Best Regards, Cheryl Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We ended our two week trip in France with four nights at La Douna, and we must concur with the good reviews posted here. Our hosts, Cheryl and her son Mattieu, were gracious and helpful, the property lovely, and the breakfasts fresh and delicious. We stayed in the spacious Estello suite and were quite comfortable. The pool was so inviting, but it was a little too cool for swimming in late September. Maybe next time, since we would certainly consider a return visit!

La Douna made a good base for exploring parts of Provence, and it was nice to come back to such a restful retreat. We found our Garmin very helpful not only in finding "home" but in getting us to our various destinations in Provence.

Room Tip: The Estello suite was spacious and quiet, with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eeash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this remarkable and well located b&b. Cheryl is a very good host always available and perfectly assisted by Mathieu. We would recommend to dine at the b&b. Very nice rooms and nice breakfast with quality food!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We spent 3 nights there during mid June with our 2 toddlers. We arrived late and had some problem locating the place even with our GPS. But Cheryl was really good in guiding us to her place. Her house is really huge! It is also very tastefully designed. The guest rooms are spacious and well equipped. The washer/dryer provided were really handy for us. Cheryl and her son are very helpful and informative. They provided us many suggestions on where to visit. Cheryl is a really warm host. The breakfast she prepared were very much better than those we got in the hotels. Our girls really enjoyed the place. They wanted very much to swim in the pool but we do not have the time as we were out from morning till late every day. They loved picking up eggs and plucking peaches every morning. They also enjoyed talking with their pet parrot. The place is big enough for them to run around safely. We loved the place and will definitely be back there again. We would like to thank both Cheryl and Matthieu for hosting. We are especially thankful for your help in our car rental issue. Thank you...we will be back...

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lilian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Incredible Stay!

We had the most amazing time! I can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed it. Cheryl and her son have done an exceptional job of providing service with incredible grace, making it look seamless and natural. Their hospitality was wonderful – everything from the little bowl of fruits to the helpful instructions to the hot breakfasts (which was a nice change from croissants)! They truly enjoy and take pride in what they do and it shows.

The property was exceptional. The pictures do not do it justice. The pool area comes complete with a hot tub, amazing view of Avignon, cabana, lots of chairs and kitchen and laundry room. We spent a lot of time in the pool which was great! The room we selected had a balcony and a really great view. I liked the décor in that it was a good mix of French and American – it felt really nice and modern and very comfortable.

Location wise its great . Its away from the busy town of Avignon but close enough to drive there. Its located walking distance to a really cute town called Villeneuve which we loved. It felt way less touristy and we ate at a really great restaurant called Aubergine. There are a bunch there but we love this one.

We’ve stayed at several B&Bs as well as 5 star hotels and La Douna ranks amongst the top! I only wish we stayed longer. We will return one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliza61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The property is exceptionally beautiful and our accommodations were very comfortable and spacious. Our hosts, Cheryl & Mathieu, were warm, accommodating to our needs, and made us feel more like family than paying guests. Breakfast was delicious and prepared to our own tastes. We loved our stay and wished we had planned to stay there a little longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauljenelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Cheryl and Matthew were excellent hosts and the quality of accommodation is far above B and B expectations.,

The setting and surrounding grounds are tranquil and we found it difficult to move on. Facilities were of a very high standard and breakfast food and service made us feel special.

Highly recommended

Errol and friends

Brisbane Australia

Room Tip: Cannot fault upper level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERROL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villeneuve-les-Avignon hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Suite
Hotel La Suite
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#3 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
340 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa Dupont d'Avignon
La Villa Dupont d'Avignon
#7 of 10 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
12 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Jardins de la Livree
Les Jardins de la Livree
#2 of 10 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Douna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Douna B&B

Property: La Douna B&B
Address: 42 Chemin du Mourion, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing