We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and friendly: the perfect base for exploring the south Rhone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Suite
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stylish and friendly: the perfect base for exploring the south Rhone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We found laid-back Villeneuve a much more appealing place to begin our driving holiday than Avignon proper. A lovely, low-rise and relatively tourist-free medieval town, with a vibrant local life and possibly the most relaxing little central square in the area, with a couple of nice looking restaurants and an excellent morning patisserie.
The La Suite is a pretty little hotel – boutique without being self-conscious – and run by a friendly, very helpful couple with eclectic, fun taste in interior design.
The room was a pleasure – fun, but tasteful décor (a difficult balance to achieve) and lovely bathroom. Avignon itself is glorious, but, with its narrow medieval streets flanked by tall, silent buildings, it can feel a bit gloomy. Villeneuve by contrast is a sunny, homely old town, with a pleasant workaday feel and some lovely courtyard monasteries, gardens, and its own castle, all a 45 minute walk (or five minute drive) from the Palais des Papes.
If you plan to stay in Avignon (and ideally have your own transport), this is absolutely the best place. It’s also a great base, with easy in-and-out access, for exporing the wine areas of Chateauneuf, the magical Dentelles, Tarascon, the antiques of l’Isle sur Sorgue, and the multitude of sights in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylo323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This modern, delightful little hotel is the complete package in a quiet little village 10 minutes drive from the beautiful town of Avignon. It was clean and had a warm atmosphere with breakfast served upstairs in a lovely grand room and the gardens and pool were well maintained. It provided secure parking for the car, while you could walk to its main square and enjoy the delights of the villages' little restaurants and cafes. We only stayed 1 night but would stay 4-5 nights next time to fully appreciate what it had to offer and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here over the Easter holidays in 2013 in the room with the terrace. The hotel is very well located, just a few mins walk from Villeneuve town centre and the main historic sites on the Villeneuve side of the river. The property has been recently renovated and incorporates original features (exposed brickwork and beams) with very tasteful modern twists (such as abstract sculptures in the garden and quirky paintings in the rooms) which work really well together. The standard of finish is very high throughout. The hotel was very quiet and we had no street noise in our room and so we slept very well.

The hotel is a family run business and the service is excellent. Steve, Sophie and Steve's dad were so helpful throughout our entire stay. The family are experienced hoteliers and it shows. La Suite is a real passion for them and its easy to be as excited as they are about the hotel! Breakfast is tasty and plentiful.

We will certainly be returning and have no hesitation recommending the hotel to family and friends, this is an excellent hotel and worthy of the highest praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullwinkle31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We will definitely be returning to this hotel. And, I've been recommending to all my friends; something which I've never done before. This small hotel is beautifully decorated, the welcome is genuine and refreshing. Yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have just stayed for a week at Hotel La Suite. The hotel is beautiful, very nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. We stayed in one of the suites with our six year old sleeping on the sofa bed. Because we were there in the off season, we didn't make as much use of the garden and swimming pool (still a bit too cool) but we spent a lot of time in the hotel and nearby. We thought it was charming. We also had to do some work whilst we were there (sadly) and so we can confirm that the wifi in the hotel is excellent,

We were really well looked after by Stephan and Sophie and we will certainly go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_calling381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

October 13, 2012


We liked everything about this hotel. Open only a year, the building is completely renovated and decorated to a high standard. Everything about the hotel felt clean and fresh. This is partly due to the entire hotel being non-smoking and to the use of pavers rather than carpeting. We had a spacious room on the 3rd (top) floor which had a comfortable bed, nice linen, and a beautiful, modern bathroom. The room also had a minibar, safe, free wifi, English tv channels, and a motion sensor lights system. Secure parking is also free. Our double room cost 149€ a night which we found to be a good value for the level of comfort and services provided.

The decor throughout the hotel is a blend of modern and traditional. The stunning dining room is straight out of Architectural Digest. Equal attention has been paid to the grounds which contain mature trees, sculpture, a pool, a grape and wisteria arbor, and tables and chairs. When the weather is fair, breakfast can be taken outside. By the way, don't be put off by the 14€ breakfast they advertise. You can also chose a traditional continental breakfast for 7€ each. The elevator is primarily used for transporting your luggage. Be sure to let them know if you have mobility issues so they can accommodate you. Villeneuve-les-Avignon is just the other side of the river from Avignon (only 3 km. away) but offers a more tranquil setting for dining and sleeping. It's also an easier base for visiting other popular sites in the area. You'll find Steve, Sophie, and his dad, Serge, to be warm and attentive hosts. We highly recommend staying at Hôtel La Suite.

Room Tip: We only saw our own room so don't know what the others are like. If you have mobility issues, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
339 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Be sure to reserve well in advance! This is a gorgeous, family-run hotel in a great location. Traveling with a adult son, we booked one of the suites. Though on the ground floor, with the window facing the street, it was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had both tub and walk-in shower and was immaculate. The building itself is a classic 17th century home just renovated as a hotel; the architectural features have been preserved. A lovely pool is in the back garden as well as private parking for the hotel.

The owner was so warm and helpful, making our stay even more enjoyable. An excellent restaurant, le Bistrot du Moulin, is just two doors down, and was a wonderful, relaxing way to end each day.

The lHotel La Suite is very convenient for day trips to St. Remy, Les Baux de Provence, Arles, etc. One avoids the congestion of Avignon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Antle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.2 mi away
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Ferme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Suite

Property: Hotel La Suite
Address: 65 rue de la Republique, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel La Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing