We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel is really conveniently located for exploring the nearby charming towns and sights, however the hotel itself is a bit tricky to find. From the parking a gorgeous flower archway leads to the inner courtyard and the reception. The grounds are really nice, especially the old lime tree, that was in full blossom during our stay. 
We stayed for two nights in the room #54, which was spacious, comfortably furnished and clean, however lacking individuality. The view over the pool was charming. The price for two nights was 495 euro (270+225). 
It appeared to have been limited choice of decent restaurants nearby, so we dined in the hotel. The food was great, but not exceptional. The service was inappropriately pompous. The total bill for two modest dinners a la carte without wine amounted to 370 euro. The unusual thing was to pay 42 euro for the starter, whereas the main course cost almost the same - 46-48 euro. 

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

We were traveling with friends that found a great rate for this hotel in the off-season. Mistral winds at the end of October made our sightseeing a little more challenging, but Le Prieuré offered a welcome refuge. The staff of both the hotel and restaurant were top notch. The room, just the classic, was wonderful. It was plenty big, nicely furnished, and had a nice view over the pool and grounds. Our meal, while not the bargain of the room rate (and in fact comparable in price), was incredible.

On a previous visit to Avignon, my wife and I stayed in Avignon proper which was nice for walking around the city, but was a challenge for parking as that hotel didn't have their own, and was blocks away from any parking whatsoever. I was slightly concerned about the convenience of Villeneuve-les-Avignon. While the hotel is a little hard to find, once you find it, you are pretty well set. There is plenty of parking, and if you want to visit Avignon, it is a short drive across the river. We drove across and parked under the Palais du Pape for our site seeing. As for finding the hotel, our GPS didn't have Place du Chapitre in its database, just Impasse du Chapitre, which as the name implies, is a dead end. Look at the map linked from Le Prieuré website before going if you are driving.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Great hotel to enjoy the history, art and beauty of Villeneuve Avignon and Avignon across the road. Staff were lovely and were particularly helpful with our one year old Grace. We were offered another room when the one allocated wasn't quite right as it didn't have a separate closed off area for our baby to sleep in. The setting was lovely and our lunch at the restaurant very very good. Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend! Merci!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boogso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful Province village. Very convenient location to visit other Provence villages, Marseille and Cassis. Beautiful rooms. Very comfortable stay with two boys aged 8 and 10. The restaurant has a Michelin star desering a Michelin star unlike the ones in the US. Very cordial and hospitable staf.

Room Tip: If you are travlling with kids room 1 is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozlem Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very nice large rooms - complete with large balcony. The bed was not that comfortable (sheets not 5 star quality). Large bathroom but no shower door – wet floor, minor inconvenience. Towels re-hung even if I put them on the floor. Restaurant was excellent but the ambiance could have used a classical guitar, harp or…something to enhance mood. At 200+ euro (for 2), dinner was well worth the experience. However, 25 Euros for continental breakfast was a bit high.No hot pots in room but they will deliver hot water for tea to the room (inconvenient). Staff friendly but for a 5 star establishment, they always seemed short handed. Excellent location, a bit hard to get to but not impossible. Construction in streets a bit of a bother but the town is wonderful. Great base for Provence visits. While not perfect, we would definitely return to this hotel and town.

Room Tip: rooms facing pool with balcony were sunny but you do hear (not see) train, not a bother for us when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Overall we had a charming stay, however for a 5 star rating I felt the following issues could have been better.
Staffing levels were low at times; porters (no assistance with luggage on departure) and reception area ( an individual girl having to deal with all guests requirements, including any room service when restaurant closed). All staff were throughout our stay friendly, helpful and efficient.
Attention to detail in bathroom toiletries supply was inconsistent.
Tip: When dining outside of the hotel, place a booking for restaurants to secure a table.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Annoynmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed last week in the lovely Le Prieure hotel in villeneuve lez Avignon. Beautiful setting, beautiful gardens. Our room was clean and spacious. We like to stay in relais & chateaux hotels because their rooms are usually interesting and different. Our room was just another hotel room. The grounds were lovely and the gardens beautiful. We walked around Villeneuve and found lots of interesting little streets to explore.

Our dinner at the hotel was fabulous. They had prepared a set menu for us and it was top quality and delicious. The ambiance of the dining area was again disappointing. Nothing special. The wait staff were very helpful with our wine selection.

We enjoyed our stay, but it was expensive and we felt it just lacked the usual relais & chateaux details that we normally expect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#3 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Suite
Hotel La Suite
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#7 of 69 in Avignon
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant

Address: 7 Place du Chapitre, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range: £165 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing