We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel is Gorgeous Setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel is Gorgeous Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Right across from hectic Avignon is a beautiful hotel that was on the site of a former Priory from the 1300's. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and there is also a swimming pool and tennis court as well as walking trails. Excellent staff that is very friendly and do all they can to help make a wonderful vacation. Walk to restaurants and local sites. The breakfast is a bit pricey but the chef is Michelin starred so the meals are wonderful. Rooms are nice size with a balcony. Bathrooms are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    99
    20
    14
    6
See reviews for
67
234
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
228 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay here in 2011 was the highlight of our 2 weeks to Provence/French Riviera and I was so delighted to return in June 2014 and find it hadn't changed a bit! It's a magical, charming peaceful place to feel enveloped in luxury. The staff is friendly and so professional; and went overboard to help us with several administrative matters. Faustina was a life saver with helping us to book online alternate train tickets during the strike. The breakfast is delicious and a lovely experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Before we even checked into Le Prieure, a member of the front desk staff assisted us in securing alternate transportation from Paris to Avignon due to a French rail strike. Upon arrival, we were amazed by the lovely garden, and immediately escorted to our comfortable rooms. Every staff member at the property goes out of their way to assist hotel guests, even when they are off the clock. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast every morning. I couldn't have asked for anything more. I would definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: I enjoyed our deluxe room overlooking the pool. It has a small balcony with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a charming small chateau hotel in the middle of Villeneuve-les-Avignon, with an outstanding restaurant. We had one of our best meals in France at this hotel. The rooms are very large and comfortable, although a little outdated. The hotel grounds are beautiful during the spring and the location allowed us to walk the village every morning and taste the local scene.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferropn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We came here for lunch last summer and I'm still thinking about the meal we had. As close to perfect as you could get. The service, the setting, and of course the food were all oustanding. And on top of it all, it was relatively inexpensive (45 euros for a three course meal that includes two glasses of wine).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBoulder67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Maybe I expected too much a small Relais and Chateau in the quaint old village of Villeneuve or maybe it was the early spring weather, a little cool and gray, but or for whatever reason I found this place pleasant but not the little gem which I had looked forward to.
The village is so quaint and the old priory classic so on arrival I had said, “wow”
The room was big and airy with a little garden, which in good weather may have been nice, despite the fact that it was not private.
The junior suite was for me a little cold and impersonal. Too crisp and neat. Almost Swedish in its feel.
The overly large bathroom was similarly cold. Bright white marble, new modern sinks but only 2 bath towels and no hand towels. The layout was awkward.
The restaurant was closed so that also gave the lobby and garden a forlorn feeling.
The staff was friendly and efficient.
Again, maybe in summer with the trees and garden blooming in the warm air, with a chance to lounge by he pool, and people around La Prieure would raise from just good to special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean André C, Gérant at Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your comment, I am really sorry we missed the « wow ». I take into account your remarks about the room and really hope you could come as you say in summer to feel the magic of the place.
Jean-André Charial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is an expensive hotel, but it gives you an experience that is worth it. The setting in Villeneuve is lovely, I would recommend everyone who are planning a visit to Avignon to consider staying in Villeneuve - for the tranquility and interesting surroundings, with a number of great attractions in its own right. It is a manageable walk down into Avignon, the part from Villeneuve to the Tower of Philippe le Bel is a very nice experience. There is also a decent bus service.

If you should choose this hotel, I would urge you to try the restaurant for dinner. We had a wonderful meal there, food & wine & service all top class.

However, as a family of four we found the breakfast price of € 27 per head a bit daunting. Fortunately we found a lovely cafe in the nearby town square, a place packed with locals and some tourists, serving delicious croissants and pain de chocolate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NielsKlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.9 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#5 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mirande Hotel
La Mirande Hotel
#8 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant

Property: Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Address: 7 Place du Chapitre, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing