We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to visit Avignon and the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
“Good hotel to visit Avignon and the area”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice Hotel in nice town, good breakfast which could be improved while keeping the breakfast area filled up with stuff and organized, nice rooms. Service was OK, not outstanding. The garden is beautiful with trees and flowers. Good hotel to visit Avignon and the area.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and rooms in the main building are nicer than in the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flumpizumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens, as well as the fact that the hotel is well situated for visiting Avignon and the surrounding areas.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    139
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
33
220
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is superb. It is tucked away in a residential area of Villeneuve - les - Avignon and so is a quiet location.In our case this was welcome, as we had spent the previous few days staying in Avignon in the midst of the hurly burly of the Avignon Festival (also immensely enjoyable). Although it is part of the Najeti group, this is very much an individual hotel. La Magnaneraie was originally built by a cardinal and the hotel has been sensitively developed to retain much of this historic character. Rooms vary but from what we saw are all of a very good standard with very comfortable beds, high quality bed linen and well equipped spacious bathrooms. The swimming pool is a new development since the cardinal's time, and is served by a separate bar and eating area.The pool itself is lovely with plenty of towels and comfortable loungers. The breakfast buffet is well worth the cost of €15 and dinner on the terrace, surrounded by the lovely gardens was delightful. We also had an excellent dinner in Villeneuve one evening - the hotel staff are happy to help with this, and the village is a short walk down the hill. Without exception the staff were polite, helpful, efficient and charming. We are looking forward to our return to this hotel which is well worth seeking out.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original building have great charm, whilst those near the pool are more modern and conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated you room, the peace and quiet of our hotel, and the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS in the relaxing atmosphere of our restaurant terrace in the gardens.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed for one week and thought this was a good hotel.

It is located in a quiet residential area (except for a local dog which woke us on one or two mornings) and you can walk into the village in approx. 10 minutes. The village is small but very nice with a few restaurants and shops.

Car parking is not an issue within or directly outside of the hotel.

Although we had a hire car, we chose to take the bus into Avignon (approx. 20 minutes walk through the village to the bus stop) however you could park the car near the bus stop (not on market days) or nearer to Avignon.

When we arrived, we were unhappy with our room so the hotel moved us to another room without any awkward discussions or hassle which we appreciated. This was managed very well by the reception staff who are excellent.

The room we stayed in was overall nice and comfortable however the bathroom suite was very dated and required refurbishing in my opinion. It needs a shower curtain or shower guard to stop the bathroom floor getting soaking wet.

The pool is very nice and relaxing (however I did turn the music down on a few occasions as it was obtrusive). The hotel could make the paved area between the pool and the lunchtime dining area nicer as weeds are growing between the paving stones and it looks unmaintained in places. The lunchtime dining area could be made more inspiring for guests.

The hotel is a beautiful building and the gardens are nice. The breakfast patio area is very nice and well maintained. The breakfast costs Euro 15 per person and is sufficient to kick-start the day (however table service wasn't very good). The coffee machine was broken which mean't we couldn't have cappuccinos and ice coffees which was a shame.

The hotel interior feels unloved and uninspiring - especially the lounge / bar and restaurant areas which have a lot of potential but don't encourage guests to spend time at the hotel (we chose to eat out in the village or in Avignon every night due to this reason). The dinner menu also seemed quite expensive however we didn't sample the food.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recommend it however I must say that the hotel does seem expensive considering the lack of atmosphere and uninspiring interior design within the communal areas.

One last tip - check your bill as we were automatically charged each day for breakfasts even though we didn't eat there every morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-w0nderful-w0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the comfort of your room, the relaxed atmosphere by the swimming pool as well as Villeneuve lez Avignon and its surroundings.

I am sorry that you did not like the interior design of our hotel, but La Magnaneraie is a historical building much appreciated by our clients and to give it a more modern look would take away the charm and authenticity of the building, and the lack of atmosphere is probably due to the fact that during the summer the indoor restaurant and lounge area are only used in case of bad weather if not our clients spend their days outside on the terrace restaurant or by the swimming pool so even when the hotel is full it gives the interior an empty feeling.

The pool area is maintained every day by our maintenance staff and twice a month by outside gardeners, the weeding is a daily process as you can imagine with the water and the heat, and the lunchtime dining area at the swimming pool it is more of a simple bar snack reserved only for the clients at the hotel so that they can have something to eat beside the swimming pool without having to get changed out of their swimming costumes.

The automatic breakfast billing is the same for all our clients, on the departure day the receptionist verifies the bill with you and automatically asks you if you have had breakfast every day, if it is not the case she verifies and adjusts your bill before printing the final bill as she did on your departure day.

On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay, the general manager and staff went out of their way to make my stay a very special experience. The outdoor dining experience was divine, rooms all appear to be a little different,and I certainly look forward to returning.

Room Tip: As I didn't see all the rooms couldn't comment, but all seemed very good, no noise anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel, the restaurant terrace and the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June while on our 17 day trip through France. Very good, central location to explore all that we wanted to in Provence - very drivable distances to Nimes/Arles, Luberon, and Cotes du Rhone. Nice, large, clean room, with very comfortable king bed; friendly service, beautiful grounds. The onsite restaurant was way overpriced and very "stuffy" for an outside terrace type place. A coffee maker in the room would have been great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the fact that our location is very central ideally situated for exploring Provence.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we loved this hotel! The location was beautiful. The room was nice- sized and clean with a king sized, very comfortable bed. The staff was pleasant and always willing to lend a hand. We didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was plentiful and had a great atmosphere, outside in the garden. The location was a ten minute walk from Villeneuve les Avignon which is, itself, a 10 minute drive from Avignon center. I wasn't aware of this when i booked it, so if you are looking to be in the actual center of town, this might disappoint you. It is actually in a residential neighborhood which is very pastoral and quaint and suited us fine. Also, Villeneuve les Avignon is as interesting as Avignon proper and I was glad, in retrospect, that I ended up in Villeneuve! The only reason I did not give the hotel five stars was that it is an older building so there were some spider webs in the corners (although the bed and bathroom were spotless). Overall a fantastic hotel - we will definitely consider coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated your room, the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and your visit to Villeneuve lez Avignon with its historic sites, wich as you say are just as interesting as those in Avignon only a 10 minutes drive away.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Campbell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful old hotel whilst on our tour. Our room was a good size overlooking the lovely gardens. A nice touch was the free bottles of water left each day. The staff were helpful and the food in the restaurant is to die for! Absolutely delicious (great chef). The hotel is a short walk into the village which is a delightful place to explore. Well recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susie445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.4 mi away
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Suite
Hotel La Suite
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 69 in Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie

Property: Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Address: 37 rue du Camp de Bataille, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Magnaneraie Hotel Villeneuve-Les-Avignon
Best Western Hotel Avignon
Best Western Avignon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing