We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place in the quiet Villeneuve-les-Avignon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins de la Livree
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place in the quiet Villeneuve-les-Avignon”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This place was one of the nicest B & B's I've stayed in and I've stayed in many! Jean-Paul was incredibly friendly and helpful as soon as we arrived. He gave us excellent advice from what to see in Avignon to the bus timetables that came in handy.

Every morning we were served a fresh breakfast, which was great and Jean-Paul would always ask us about what we'd seen the day before and gave us advice for our next bit of sightseeing.

Our room had a lot of character and a balcony with a beautiful view of their garden and rooftops.

I really enjoyed my stay here and a so did my mum. I would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed here for four nights whislt visiing friends in Provence. Delightful village and quiet location tucked down a side street. Very helpful patron - less so the lady of the house who remonstrated with me when I asked for a second pool towel (for my wife) and pleasant breakfasts on the vine covered terrace. The downside - no air con and the room floodlit at night from a nearby street light - the room itself and in particular the bathroom very tired indeed with towels bordering upon the threadbare. At the 90 euro per night we paid they would do well to give the rooms a thorough makeover and also invest in some parasols for the pool area. Also we returned from a day's travelling and at 5pm our room had not been made up or cleaned. A great dissapointment - will not return despite its convenience

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREENSEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We had just 3 days for Provence, and we are so happy to have been based at Les Jardins de la Livree. It is a charming, family-run inn that is perfectly situated in Villeneuve (which is far more pleasant than staying in busier and more touristy Avignon, which is just a 10 minute bike or quick bus away).

The best way to describe our experience is with an anecdote. On our second day, we decided that our plan to bike around Provence for 2 days would not let us see enough of the region, so we changed gears and decided to rent a car. We mentioned our plans to the woman who runs Les Jardins, and not only did she insist on calling local rental shops for us, but she leant us the massive map-book from her own car. Just the nicest people imaginable.

We didn't have a chance to try dinner, but it smelled lovely! There are also lots of great dining options nearby--we particularly liked "Le Cave" which is a fun, relatively young-crowd tapas restaurant and bar, which seemed to have many more locals than tourists. (There are, of course, plenty of more traditional venues very close by, as well.)

The property is very cute. Lovely roses grow along the old stone wall behind the pool, which is great to swim in our sit beside with some red wine and local cheese and baguette. Rooms are simple, but comfortable. Many seemed to have nice views into the garden.

One note: You could absolutely get by without French, but they provide a very patient and friendly ear on which to practice one's fledgling francais (they were great about smiling and gently correcting my husband's grammar).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuckOnBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of August this year. Due to a delay on the train we were late arriving but had mangaed to contact them and asked for a meal to be left in our room - this was a beautiful salad of a high quality. The room was clean and comfortable and the garden is lovely to come back to at the end of the day. The swimming pool is spotlessly clean. The host at breakfast Jean Paul is especially welcoming and helpful. The business is run by a family - one brother being the chef for their restaurant. We dined two nights with the 3 course meal costing 25 euros. The food is very high quality with an interesting menu well cooked and presented. It is in a very convenient position just a few minutes off the high street - which has plenty of choices of cafes,restaurants and food shops and a few minutes to the bus stop for buses to Avignon. We would return here again without any hesitation.

  • Liked — Pleasant garden and pool. Excellent food in the restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monmamcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

Les Jardins is located in a very quaint, historic part of Villeneuve-les-Avignon, right off the main street. The family that runs the establishment was friendly, accomodating, and helpful. I arrived one night earlier than my reservation and though the gate was closed and they were not expecting me, they welcomed me in out of the cold evening wind. The mother and father do not speak English; however, the son and daughter-in-law do and live on site, so it was not too much trouble to explain my early arrival.

My room was ready and quite large with a queen bed and a double, en suite bathroom, a desk, and a TV. The view overlooked the rear yard.

Breakfast is provided every morning as part of the room rate and consisted of coffee or tea or espresso, cheeses, toasts and breads, jams, fruits, and ham. Otis, the family dog, always greeted me in the morning and begged to be scratched behind the ears.

The grounds are very well maintained and the building is in excellent shape. The sons and the father provided me with a lot of information on local sites of historical and cultural interest. One night, their restaurant was open and their son, the chef, prepared a delicious Provencal meal. He is well regarded in the area.

Everything was absolutely perfect even though I had arrived a month earlier than their usual tourist season (I'm Californian and was traveling Europe).

  • Liked — The proprietors and the location
  • Disliked — The weather (very windy), c'est la vie!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank factotum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-les-Avignon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Atelier
Hotel de l'Atelier
#1 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
Le Prieure Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
Najeti Hotel la Magnaneraie
#3 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Suite
Hotel La Suite
#4 of 6 in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Avignon Centre
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de la Livree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de la Livree

Property: Les Jardins de la Livree
Address: 4 B rue du Camp de Bataille, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Jardins de la Livree 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 3 km from Avignon, this is a quiet B&B. You can spend a day at the edge of the pool. You will able to walk in the Provencal Village and visit the Chartreuse Pontificale, the Castel St Andre and the Philippe le Bel tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Jardins de la Livree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing