We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, good location for exploring the area”
Review of Ace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed in May for one night with my wife and daughter. No frills hotel but very clean and well kept rooms and lobby. The price was very reasonable. We didn't have breakfast but they do have it available. Brive is good location for exploring in the area and has many restaurants. We would stay again if in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Easy to find with GPS coordinates, greeted with secure paved parking area, very pleasant reception Lady, who quickly identified our booking and directed us to a large elevator / lift. Room was very pleasant, clean tidy look about the whole place. Bathroom very nice all features worked with loads of hot water. We had the breakfast option which was well worth it, ample choices, sets you up for a days drive. Walking distance to supermarket and quick food places. The only fault we found was a rather hard bed for us, but that's a personal choice so we carry memory foam travel mattress for this very reason.

Room Tip: Room facing the car park is good for security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel just outside brive town centre. Pretty easy to find if travelling by car.Roms cleaned every day and fresh towels which was a surprise for a "travel lodge" style hotel. Delicious fresh croissants for breakfast! I would definitely recommend having a car if staying here as its too far to walk into brive.Good location though for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlnvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Comfortable but dated and well signposted. They found us a room after we had booked wrong date so very pleased with the staff. Breakfast was continental and basic but ok for Euro100 a night including breakfast.

Room Tip: The Hotel is in an industrial area so no good room views just good value comfy accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulgoeswithLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

On arrival wondered what we had checked into. The receptionist had love bites on her neck, and the lift had a broken glass mirror.
But that apart, everything was fine. Room although basic was clean, had comfortable bed, and air conditioning. Since day time temperature was 30C, and overnight around 20C, air conditioning proved essential and worked well and quietly. Can't comment on the busy road because with air conditioning on all night, the closed double glazed window kept road noise out.
Getting the internet was a little confusing because all instructions were in French. But recepion provided login instructions.
Location is a few kilometres off the autoroute with an Aldi close by and a Carrefour Hypermarket near autoroute exit.
Overall a perfectly adequate overnight stop, at a cheaper price than an Ibis or Campanile.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Like many people I imagine, we used this hotel as a stopover on a journey from the south to the north of France. Situated at the extreme end of a typical French commercial zone replete with all the usual warehouse stores and a number of other chain hotels, the overnight rates are very reasonable and the standard of the rooms above average for a hotel of this type. From the point of view of a longer stay it might just do the trick, but it is not really a holiday venue. The problem is that it lacks atmosphere and appears somewhat clinical, almost like a hospital block with its square architectural style and basic unadorned interior.

We were tipped off that we should ask for a room overlooking the car park, as it would be quieter than one facing the busy road at the back. Although we were given the room of our choice, we were informed, at some length, that this would not always be possible because these are largely family rooms and we only needed a double – we took note.

We did not take breakfast and did not see many people in the breakfast area, which faces the reception, when we left. There is no restaurant but a Buffalo Grill backs on to the car park. To sum up: clean, a nice bathroom with large shower and toiletries provided, plus, in our case, a spacious room; unfortunately, it is short on character – but if you are not looking for any, then it will be fine!.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paix76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed at the Ace Hotel in Brive on a stopover to the south. This emerging chain is one to watch I think as they are pushing the boundaries on quality versus price. Our room overlooked the carpark and was clean and quiet. The room was a good size and for a short stay was perfectly adequate. The shower enclosure was large with plenty of room to move around. The TV was a nice size too rather than one of those teeny tiny things offered in most 'stopover' hotels. The beds were comfortable as were the pillows. Breakfast was very good for the price, with the usual breads, pastries, cereals, cheese, ham and fruit juices on offer. A nice plus was the presence of real coffee in a percolator in addition to the nasty stuff from the vending machine.
My only whinge (and it really is a tiny one) was the size of the towels. They were a bit small, thin and felt worn. All else was great and next time I make this journey I will now choose Ace instead of the Ibis, Kyriad and Campanile which are nearby.
Oh, just a tip. If you don't wish to eat at the Buffalo Grill (dreadful place) a 15-20 min walk will take you to the Carrefour supermarket complex, there is a buffet style 'restaurant' called Crescendo here which is very cheap and serves OK dinners, nothing special but OK for the price (similar to a Flunch).

Room Tip: Overlook the carpark rather than the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandyGertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels
3.3 mi away
Ibis Brive
Ibis Brive
#11 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Teinchurier
Hotel Restaurant Le Teinchurier
#5 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Kyriad Brive Ouest
Hotel Kyriad Brive Ouest
#10 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Brive La Gaillarde Ouest
Premiere Classe Brive La Gaillar...
#19 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brive Ouest
Ibis Styles Brive Ouest
#6 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Campanile Brive-la-Gaillarde Ouest
Campanile Brive-la-Gaillarde Oue...
#17 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel

Address: rue Pierre Fau, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Price Range: £45 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing