We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby (without the chic)”
Review of Hotel Le Montauban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Montauban
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is in a great location in a nice old building, and the welcome was pleasant enough. And, in its favour, the beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was quite generous. However, for the price they are charging here (I paid 50 euros for a single room + breakfast, off-season with almost no other guests there), the condition of the rooms is just awful. I wasn't expecting luxury and I'm not overly fussy about hotels, but the overall impression here was of shabbiness and neglect, not faded grandeur. Discoloured 1970s wallpaper, threadbare carpets, dingy lighting, paintwork all grey and cracked and peeling... I've seen better in cheap British B&Bs, for half the price. Also, the walls between the rooms are paper thin, so you can hear everything from the room next door. Very disappointing - I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are a bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

If you like flat walls, Phillipe Starck plumbing, UPVC windows and colour co-ordinated carpets then don't stay here. If, however, you enjoy the idea of being Proust, George Sand, Berthe Morisot or Cezanne then you'll love it just as much as we did. From the arched coach house, up and down the labyrinthine stairs and finally into the extraordinary dining salon, shaped like an Ames Room with a Belle Epoche ceiling you can waft like a De Maupassant character through this gracefully ageing gem. The husband and wife team who run it are lovely; he is an very good chef, so it's worth eating here. Even though it's literally on the threshhold of the mediaeval city, the hotel is quiet - we slept like logs! The only problem we had was getting enough hot water in the morning, but we weren't that bothered: it was so inexpensive you almost felt you'd no right to any at all!

Room Tip: Rooms giving onto the street may be noisy at night and early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed for one night in this gem of a hotel. Its not one for those of you looking for a five star experience or with little children. Its what I'd call a bit of a faded beauty, and winding, quite rickety stairs wouldnt suit small children. Our family room had two double beds, so the two children shared one.
However, we loved it. The owners were delightful, and the breakfast adequate. It is in the gorgeous town of Brieve la Guliiard, and our room had an amazing view of the church.
Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riaedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We really enjoyed this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the location was great - just minutes away from great shopping, historic pedestrian centre and cultural areas. Free parking too. This is an old fashioned traditional French hotel built in a parallelogram block of street - so very interesting room shapes! We didn't eat dinner here although they did have a restaurant but breakfast included one of the very best croissant I have ever had in my life.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sébastien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank eliot m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Christian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Chapon Fin
Hotel Le Chapon Fin
#12 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brive
Ibis Brive
#9 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adonis Hotel Brive
Adonis Hotel Brive
#5 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#13 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
40 reviews
2.9 mi away
Campanile Brive-la-Gaillarde Ouest
Campanile Brive-la-Gaillarde Oue...
#16 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Montauban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Montauban

Address: 6 avenue Edouard Herriot, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Montauban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing