We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of En Cuisine

En Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$42
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Duras, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We celebrated my birthday in this restaurant on Tuesday evening and it was fabulous. It has a lovely courtyard outside- ideal on a hot evening- and the food was just delicious and so well presented and original and great value for three courses for less than 30 euros. The service was very warm and very efficient too. We enjoyed it so much we went back the following evening and had an equally super meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ganucheau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    118
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Rock Star Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We only stopped into Brive-la-Guillarde to de-board a train on our way to Dordogne. Relying on Trip Advisory we selected En Cuisine for lunch with our group. It was Sunday. The town was empty. Not much was open. I had only moderate expectations given that Brive is not exactly a thriving metropolis and it was one of the only places open on a Sunday. Boy, was I surprised--shocked really.

The presentation and the quality of the food was stunningly good by Parisian or any standards. We ordered a variety of dishes and each one came perfectly prepared, including my beef. Lord knows, its difficult to find a great steak in France. Not only was the food excellent tasting, but each dish was impeccably presented (see photos), all the way through to dessert. The wait staff was also professional and cordial, and even the chef took a moment to chat with me at the end of the meal. To top all that off, the prix fixe menu prices were shockingly reasonable. I think, without wine, it was around 23.00 euros. What a steal.

Aside from the food, the decor of the restaurant was clean and eclectic, featuring a related series of very cutting edge three dimensional art pieces. Another pleasant surprise.

This restaurant is not on the normal beaten path, but it rivaled the best of the Paris restaurants across the board in my humble opinion. If I am again anywhere near Brive-la-Gaillarde, I will be making a return visit to this top notch dining establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had only one night in Brive and were disappointed with our hotel but thankfully the evening was saved with a meal at this lovely restaurant. The food is beautifully prepared and served by helpful staff. They certainly know what they are doing. We will visit Brive again and definitely return to En Cuisine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gez44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

As ex restaurateurs I suppose we are always looking for good places to eat, having dined at a couple of dozen places in Brive we still hadn't found one we would keep for special occasions, until now that is. Friendly, knowledgable service, decor interesting with simple clean lines, modern and welcoming, dishes a little different to everywhere else, well presented and quite frankly delicious, loved the whole experience. Really impressed on our first visit, it will be the first of many I hope.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We read about this in Trip Advisor and decided to try it. Though it has great reviews, we were close to the end of our trip and may have been "restauranted out". One member of our group was lobbying for pizza. Good thing we did not go with that idea. Everything was absolutely perfect and, needless to say, very tasty. Do not miss it if ever in Brive! The presentation was aesthetically beyond compare, and the quality was just as good. The service was attentive and friendly. Loved it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wadephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed En Cuisine also viewed

Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
 
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
Brive-la-Gaillarde, Correze
 

Been to En Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing