We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, nice folks and rooms”
Review of Adonis Hotel Brive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adonis Hotel Brive
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice folks and rooms”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had just spent a glorious week in La Roque-Gageac, and had a morning train to Paris from Brive. The Hotel Terminus (so named because of its location right by the train station) was the perfect choice for an overnight stay. It's not modern or fancy by any means, but we had plenty of room for our family of 5 (spread across two rooms), with nice facilities and a fair continental breakfast downstairs. The staff were gracious and friendly, and the place really is across the street from the train station. It helped, too, that the Europcar office was also right across the street.

A short walk took us to Brive's old town, which was a nice way to kill a few hours. I probably wouldn't make Brive a destination, but as a stopover for the train station, it can't be beat, and the hotel is an easy place to call home for a night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatthepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    57
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
43
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our day started in London and ended with a train from Paris to Brive which arrived at 8pm. Any more travel that day was far too daunting so we booked ahead for the most convenient overnight stay possible. The Grand Hotel Terminus is across the street from the train station. Too easy.
Expecting only a (hopefully) clean room we got so much more than expected. The GHT is not a luxury establishment by any definition. What it is is spacious, really clean, honest, comfortable accommodation with character. Ideal for us.
We stayed in a family suite which is two double bedrooms, each with its own TV, a bathroom with shower, a separate toilet and a wide hallway between with hanging space and extra storage for suitcases - plenty of it. There's heating and sensor lighting (no fumbling for switches in the night). Both rooms had long shuttered windows facing towards the station. The view was unimpeded and we had no issue at all with noise.
The family suite was on the second floor and there's no elevator but that didn't bother us. The trade off is the wide wooden staircase that dominates the entry and makes you think old time style.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazz1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Hello again Folks,

Please find our fair and independent review of the Grand Hotel Terminus, Brive. From two forty something’s.

We arrived on Monday 20th June, 2011. The lady at reception kindly escorted us to a garage 50 yards around the corner from the hotel, where the car was securely parked overnight, for a fee of 5 euros.

Reception were kind and helpful.

The room was fine. Clean, tidy, fresh smelling and comfortable. The bathroom appeared to be of recent refurbishment. We also enjoyed a small balcony, with nice views. We were allocated room 211.

The hotel is situated right besides the train station, a ten minute downhill walk from the main town. Opposite was hotel Le France which looked very nice. Hotel Le France appeared to have undergone a recent refurbishment, with funky looking restaurant at street level.

I cannot confirm the extent of the refurbishment, as it was our first time of visiting Brive and we did not go into hotel Le France itself. It looked good all the same. Next door to the Hotel Grand Terminus was another hotel. It didn’t look up to much, so I’m glad we opted not too stay there.

That pretty much sums up this area of Brive. If you are looking for something a little more lively, with a greater option of bars and restaurants, you really need to stay in a hotel closer to the main town.

We went into town on arrival and enjoyed a few beers before returning to our hotel for the evening. Brive is a pretty, quiet, relaxing town with some nice bars and restaurants, nestled among quaint, pedestrianised shopping areas.

It may be good as a base, but one or two nights would do for us.

On the evening, we stayed local to our hotel and opted for steak and chips. It was very different and unusual shall we say, to the steak we enjoy in Blighty.

Apart from that, the hotel was fine and we would return / recommend this hotel. This hotel and the local vicinity, DO NOT suffer from any noise pollution whatsoever from the train station.

I hope you all find this report of some help.

Gary.

Improve vacation…

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruddstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
climping
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed overnight en route to south of France from UK and were delighted with teh charm and cleanliness of this hotel. Many of the hotels researched were not recommended but found this one to be both traditional in style, high ceilings with spacious bathroom and friendly and helpful staff. Car parking in secure garage nearby was available for 5 euros. This was right near to the train station( but not at all noisy) and excellently placed for exploring brive on foot to sample the local fare.......numerous restaurants available!!!
The town appears to have been recently cleaned up and we did not spot any litter in sight!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LadesClimping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Quercy
Hotel Le Quercy
#2 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Lacan
Chateau de Lacan
#3 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#4 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Brive
Ibis Brive
#8 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Teinchurier
Hotel Restaurant Le Teinchurier
#6 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Hotel Brive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Hotel Brive

Property: Adonis Hotel Brive
Address: 67 avenue Jean Jaures, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis Hotel Brive 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Adonis Hotel Brive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing