We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and warm hospitality in a charming part of France”
Review of Domayne les Rues

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domayne les Rues
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Berna and Fred made us feel like part of the family when we stayed with them in their lovely house. They provided consistently very good vegetarian food for us and made a special effort to cater well for my raw vegan diet. We recommend them to anyone who wants to meet some lovely fellow guests as well as hosts. The atmosphere was multinational and stimulating. Berna and Fred really care for the comfort and happiness of their guests. That included helping us to get the best out of our visit to this charming part of France.

Berna and Fred are two very special people who run a very special place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

En route to Carcassonne, Domaynes les Rues was an ideal location for a two night stay before a long onward journey. Although it was chosen chiefly as it catered for vegetarians (and as fellow veggies will already know, a rare occurrence in France!), the Chambres d'Hotes offered so much more. Berna and Fred were exceptional 'hosts' who spoke fluent Dutch, French and English and smatterings of several other languages (I hate them!) and had lived in the area for over ten years and were very familiar with the locality and sights of interest. They suggested an excellent walk to the nearby village of Vignols which my wife and I undertook one morning and also visits further afield to the village of St Robert and the medical museum and chateau at Hautefort.
Initially Berna was going to serve dinner once and for the second evening we were going to dine at the village auberge. However, we were delighted to hear that after sampling the quality of the food and wine on the first evening, she was prepared to make us dinner for the second evening also! The food was excellent, freshly prepared with local or home grown ingredients and served in the delightfully, traditionally furnished family room. Berna and Fred joined us for our meals and were interesting and entertaining hosts who, with their fluency in English, could answer many of our questions about life in France.
Breakfast also was of high quality with a good and abundant selection of preserves, breads, pastries and cheeses on offer and a plentiful supply of fresh coffee.
Accommodation was traditional and comfortable – the bed particularly so – although at the time of our visit in mid May with unseasonably cold weather, a little cool, even with the radiator turned on. There was an attractive living room with TV and DVD and also a library/office that were available for guests to use. Free wi-fi was available although as is common in older properties with thick walls, signal strength a little patchy in places. In addition there were several acres of grounds to explore if one wanted a leisurely evening stroll before dinner. A swimming pool was available for guests’ use and a patio area where, weather permitting, breakfast and dinner would normally be served.
Overall, splendid accommodation, excellent vegetarian food, lovely owners and three delightful ‘pets’ – Boris the blond setter and two tolerant donkeys who roamed in a field adjacent to the main house. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a lovely Chambre d‘Hote nestled in beautiful surrounding countryside. The house has been renovated extremely well with furnishings to retain the charm and character of an old country residence. The bedrooms are large, very clean, quiet and comfortable with modern facilities in the bathrooms. Outside the grounds are extensive with fantastic views of the area. There are also areas for outside eating and seating in pretty private spots. You are not entirely alone, though, as a horse, two donkeys and an adorable dog, called Boris, will come and keep you company! There is also a large outdoor swimming pool.
The owners, Berna and Fred, made our stay most memorable. Both gave us useful information about the area for walking or driving. Berna cooked us delicious vegetarian food which we enjoyed with them both in the evening over red wine and good conversation.
Highly recommended for couples or families!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We loved staying at Domayne Les Rues. It is just off the road, but you feel a million miles from anyone else. The made us a terrific vegan meal, and encouraged us to wander in their paddocks and meet their horse and donkey. There are lots of walks. It was the French dream. We felt we were in the 18th century with all the conveniences of the 21st, and a beautifully appointed room and so quiet. A great place, with all the advice we needed about driving on to our next destination. A pure joy and great hosts who are now friends. Just go there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackafca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Virjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank trasyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels
12.8 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
167 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Le Colombier
Hotel Le Colombier
#5 of 8 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
9 reviews
12.8 mi away
Le Coq D'or
Le Coq D'or
#7 of 8 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Brive La Gaillarde Ouest
Premiere Classe Brive La Gaillar...
#19 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
201 reviews
12.2 mi away
Ibis Brive
Ibis Brive
#9 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
232 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ibis Budget
Ibis Budget
#14 of 21 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domayne les Rues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domayne les Rues

Address: Route de Juillac | Saint Bonnet la Rivière, 19130 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Price Range: £53 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing