We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but with reservations”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Truffe Noire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Truffe Noire
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK, but with reservations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for one night at the beginning of September. It was a comfortable room, we would rate it as 2* rather than 3* but the beds were comfortable and it was a good size. No air con which meant we had to have the windows open onto the street which was noisy when the street cleaners came round early in the morning. The lift was small so with our two fairly big dogs we used the stairs.

The beer was expensive, we only had one. The toilets were lovely but there was a definite smell of drains down in the basement. The breakfast was very basic and we would certainly have felt cheated if it hadn't been included in the price of the room. Again, with the breakfast room being in the basement there was a smell of drains in there.....we ate outside. Nobody was around to help in the breakfast room, it was very much self service.

There is a distinction between antique/shabby chic and uncared for and this hotel definitely needs some work to pull it into the former category.

What really annoyed us was that we had booked through the hotel and breakfast had been included in the price. When we came to pay we were charged for the breakfasts and it took 10 minutes of the receptionist humming and hahing before she reluctantly removed the charge. It's a good job I had printed the confirmation off to take with us!

The good - dog friendly

The bad - overpriced for what it offers......and check your bill!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saru2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    71
    38
    19
    7
See reviews for
27
87
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welgemoed
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a small,typically French hotel just around the corner from the main street! Was surprised when I walked - single bed, but arond the corner a nice comfy large bed! So at least room to sit ! Breakfast adequate - lovely croissants.

Room Tip: No 5 on the 1st floor - big and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in Europe. It must have been grand once but it is definitely in decline. The exterior is dirty and grungy, the carpets are worn and dirty and the whole atmosphere is dark and dingy. Our room was tiny with a hole in the wall behind the door. To be fair, others in our group had better rooms so we must have been stuck in the maid's room. The hotel is well located in the heart of Brive and dinner in the restaurant was good although the buffet breakfast was a bit sparse on selections.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hautevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I was not expecting such a huge space in the suite. Really comfortable for us and our 2 small kids.
Breakfast location in the cave is not nice as they were a lot of insects.
We had a good dinner in the restaurant!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thepinktouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is a truly delightful hotel with lots of character and appeal. Our room was pleasantly appointed and met all of our needs. The bed was roomy and comfortable. Breakfast provided reasonable choice and certainly met our requirements. The hotel restaurant provides an excellent selection of quality dishes for other meals. The staff was wonderfully helpful and pleasant. Overall we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel was perfect for our night stay in Brive. The staff were extremely helpful. Our "Grand Chambre" was large and comfortable, the bath room was good sized, counter space for a ladies essentials, a commodious tub. Parking is easy on site, and the location is perfect for strolling in the center, shopping, and going to good restaurants. Breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights and loved it. Close to everything with restaurants and coffee shops nearby. There is an ATM next door with good rates should you need cash. The hotel is old but with great charm. Breakfast was average for France, but enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Quercy
Hotel Le Quercy
#2 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adonis Hotel Brive
Adonis Hotel Brive
#5 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau de Lacan
Chateau de Lacan
#3 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Chapon Fin
Hotel Le Chapon Fin
#11 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brive
Ibis Brive
#8 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truffe Noire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffe Noire

Property: Truffe Noire
Address: 22 boulevard Anatole France, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Truffe Noire 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Truffe Noire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing