We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly beautiful and peaceful garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jardin de Berchigranges

Jardin de Berchigranges
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Gerardmer
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful and peaceful garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having read reviews, we went to the gardens on a showery day and were absolutely enchanted with the thought and skill that has gone into the design. We live close to Sissinghurst in Kent so we expect a lot from a garden we have to pay to visit. We weren't disappointed at all. Stunningly beautiful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrannyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    26
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing gardens! Well worth the time and entry charges!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Before I start by describing the location, it might be helpful to note who this place might *not* be for: 1) Pets are not (I think) allowed; don't attempt a visit if you want to bring your dog. The owners have their own dog, but he is not actually in the gardens, at least not that we saw. 2) Very small children are probably not ideal if you want to use a stroller. There are many places with steps and some paths are too steep or narrow and even where you can fit through with a stroller, the mix of pathways might not be ideal for the wheels. 3) The same goes for people in wheelchairs; it really is not suited to moving around on wheels. 4) Frail, elderly people might have a tough time here, too, even if not in a wheelchair. That said, even with limitations are involved, visiting part of the gardens would still be worth the visit if you are a fan of plants and gardens.

So... the gardens... We were happily surprised by the amazing diversity of the gardens here, which seemed to be a somewhat disparate rule-breaking collection of many styles. When we were first entering, it seemed like 10€ (the current per-person adult entrance fee) was a bit steep for such a simple garden. It does not look like much from the entry-way. But step through into the gardens and you will find yourself lost in all the beauty, fragrance, displays of color and texture, the artistic creativity... There is so much here; at least 20 different "themed" sections of the gardens, with various uses of rock walls, babbling brooks and small waterfalls, ponds, wooden paths, rock paths, bark paths and grass paths... but many of these are unlike any you have ever seen before. There are cordwood walled buildings, and cord-wood stacks used as garden retaining walls, planted with ferns growing from them, and many places to sit, reflect and experience the multi-layered sensory tapestry of the gardens, the buzz of insects and chorus of birds, water sounds, vivid washes of color and aromas of plants, flowers, and decay. This is highly recommended and certainly worth the time to reach this rather remote location, if you are anywhere near.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LowellMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful, tranquil gardens with different themed areas including a large 'English cottage garden', a wildflower Bohemian garden and a rain garden recently added. Immaculate lawns, quiet pools ans scented roses. Enchanting. (Plenty of shelters in case of sudden rain).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

This garden is only 15 minutes from Gerardmer, driving through magnificent country. The entry fee is 10 euros , we visited in September and the gardens were lovely, it is a cottage style garden with different rooms and water running through it, ponds and magnificent grass ( it was incredible lawn, my husband took his shoes just to feel it).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jardin de Berchigranges also viewed

 

Been to Jardin de Berchigranges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing