We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ok place, but more a large B&B than hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Reserve
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Gerardmer
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An ok place, but more a large B&B than hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We've used Gerardmer twice, an easy drive and ok for developing kids skiing. It's a fine little town. La Reserve is also fine, good location, clean, relatively attractive. There is a bit more noise between rooms than most hotels, we only saw one member of staff for the week, the restaurant was closed and the bar closes at 9, which basically meant it was more a B and B than full facility hotel. But, as i say, it is well located, clean and there are plenty of restaurants nearby etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxhill1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    76
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
54
117
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

You need to read no further. Avoid this place. The place has no bar, no restaurant, no public rooms of any note (a small setee in a little corridor does not count as a public room!). It is extremely expensive for the quality - this place is at best 1 star. The walls are paper thin; we could hear every single word said in normal conversation next door. The bathroom towels were no more than hand-towels. Coffee and tea in the room were accompanied with paper cups! The best part is however, the attitude of the proprietor: Basil Fawlty eat your heart out! When I went down to the 'Reception' and politely asked for some milk to go with the coffee and tea sachets in the room, the response was staggering! Said that the coffee/tea was a favour from him, and that we should not have expected it!! Milk? - no chance!! Then went on to rant and rave in French. I've never experienced anything like it in my life. Serious, serious attitude problem. Check-out was conducted without a single word exchanged apart from the (very expensive) amount on the bill, no please, thank you...nothing. One single good point - the bed, although not exactly clean, was comfortable. Glad to get out.

Room Tip: Get the cheapest room you can - don't pay for anything above basic - not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigan-Jai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel is set in a good, quiet location, close to skiing slopes. We were told off for arriving after 8.45pm (8.30pm latest check in). Hotel was over priced, but luckily we only needed to stay there for one night. Rooms were spacious and clean but bathrooms smelled horribly!!..............................

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed four nights in a family room. The room is clean and nice. The wooden floors give's you the possibility the hear every word from the neighbours, next and underneath your room. The price for the breakfast is way to expensive and the attitude of the hotel-owner himself is so bad that you direct would love to leave.
We tried to eat a spaghetti bolognese in the restaurant and what we did get was spaghetti with some fluid and pieces of meat in it. The cheese had hair on it. The hotelowner was upset after we told him this and the day after there was no communication anymore between us.

Room Tip: Don't try the restaurant, it's awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailor_0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed four nights at this family run hotel. It was comfortable and clean, rooms were spacious. We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment. The restaurant wasn't open when we stayed there so cannot comment on that either. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was extremely cold outside and we were delighted to have a very warm and cosy room. The hotel is only a short walk from all of the town's amenities. It's only a five minute drive to the ski slopes so all in all we were pleased we stayed there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Having stayed at the tired, old expensive Beau Rivage for 2 night we couldnt wait to move across the rd to Hotel La Reserve. This I a nice family run hotel offering great sized rooms and a great breakfast.

The only down side is they close the bar at 9pm.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stvnalln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

A very comfortable hotel within a two minute walk from the lake. Food excellent, staff extremely welcoming and helpful and mine host very pleasant - nothing was too much trouble.

When we return to Gerardmer we would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmjudy_lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gerardmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & SPA de Gerardmer
0.2 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#10 of 18 in Gerardmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Bains
Hotel Des Bains
#5 of 18 in Gerardmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Jamagne
Hotel La Jamagne
#2 of 18 in Gerardmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#14 of 18 in Gerardmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir au Lac
Le Manoir au Lac
#8 of 18 in Gerardmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Reserve

Property: Hotel La Reserve
Address: Esplanade du Lac | 2 avenue du 19 Novembre, 88400 Gerardmer, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Vosges > Gerardmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Gerardmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Reserve 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in a modern and contemporary, the hotel La Réserve of Gérardmer in the Vosges welcome you all the year. Stay in one of our 24 spacious and comfortable rooms at Lake Gérardmer and at the foot of ski trails. Many offers will seduce you and a service will respond to all your expectations. Welcome to the Hotel-Restaurant La Réserve of Gérardmer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing