We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful French inn”
Review of L'Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Horizon
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Thionville
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This Inn was a wonderful experience for us. Largely because of the gracious and generous hosts Jean Pascal and Anne-Marie Speck. The hotel is well situated for touring the Maginot line and Verdun. Jean Pascal is an expert on this area. His help alone is worth staying there if this is of interest to you. The hotel is delightful, the rooms are large and well appointed. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast. We are experienced travelers and we can recommend this without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for L'Horizon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having visited there in 2004, I wanted to revisit with my daughters as a base to see where my Dad (and their Grandfather) fought in WW2. The hotel was wonderful. Jean Pascal and Anne-Marie Speck were wonderful hosts - the rooms were well-appointed and very comfortable. I highly recommend a stay here. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent was because the shower/bath leaked all over the floor - no matter how I arranged the curtain.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have distinctive qualities - you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesdavidbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Very warm welcome, very good service, big room, villeroi & boch bathroom. Beautifull view on the city. Cosy bar, also with a beautifull view. They have a sunny and shady terrace with nice trees and again: the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here in December 2011 en-route to the Alps. Our arrival was delayed due to a puncture and a delayed ferry, but Mme.Speck kept some dinner for us and the restaurant open so we could eat late. A lovely hotel and the service was 5 star. We've never been so happy to get a good meal and a comfortable bed after our journey. We hope to return again and definitely recommend L'Horizon - sorry it has taken us so long to write a review!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrellickBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Fantastic experience, we arrived late after a long drive and were so warmly greeted it made for a great start. The restaurant was about to close but they happily made our meals.

As we were following Maginot line sites and history staying at a place that where that was know and of much interest it was an even better experience.

But also a great room, amazing bathroom, beautiful building an overall really lovely experience
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here on way from Denmark to Limoges and after 11 hours driving and in some quite nasty snow arrived at 2130 to a genuinely warm and friendly welcome from Madame. Even though the kitchen closed at 2100 we were offered dinner. We ordered a salad and a glass of wine and it was delicious. We didn't feel rushed or an inconvenience. It was just what we needed. The restaurant is a little cold as are the rooms. The room and bathroom as well as the restaurant could do with an update however the beds are comfy and the from we stayed in was big. The decor is rustic and French which adds to the charm. Madame spoke good English and was sympathetic tomyawful French. The town of Thionville itself didn't look too exciting by day but looked prettier night from the restaurant. I would say that this is a great base for exploring and a comfy overnight stop. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose if you want a warm welcome and a comfy bed! Room 4 is big with an authentically French rustic...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Graceful surroundings in an elegant private house. Lovely welcome on our first night travelling south from Amsterdam to the French Alps. Close to The Maginot Line and also with golf nearby, this is a gem to be enjoyed in a lesser known part of France.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thionville
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Thionville Centre
1.4 mi away
Mercure Thionville Centre
Mercure Thionville Centre
#6 of 12 in Thionville
201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Hotel Thionville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#5 of 12 in Thionville
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kyriad Design Enzo Thionville
10.8 mi away
Le Domaine de La Klauss
Le Domaine de La Klauss
#1 of 1 in Montenach
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon

Address: 50 route du Creve Coeur, 57100 Thionville, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Thionville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Thionville
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Horizon Thionville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing