We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philipe host extaordinaire”
Review of Au Primerose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Primerose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Philipe host extaordinaire”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent place to stay if you are into cycling. Bike storage & tools. Rooms are basic but very clean. Staff are very helpful, service is really good. Restaurant is decent, with extra servings of pasta for 6 hungry Aussie cyclists.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
57
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our group of 5 cyclists stayed at Au Primerose Hotel from 17-23rd July 2014, as we were taking part in the annual LeEtape du Tour. As the race ended in Hautacam the location of the town was perfect for a simple journey back to our hotel from the finish village. The room was basic in comparison to a lot of hotels, but you will struggle to find cleaner.

The level of service and hospitality from Philippe and Valerie was exceptional - one of the friendliest experiences I have had in any hotel in the world. They were very helpful and accommodating, particularly when breakfast service had ended, as us Brits had to train hard into the evening :) so a few were quite late for breakfast.

The facilities for bike storage and maintenance were also better than any hotel we could have found anywhere, which was an added bonus for us and why this hotel is a brilliant place for cyclists to base themselves. There are so many great rides in the area with fantastic, dramatic scenery rideable from the doorstep also and Philippe was very helpful in guiding us on the best routes. We cycled to Col du Aubisque via Col du Soulor and we all agreed it was the best ride we'd ever done anywhere.

So thank you Philippe for all your help and hospitality during our stay and we hope to see you again one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jobsworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Philippe and Valerie were perfect hosts and would highly recommend to other cyclists.

Great facilities, service and location. Great secure cycle store, hearty breakfast and amazing routes to explore from the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank macker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Easy access to iconic mountain climbs plus hotel facilities designed by cyclists for cyclists - perfect.
Having stumbled across this hotel during our recent tour we decided to stay a second night to enjoy the hospitality and very warm welcome extended by the lovely hosts.
Bikes - large secure indoor storage, cleaning & maintenance facilities inc track pumps and (sounds trivial) piles of cloth squares for cleaning equipment etc - equally invaluable for grubby long distance tourists and shiney day tripping MAMILs.
Bodies - clean comfortable rooms, washing and drying facilities for clothes, excellent food, wall mounted safe.
My friends and I really enjoyed our short stay here, it is a great resting place for passing tourers but would be a fantastic base for a week of col bagging.
Thanks Phillipe & Valerie - you were lovely hosts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C9J9H9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

France has a lot of wonderful places to ride bikes. Unfortunately, there are very few hotels that cater to cyclists. Au Primerose is one of those rare gems that welcomes cyclists with open arms and caters to their needs. The team at Au Primerose are knowledgable and helpful to the point of bending over backwards for their guests.

Quite simply Au Primerose is a 5 star hotel at 3 star prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikrowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

If you are cycling in this part of the Pyrenees this is the place to stay. Everyone could not have been more helpful. Food excellent. Good selection of sensibly priced wine. The only negative is their coffee, otherwise would have been perfect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gareth3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney!
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We loved our 7 night stay au primrose! A week later my husband is still asking if we can cancel other parts of our trip to go back - or if we can just 'drive past to say hi to phillipe?'. That's the feeling you get after a stay at Au primrose - very settled & part of the family by the end! The rooms are simple but everything you need (we were in 205 which had a great balcony to relax on). Phillipe & his wife Valerie are the kindest people we have met on our 6 week trip. Phillipe gave great cycling routes to try everyday based on the weather & was never wrong! The meals at night were very tasty home style French cooking & good value. The bike storage room was excellent - very secure & plenty of space. The location is unbeatable for cycling in the Pyrenees (as well as hiking etc). We rode all the major mountain climbs (some twice) which were easily accessible from Argles. The town itself is charming with many great bakeries, cheese shops, a supermarket, bars, post office etc. Honestly, if you are looking for somewhere to stay for cycling in the area, just stop looking & book Au Primrose! Thanks Phillipe & Valerie for having us! We will be back! Sally & Ben

Room Tip: Room 205 has a great sized balcony which is nice to sit on after a ride or when it's raining to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argeles-Gazost
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
Hotel Restaurant Les Cimes
#3 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Miramont
Hotel le Miramont
#2 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beau Site
Hotel Beau Site
#7 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Soleil Levant
Hotel Restaurant Soleil Levant
#5 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Chez Pierre d'Agos
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Arrieulat Hotel
#4 of 11 in Argeles-Gazost
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Primerose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Primerose Hotel

Property: Au Primerose Hotel
Address: 23 rue de l Yser, 65400 Argeles-Gazost, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Argeles-Gazost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Primerose Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from May until October, Au Primerose is a family run comfortable 2 star hotel restaurant belonging to the Logis de France network. We are off the main street, in front of the Casino's big park and just down the road from the town centre. We have 26 sound proofed rooms all with en suite facilities, satellite TV, telephone, safe, alarm clock and hairdryer (on request from reception). Free access to Wireless Internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Au Primerose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing